We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
USD 340
USD 133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
USD 376
USD 192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The River Inn(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
USD 137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
One Washington Circle Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
USD 125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
USD 230
USD 220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 150
USD 133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 188/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 274
USD 251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
USD 166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
USD 167
USD 152
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
State Plaza Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
USD 160
USD 123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,288)
Filter reviews
2,289 results
Traveller rating
1,337
678
175
56
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,337
678
175
56
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdupont circledog parkmemory foamnew hampshiresmall kitchenettekeurig coffee makeru streetcorner roomnice neighborhoodwine hourquiet streetsafe neighborhoodfew blocksfront desk staffembassy rowsitting areabeds were very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 2,289 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2017

good place, comfy, nice lobby and artwork was terrific.. Not a big hotel and lobby does get crowded around free wine hour and coffee service in the morning. awesome restaurant and knowledgeable bar staff

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jackie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Hi jackie s,

I am glad you enjoyed our rotating art collection, along with a cup of morning coffee or evening glass of wine. I'm pleased you had the opportunity to dine in our restaurant The Riggsby.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

hotel did not honor our reservation request and gave a downgraded room with no price adjustment. rooms are very small and 2 people cannot move around at the same time. the bathroom was incredibly small with a tiny sink.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 947lyndaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Hi 947lyndaw,

I am sorry you didn't receive your confirmed room type, and that you found your room on the smaller side. We do offer a variety of different sized and priced guest room options.

Regards,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Would recommend, except for disruptive, early-morning construction next door. Good facilities in very nice neighborhood—residential and quiet, but still pretty central location with great restaurants and sites nearby. Everything was spotlessly clean and seems recently renovated. Bathroom could use some more counter space, though. Restaurant is pretty mediocre (at least judging from breakfast).
Most importantly, there was very loud, major construction at building(s) next door, beginning around 8 or 8:30 every morning, including weekend. There is not a lot the hotel could have done about it, except be more forthcoming about this on making the reservation/checking in. Also, after I mentioned the disruptive noise, I was assured construction did not take place on weekends, but it did.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank daviddC7987HB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Hi daviddC7987HB,

I am sorry about the construction activity from the nearby, and that you were misinformed about weekend activity. I am pleased you enjoyed our central location and room cleanliness. I appreciate your feedback about your restaurant experience which will be shared with the team.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

A wonderful boutique hotel in DuPont Circle. Close to metro, shops and dining. Safe neighborhood for walking. Good service with nightly wine. We stay here to be close to our son’s apartment. Convenient to go out to dinner or order in. Staff is helpful and professional. Have stayed here twice and experienced the same high level of service both times.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Hi Anna G,

I am pleased you enjoy our convenient location, amenities and consistent service.

We hope to see you again soon,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Personal trip to view art (Phillips Collection, National Gallery and National Portrait Gallery) and visit the National Mall.
Excellent staff (reception desk, valet, bell, restaurant), good room, nice bathroom.
Great restaurant if a bit pricy! They obviously cater to expense account dining (dinner there twice and each time was excellent. Kitchen is very good at dinner. Breakfast a bit less so as eggs overcooked and cool when served).
Easy access to DuPont Circle dining and Metro. Charming neighborhood. Safe at all times.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JohnnyGWestport_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Hi JohnnyGWestport_CT,

Thanks for choosing us for your art inspired visit. I am glad you found our entire staff to be accommodating and that you enjoyed the layout of your guest room. I appreciate you dining in The Riggsby, and I am sorry about the breakfast experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews