We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“handy location but the hotel needs work” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Ranked #56 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“handy location but the hotel needs work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in May 2012. Staff were friendly and helpful and we found the hotel was in a great location, easy walking distance to many attractions. There is also restaurants very close by within walking distance which was good.

The room was comfortable however the hotel is old and therefore has that musty smell about it, and could do with a makeover. Our room faced out back and with the window open the noise from the airconditioner compressor was distracting, even 5 floors above it. Window closed and it was fine. Laundry facilities were great after being on the road for a week, although situated on one floor only. Probably ok to stay here for a short time but i wouldnt want to stay there any more than 3 nights. Roof top pool was closed and i couldnt access the roof just to look at the views which was disappointing

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitch h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Dear mitch h,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good and the really good comments, I truly value the bad comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer to improve your stay. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    532
    208
    46
    28
See reviews for
427
235
66
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night in May 2012, just now. I thought it would be a cheap budget hotel, that would "do the trick". Actually no, it was much more than that.
The receptionist was really helpful, the smell of all corridors was super fresh (carpet cleaning!!) and the room was dry, very large, very clean and really pleasant. In fact it weas more of a suite than a room. It had a large desk for work, which was great for the work I had to do, huge TV, and an incredibly massive bed, where I spent a really quiet night, and had a good night's sleep.
Overall: a great hotel for the rate, and I shal return.
In general I was impressed my Washington, it is a very pleasant city indeed.
Much calmer and less vulgar than NY in any case.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

It might not be the perfect location for us since we focused on the meeting at the Convention center. The distances in D.C. are further than they look on the map. The hotel was just average. Definitely not bad but not the best one either. The rooms were spacious but the bathrooms were small. The aisles and the carpets looked oldish but OK at the end it is not our home. The breakfast (buffet) was 14, 90 + tax = almost 19 USD which is quite expensive concerning the food offered. The good part was free coffee at the lobby and quiet residential area where the hotel located. We paid 1710 USD for 8 nights for this location and amenities I guess it was a bit high. The fitness center is small but clean. In general the hotel was clean. The last night the fire alarm rang with no reason and the staff could not turn the alarm off for almost half an hour. Thank God that it was not a real fire.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hakanakdag58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear hakanakdag58,

I appreciate you honest feedback. I'm delighted to hear that our location suited you well. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the unusual situation regarding the fire alarm. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.


Sincerely,


Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hightstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We booked this hotel for a last minute Easter/Passover weekend trip to the DC area. We found a good deal on Expedia and were happy with the location not far from DuPont Circle, Adams Morgan, and Columbia Heights (our usual DC hangouts). We arrived right at check in time and a very friendly woman checked us in and told us where to park.
Well boy am I glad that I drive a small hatchback. The garage had very narrow spaces, many of the with large concrete poles on either side. At some points there was only one lane in which to drive, so it was a little treacherous. If you do drive and stay at this property, leave your minivan, SUV, or granpa's old Buick at home.
Anyway, we got up to our very clean room. It was a typical hotel room with a full bathroom on the right, a rack for hanging clothes on the left, a dresser/entertainment center with HDtv and a refrigerator, a king size bed, and a desk with rolling chair. As with most Holiday Inns, there was a wall unit air conditioner. The room was a decent size for a city hotel. The bathroom was also a decent size however there was no built-in storage for toiletries. The maid also failed to provide shampoo for the first couple of days. While the maids did a good job of cleaning, perhaps their lack of attention to detail was due to the fact that they were often talking on their cell phones while working.
Overall, our stay was rather uneventful. Everything was in good repair in the room. The sleep quality varied by night depending on how much the air conditioning went on and how much city not their was that night. Check out was a breeze and a friendly experience. We did leave an item behind and when I called the hotel, they made arrangements to ship it back to me promptly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear DSXM,

Thank you so much for your review regarding your stay at our hotel. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative about your comments, especially the item you left was promptly returned. I am also pleased that you commended our front desk. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and are happy doing so.

I apologize that the parking lot fell below your expectations. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Washington DC.

Sincerely,


Janice A.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneaoplis, MN
Level Contributor
129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Just spent 5 days in DC with hubby and kiddos (9 and 6) for spring break and to see the sights. I travel a ton for work and stay in all manner of hotels, so I have a pretty high bar, that said, if a hotel is clean, comfortable and well managed, that's pretty much all I need. I doesn't need to be fancy. So, I had high hopes for this hotel, the reviews here seemed to bode well, but it's just a little off. The good: great location, 3 block walk to subway (McPherson sq. on the blue or orange line), 5 blocks to Dupont Circle, 6 blocks to White House north lawn. Great neighborhood, very safe and comfortable walking around, tons of delicious local restaurants and 1 block to a huge Whole Foods and Starbuck's, which helped to defray the ridiculously high costs of eating on the mall (we packed a lunch almost every day). They upgraded us to a suite when we checked in. There was a fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room, they all worked well. The bathrooms seemed new and were pretty nice. There is a bar on site that had some nice wines and wasn't too expensive. Cons: Our room was very musty and I think my daughter and I were both allergic to it. They upgraded us to a suite.. nice of them, but with 4 people (even though 2 of them are smallish) we needed 2 beds, and this room had 1 King. It did have a pull out couch, but really, when you've booked 2 queens, sleeping on a pull out couch doesn't really cut it. The whole place seemed a little run down and beat up and the attention to detail was just a little off. For instance, wiping down all the surfaces in the room. There were a lot of smudgy, grubby spots on the coffee table and bedside tables, around the fridge, etc. I ended up walking around the room with a wet washcloth and scrubbing most of the surfaces. The room heater in the wall was VERY loud and had left a pall of dusty grub on the ceiling where it blew out it's air. There was a balcony on our room, but the door and windows really didn't close very well, so I didn't feel all that secure leaving our things in the room and it got quite cold at night from the draftiness. The bed, for some odd reason, was a total pretzel maker. The pull out couch turned out to be more comfortable! Closet was just an indent in the wall with a bar on it, leaving you with a feeling of having all your clothes hanging in the middle of the room. When we were leaving, the bellman pointed my husband in the direction of the ramp to wheel the cart full of luggage out to our car instead of HELPING him (he was just standing there.) All in all.....if I was going to DC again and wanted to use points, I might stay here again, but I would sure look around at my other options. This would not be my first choice. However, it is really conveniently located and I've stayed in far worse hotels. Middle of the road to slightly shabby would be my rating.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank davismama2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear davismama2003,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for leaving a comprehensive review. It's good to know that our location made you feel safe and it suited your needs. I do apologize for any inconvenience the housekeeping services may have caused you. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to the Washington, DC area.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#78 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,295 reviews
Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row
#24 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Conven...
#62 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House

Property: Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Address: 1501 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-5504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#78 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#79 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price range (per night): $144 - $402
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House is conveniently located on the corner of 15th St and Rhode Island Ave, 6 blocks from the White House. The hotel is within walking distance of 2 Metro stations, within 1 mile of Amtrak, and 4 miles from Reagan National Airport and the Pentagon. The Holiday Inn Washington offers free high speed Internet and fitness center.The Holiday Inn is minutes from Washington DC area attractions, including the Smithsonian museums, Library of Congress, National Zoo, MCI Center, Washington Monument, US Capitol, Washington DC Convention Center, and Washington National Cathedral.As a proud recipient of the Quality Excellence Award for guest satisfaction and impeccable service, the Holiday Inn Central combines the elegance of mahogany with the sophistication of rich Italian marble. Dine at Avenue Cafe(C), our full-service restaurant that specializes in American cuisine and where Kids Eat Free! Enjoy a specialty drink in the lounge, or go to our rooftop to swim in the outdoor pool or delight in a panoramic view of the city.We offer flexible meeting space ideal for business and social events. The Holiday Inn in Washington, DC has a gift shop, game room, underground parking, and self-laundry facilities. We invite you enjoy our stylish comfort, convenience and excellent hotel service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington - Central / White House Hotel Washington Dc
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing