We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Cyndy C

Phenomenal service

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 July 2021
We very much enjoyed our 5 day stay at the Watergate! We initially booked here because it was dog-friendly and was close to many of the sites to see in DC at a reasonable price.

We were greeted at the door upon arrival by Teddy- who truly delivered double platinum service for our entire stay. He was a wonderful ambassador for the Watergate and he made us feel so cared for. Our dog was also very welcomed and we felt safe to leave him in the room while we went sightseeing to places that did not allow dogs.

We also very much enjoyed our massages at the Spa. Lisa, my massage therapist was wonderful - in fact one of the best I have had! Perfect pressure to get my muscles to relax without leaving me with bruises and feeling sore the next day. Soooo relaxing

Many sites were short Uber rides away and for some may be walkable in 30 minutes. With all the walking and standing we did all day at the sites- we decided to take an Uber to and from the hotel.

Highly recommend the Watergate!
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$271
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$271
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$237
  • Vio.com
    AU$241
0.6 km from The Watergate Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$347
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$347
  • Expedia.com
    AU$356
  • Hotels.com
    AU$416
2.1 km from The Watergate Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Guest Room
AU$254
  • Official Website
    AU$303
  • Expedia.com
    AU$303
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$295
1.3 km from The Watergate Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$297
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$296
  • Priceline
    AU$297
  • Trip.com
    AU$294
3.6 km from The Watergate Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$479
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • travelup.com
1.9 km from The Watergate Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$209
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$227
  • Agoda.com
    AU$187
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$208
2.2 km from The Watergate Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$196
  • Priceline
    AU$196
  • Vio.com
    AU$193
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$208
3.0 km from The Watergate Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Superior Suite at Generator Washington DC Hotel
AU$264
  • Priceline
    AU$264
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$262
  • Official Site
    AU$127
2.0 km from The Watergate Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
AU$306
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$306
  • StayForLong
    AU$280
  • Hyatt.com
    AU$304
3.9 km from The Watergate Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$204
  • Expedia.com
    AU$193
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$179
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$193
7.5 km from The Watergate Hotel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
View more hotels in Washington DC
Reviews (1,686)
Filter reviews
1,686 results
Traveller rating
1,192
258
120
64
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,192
258
120
64
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whiskey bar scandal room rooftop bar kennedy center potomac river front desk georgetown waterfront steam room room service indoor pool foggy bottom lincoln memorial national mall white house balcony anwar dixon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
494 - 499 of 1,686 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2021

We had such a great time at the Watergate Hotel! EVERY time we left or entered the front doors, we were greeted by hosts that opened the doors and said Hello! Many times we were offered cold water for those really warm days! It was very nice! The Whiskey Bar was so cool with a great 70's vibe and good drinks and food. The Top of the Gate restaurant at the top of the hotel, had amazing awesome views and was delightful. The housekeeping was terrific and did a wonderful job. I think this hotel is 10 stars and we will be back! Thank you Pascal (Manager) as you were very cordial and kind to us as well. Thank you for seeking us out and making sure our stay was everything we had hoped and then some! Great job at the Watergate Hotel with customer service, staffing and hospitality.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TTTKKK12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 July 2021 via mobile

We planned a trip to DC for the 4th of July and wanted the nicest hotel possible within walking distance of the national mall. We were very disappointed with the Watergate. When we checked in on a Saturday evening, we were not allowed to go to rooftop restaurant as planned because it was raining. Instead, the front desk told us to walk in the dark and rain to a restaurant (with a nine year old). Also, the rooftop is closed Mon-Wed, which we did not know. We had friends with us who live in DC and the hotel literally had nothing open to get food or drinks. We called room service several times and got an answering machine. One of our friends finally walked to a convenience store to get drinks. I finally reached room service and ordered two bottles of wine, just in case. Not bad, I thought, at $35 a bottle. They were individual sized bottles…. Then room service closed for dinner at like 9 pm. Our balcony is littered with cigarette butts and if you open the door, smoke from adjacent balconies wafts in. But to top it all off, the suite next to us threw a college party all Monday night with screaming and slamming doors and pounding music coming through the walls all night. We finally called the front desk at 4 am-though the room phones don’t work, so my husband had to go down to the front desk. They offered to move us rooms about 5 am. We all feel like we have been hit by a truck. We travel pretty regularly and stay at nice places-and this was not good. At $500 a night. Opt for the Willard or the Hay-Adams. This was seriously underwhelming and uncomfortable.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank meg-mag17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 June 2021 via mobile

I was really looking forward to my stay at the Watergate, given the historical nature of the property. While it is billed as a luxury property, in reality, it really needs some attention.

The guest room, on 99 degree days, had a barely-functioning air conditioning unit that couldn’t put out cool air. The towels were mostly worn and in some cases threadbare. The furnishings and fixtures are showing wear.

The shower had the excellent water pressure, and was large and well-appointed. (Who doesn’t love a good hotel bathroom?!)

The rooftop bar, Top of the Gate, presents itself as exclusive, with cocktail prices to match; their drinks are $25+ and are the weakest pours I’ve ever had. The view is nice on clear evenings, but we were seated at 9:30 and told it was last call. Okkkkk, thanks for making us feel welcome when your hours are listed as open until midnight!

The location is very close to Embassy Row and Georgetown is a quick 15 minute walk away. Other than those redeeming factors, there isn’t much to justify the price per night, plus a resort fee, for amenities that aren’t even open.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank BW2495
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Watergate Hotel, General Manager at The Watergate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2021

Dear BW,

We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet our usual standards.

Thank you for the compliments on our "well-appointed" marble guest bathrooms with rain shower heads. It was one of our many upgrades during the complete 2016 hotel renovation.

We are glad that you were able to experience the view from Top of the Gate on a clear, warm evening and stroll to nearby Georgetown.

Your comments have been distributed to our team and the guest room items are being addressed. We do hope that you consider staying with us again on a future trip to Washington DC.

Best Regards,

Pascal Forotti
Managing Director
The Watergate Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2021 via mobile

Staying at the hotel for 10 days. Second day I called front desk to ask for extra towels and coffee. Got no answer. Called housekeeping, same thing. Every department I called had no answer.

Then I went to the front desk and filed an official complaint for the lack of service for $350 a night and asked for them to bring up towels and coffee while we were at a friend's place. When we got back...no towels and. O coffee.

Then I called front desk and complained again, asking for towels and coffee. The representative really did not seem to care about the issue. His tone was similar to one of an employee who really does not care about the organization.

So after a whole day of perpetually asking for towels and coffee, I was not given any towels or coffee.

10 days, $350 a night. $3500.....and I can't get a FREAKING TOWEL.

As an ex General manager of hotels, I am extremely disappointed and appalled at the level of service.

I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN AND AM SEARCHING FOR A NEW HOTEL TO SWITCH TO.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank 95aleksandard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 June 2021

Really wanted to love this hotel, but just can not recommend anyone go there. Do want to commend the valet, front door, room service and Fenny at the front desk on May 31 early morning. First of all, the lobby is small dark and cramped, so don't expect to feel welcome. The rooms are large, but ours did not have hot water for 2 of the 3 mornings and the bed was hard as a rock. The roof top bar was closed to due the weather, so we tried the Lobby bar - the prices are obscene.

We received a welcome letter and upgrade to a balcony room thanks to Amex but the room had no view, except of the old Watergate West building which looks about to crumble. The letter and the front desk failed to inform us there was no housekeeping. We were surprised when we returned from a day at Arlington Cemetery that no one had cleaned the room, removed towels, etc. We had just come from Brooklyn NY and Jacksonville, those hotels had housekeeping Blaming Covid is no excuse for lack of service while you are still charging full price.

We called the front desk for towels, they said housekeeping would come in the morning. They did not.
So we called again for towels and to report there was no hot water. The towels arrived, the hot water did not.

You need a car to stay here, there is nothing safe within walking distance as there is now a homeless camp between the hotel and Georgetown.

There are many many other options in DC - choose anyone - just not here.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Watergate Hotel, General Manager at The Watergate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2021

Dear Jean,

Thank you for your positive feedback for our valet, bellman, front desk and room service staff. Our team has been working hard to make guests feel comfortable and welcome as Washington DC fully reopens, once again. We are sorry that our past policy to offer limited, reduced contact, housekeeping was not communicated properly during your stay a few weeks ago.

Our Top of the Gate rooftop is weather dependent, as it is a full open air venue and we apologize that it was not open during your stay with us.

We take our service level very seriously and our staff has been informed of the issues that you encountered during your stay.

Best Regards,

Pascal Forotti
Managing Director
The Watergate Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews