We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #50 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We live in the neighborhood and when we have guests come to town, we always suggest the Carlyle. Not only is it close, but super-convenient to everything in DC and the rooms are very clean and spacious. The manager David is fantastic - great to work with! We're so happy to have them in the neighborhood.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,544 - 1,548 of 2,152 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

I chose the Carlyle Suites based on the stellar reviews it received from Tripadvisor, and am so glad I did!! GREAT location, tons of cute restaurants and bars just steps away, GREAT room - kitchen such a plus for our family! - GREAT hotel staff, so friendly and helpful and upbeat - EXTREMELY clean (someone even did our dishes for us each day while we were out!) And the view from our room was so beautiful - so nice to have such big sunny windows. I would DEFINITELY stay here again, and highly recommend it to anyone. Beautiful hotel, incredible staff, fantastic location, can't beat the price - what more could you want in a vacation stay?

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clonella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We just had one of the best experiences EVER--and we
have traveled extensively after 48 years of marriage.

I can't remember a more unique or warm welcome than
David's meeting us at curbside and still calling us by name
four days and hundreds of guests later!!! Everyone on staff
was smiling, welcoming, thoughtful, helpful---100% perfect.

Our bartender was like an old friend---very busy
serving a full bar but with time for a personal conversation---
just amazingly friendly yet so professional--and the food was
terrific.

I seldom write an e-mail like this but it was truly a perfect stay
over a busy Easter Weekend---it was never hectic or rushed or
anything close to what one usually experiences on the road!

We look forward to a return visit this summer!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My family (two adults and two children ages 11 and 14) stayed at the Carlyle Suites in April 2012. We enjoyed an excellent stay. The rooms were clean and well appointed. We had a corner suite with a small kitchen, two beds, and a fold-out sofa. The mattresses, as others have noted, are very comfortable--a real upgrade over most standard hotel mattresses. The staff is beyond pleasant and helpful. There is a small parking lot behind the hotel and we were lucky enough to snag the last spot when we arrived. Bring your small car--the lot is tight! If you like the Dupont Circle area (we love it, although it might not be for some), this hotel puts you right in the neighborhood. It's a pleasant 10-minute walk to the Metro red line, and there are abundant restaurants, coffee, bakeries, and other fun shops within easy walking distance in every direction.

Room Tip: We like fresh air and were able to open the windows a crack in our room (a corner suite). Not sure a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Good place to stay in DC. Nothing is cheap in the city. This is a nice enough hotel in a good neighborhood. No complaints at all. Metro, multiple restaurants, and a Safeway within a 3 block radius.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordonsvilleGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,252 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#61 of 142 in Washington DC
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton George Hotel
#22 of 142 in Washington DC
2,192 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#27 of 142 in Washington DC
1,704 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#47 of 142 in Washington DC
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $134 - $573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing