We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hyatt Washington
Nearby Hotels
The Wink(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
USD 194*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)
USD 213*
USD 201*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Phoenix Park Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
USD 231*
USD 185*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sofitel Washington DC(Washington DC)
USD 320*
USD 297*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
State Plaza Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
USD 192*
USD 183*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 164*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 190*
USD 174*
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 221*
USD 200*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)
USD 280*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)
USD 206*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (5,243)
Filter reviews
5,243 results
Traveller rating
2,221
1,764
741
321
196
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,221
1,764
741
321
196
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationwhite housedirect accessmetro center stationclub levelwithin walking distancehealth clubford's theaterhotel lobbybreakfast buffetbeautiful hotelnational mallbeautiful lobbyfitness centerlarge hotelfew blockssmithsonian museums
Filter
Updating list...
4,217 - 4,222 of 5,243 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The Grand Hyatt is located near the Washington Convention Center and Chinatown. A cheap way to get here is to take the DC Metro to Metro Center and follow the exits towards 11th Street/Arena. This is a nice hotel, with an amazing atrium. The staff is generally friendly and there are a lot of eateries inside and close by.

Pros:
--It has easy access to the Metro (you don’t have to go outside).
--They offer Portico Spa bath products (White-Ginger scent) in bathroom.

Cons:
--Its proximity to the Convention Center along with three underground levels of conference rooms means that it will often be very busy.
--You have to pay for using the gym/pool.
--Internet runs $10.99 for Standard- and $15.99 for Premium-Service.

Rating:
Even though it costs to use the gym/pool, I would have given the Hyatt a higher rating had it not been for my reservation being changed twice in a row (in February and March 2012): I had requested a king bed and was given double beds. Make sure to printout your reservation details and bring them with you for check-in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing outside (versus the indoor atrium) if you prefer some privacy. Otherwise, guests in other rooms will be able to see into your room if you have your curtains open.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cisco96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel last summer.. Loved it! The restaurants were fantastic. The room was very large, clean, and attractive. Location was great. The indoor pool was tiny and the most unpleasant thing about the hotel, but the kids enjoyed it anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DizzylizzyCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. We're delighted you and your family had a great trip and enjoyed our beautiful guest rooms. Our hotel is in the perfect location to many attractions and we're glad you were able to take advantage of it. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This hotel is connected to the Metro Center metro stop which was incredibly convenient. The open lobby is beautiful and all employees were friendly. There were several restaurants and a Starbucks in the hotel. The hotel was quiet, room was comfortable and we loved the large flat screen tv!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room that faces the courtyard for a great view of the lobby.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonLove330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

It sounds like you really enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased that the location was very convenient for you. Having direct access to the metro makes it very easy for our guests explore DC. I will let our staff know that you found them to be very friendly. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We look forward to having you back in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Great location for sight-seeing. Easy walk to the monuments and museums, and right at a metro stop for easy access to the rest of the city (or those less inclined to walk). My room was very average. The bed was not all that comfortable (not bad, just not very soft sheets or pillow cases and a slightly firm mattress for my liking), and the room was clean enough (but not as nice as many other hotels in this price range). The service was friendly, and Starbucks in the lobby was convenient. I like some other neighbourhoods better for restaurants (like Dupont Circle or Georgetown), but most people will probably find something they like within walking distance. Overall, this is the type of place that I'd return to without any problem if the price was right, but I'll also shop around because I've had better in D.C. for the price ($200-300). Be sure to check out the monuments at night--the best time to see them for sure!

Room Tip: I like the rooms facing the street rather than the indoor atrium. It's nice to open a window for fresh air.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeyTinthePeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This hotel is on a excellent location in DC.
Very good service and very professional staff.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Llency R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We're delighted our staff made you feel right at home during your stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews