We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Washington Plaza Hotel
Ranked #26 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent for the price.”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I visit the DC area often but have never stayed at this property. I booked it this time around because the rate was good and the location seemed more accessible than where I usually stay.
The staff was pleasant, rooms clean and comfortable (and quiet), and the location did prove to be very good (several interesting neighborhoods nearby).
There is also garage parking which, in DC, is almost a must if you have a car. I would definitely go back if the price stays reasonable (averaged $145 for a 4-night stay including a Friday).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeldamay10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for staying with us! We're glad that you found our hotel convenient for your needs, and that your accommodations were satisfactory. It was a pleasure to serve you and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Washington, DC.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,274
    909
    261
    75
    71
See reviews for
534
800
218
604
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Our party of 5 stayed at the Washington Plaza for a weekend getaway. The service was excellent. All staff was very helpful. The bellmen were excellent in assisting guests as well as providing recommendations. We were provided with a map of the city. The hotel was very modern, the flooring was extremely hip, wall decor is also hip. The room was decorated in a very modern orange & brown (which I loved!). Very classy and comfortable. We did not dine at the restaurant. The pricing was a bit high. The ambiance of the restaurant was a bit stuffy. The A/C functioned very well. There was a safe, small refrigerator, desk lamp with outlets, ironing board and iron, coffee pot with coffee and soaps in our room. Well equipped for a family weekend! We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor. Very quiet. If you like a view, request it at time of booking. They als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay with us. We are glad to hear that our hotel met your expectations and we hope you will become one of our regular guests. We often hear enthusiastic feedback about our friendly associates. I'm happy to hear your experience was excellent with the service they provided. Please visit us again this summer to enjoy DC’s most beautifully landscaped swimming pool!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

With this hotel, it's all about the Iittle details. First, it's fantastic to be able to park our car safely in their underground parking garage ($25 a night for self-parking). The desk staff was welcoming and efficient, and the room, while smallish, was comfortable and stylishly updated. The nice touches were a mini fridge, electrical outlets on both sides of the comfy bed for gadget charging, and complimentary bottles of water every day. There is also complimentary turndown service, which while unnecessary in my mind, is a nice touch too.
We got a room package that included breakfast for two every morning, and we were impressed with the buffet that comes with that- scrambled eggs. Sausage, bacon, pancakes or French toast, the usual breads/bagels/cereal/yogurt selections, and tasty fresh fruit. We really loved the hash browns! Delicious! There was also an omelette station that we never took advantage of, since we weren't sure if that was part of the package deal. They also really encouraged us to go up more than once to the buffet- they weren't stingy!
There are plenty of restaurants and grab-and-go food places nearby, plus a CVS across the street which was very convienient.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Thomas Circle have balconies and a great view- just be prepared for some traffic noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wickedlibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear your recent stay at the Washington Plaza Hotel was so enjoyable and you found our hotel rooms and amenities to your liking. We want all of our guests to feel comfortable at our hotel, and we are glad to know our associates enhanced your visit. We hope you have the chance to stay with us again in the near future!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My room was spacious, but a little cluttered and it was on the 2nd floor and quite noisy from street noise. My room had a door the opened to the pool, but this door leaked like a sieve and let in all the street noise and chilly air.

Room service gave out complimenty items each evening. Bottle water, toothpaste, etc. Which was a pleasant surprise.

Parking was about $25 for self parking and more for valet parking.

All in all this was a nice hotel in a nice location in DC within easy walking distance to downtown and within a block or two to the nearest Metro station.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Powinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for selecting the Washington Plaza as your hotel of choice during your recent visit to Washington, DC. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our central location, amenities and friendly associates. I apologize for the inconvenience regarding the noise. Please contact me directly at generalmanager@washingtonplazahotel.com to discuss the issues regarding the balcony door in your guest room so we can follow up on it with our Engineering Department. Thank you for your patronage and we are looking forward to see you again!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We only stayed one night but were delighted with the accommodations. We stayed in a 6th floor room and were not bothered by any street noise. I loved how the bathroom is separate and affords you some privacy but I wish the shower head had been a little more modern.

We had a room overlooking Thomas Circle, just as we asked and we enjoyed the view. The window slides open a crack and allowed for some nice pictures without having to shoot through a window. We didn’t eat there but appreciated the in room fridge and the complimentary bottle of water for each of us.

I found the décor of the rooms and the hotel itself to be very pleasing. The staff was helpful and friendly. I hope I get the chance to stay here again.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view of Thomas Circle and were granted one but I peered in the empty room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that our hotel and associates made such a favorable impression on you. We aim to create a comfortable environment for all our guests. I'm so glad you enjoyed your room and the amenities in it such as the fridge and the complimentary bottle of water. I'm also glad to hear that although your room was overlooking Thomas Circle, you heard no street noise. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,650 reviews
Cambria hotel & suites Washingto...
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
658 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Washington Circle Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,811 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
301 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Plaza Hotel

Property: Washington Plaza Hotel
Address: 10 Thomas Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-4106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price range (per night): $147 - $522
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Washington Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Plaza Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Plaza Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing