We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,340)
Filter reviews
2,340 results
Traveller rating
1,357
688
185
61
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,357
688
185
61
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dupont circle dog park memory foam new hampshire small kitchenette keurig coffee maker u street nice neighborhood corner room wine hour quiet street safe neighborhood few blocks front desk staff embassy row adams morgan metro station
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 2,340 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2017

good place, comfy, nice lobby and artwork was terrific.. Not a big hotel and lobby does get crowded around free wine hour and coffee service in the morning. awesome restaurant and knowledgeable bar staff

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jackie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Hi jackie s,

I am glad you enjoyed our rotating art collection, along with a cup of morning coffee or evening glass of wine. I'm pleased you had the opportunity to dine in our restaurant The Riggsby.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

hotel did not honor our reservation request and gave a downgraded room with no price adjustment. rooms are very small and 2 people cannot move around at the same time. the bathroom was incredibly small with a tiny sink.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 947lyndaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Hi 947lyndaw,

I am sorry you didn't receive your confirmed room type, and that you found your room on the smaller side. We do offer a variety of different sized and priced guest room options.

Regards,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Would recommend, except for disruptive, early-morning construction next door. Good facilities in very nice neighborhood—residential and quiet, but still pretty central location with great restaurants and sites nearby. Everything was spotlessly clean and seems recently renovated. Bathroom could use some more counter space, though. Restaurant is pretty mediocre (at least judging from breakfast).
Most importantly, there was very loud, major construction at building(s) next door, beginning around 8 or 8:30 every morning, including weekend. There is not a lot the hotel could have done about it, except be more forthcoming about this on making the reservation/checking in. Also, after I mentioned the disruptive noise, I was assured construction did not take place on weekends, but it did.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank daviddC7987HB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Hi daviddC7987HB,

I am sorry about the construction activity from the nearby, and that you were misinformed about weekend activity. I am pleased you enjoyed our central location and room cleanliness. I appreciate your feedback about your restaurant experience which will be shared with the team.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

A wonderful boutique hotel in DuPont Circle. Close to metro, shops and dining. Safe neighborhood for walking. Good service with nightly wine. We stay here to be close to our son’s apartment. Convenient to go out to dinner or order in. Staff is helpful and professional. Have stayed here twice and experienced the same high level of service both times.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Hi Anna G,

I am pleased you enjoy our convenient location, amenities and consistent service.

We hope to see you again soon,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Personal trip to view art (Phillips Collection, National Gallery and National Portrait Gallery) and visit the National Mall.
Excellent staff (reception desk, valet, bell, restaurant), good room, nice bathroom.
Great restaurant if a bit pricy! They obviously cater to expense account dining (dinner there twice and each time was excellent. Kitchen is very good at dinner. Breakfast a bit less so as eggs overcooked and cool when served).
Easy access to DuPont Circle dining and Metro. Charming neighborhood. Safe at all times.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JohnnyGWestport_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas F, General Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Hi JohnnyGWestport_CT,

Thanks for choosing us for your art inspired visit. I am glad you found our entire staff to be accommodating and that you enjoyed the layout of your guest room. I appreciate you dining in The Riggsby, and I am sorry about the breakfast experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews