We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Tapas; Attentive Service”
Review of Tico

Tico
Reserve with OpenTable
Tico is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #154 of 3,723 Restaurants in Washington DC
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 24 February 2018

Had a great night out with friends. William was great--personable and offered great recommendations. Nice looking restaurant with open kitchen. Can be very noisy and found ourselves having to semi-shout at each other. We were there for over four hours and never felt pressured. The margaritas ($11) are fine. Stand out plates included the pork belly sliders--can't say enough about these little things...wow! Also worthy are the cauliflower ($11) and corn pudding ($11). 5pc Hamachi ($17.50) were good--served on small crispy rounds. Spanish octopus ($15) was tasty and perfectly cooked. I love shishito peppers ($11) and they were good though wasn't a huge fan of the sauce. Black olive guacamole ($13) was fine, though small portion for the price. Tres leches cake ($10) was just okay--small portion and not a true tres leches as it had a creamy topping vice the more traditional caramelized condensed milk topping. Overall, was a fun-filled evening and the food was great to graze on.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hynesdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2018

Beautiful restaurant with an extensive and excellent menu and a very friendly and attentive staff. Four of us went for dinner and had a great time. We also were not rushed. The dining room is quite large, yet quiet enough to hear the people at your table (and not the people at adjoining tables). There is a very wide array of tapas, tacos, appetizers, and main dishes. The waiter was extremely helpful in explaining which dishes did and did not have peppers (my wife is allergic to peppers), and offered to have several that are normally made with peppers, made without them. Standout dishes included all the tacos (chicken, pork, fish), pork belly sliders, lobster gnocchi, and grilled cauliflower. If you can't find something you love on this menu, you are not trying. One of the best meals we have had in ages.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

Stopped on a Sunday afternoon around 1 and ordered from the brunch menu. My grilled cheese with ham and eggs was great; two sunny side up eggs on top of an upscale grilled cheese sandwich. My mom enjoyed the french toast, although we thought the grilled cheese was probably the better of the two. Nice atmosphere, busy but we got in quickly. I'd go again.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank HfromMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

My husband and I live in the neighborhood and we’ve been to Tico several times before. It had been a while, so we went back last night. Man, this place is SOOO good. Everything we ate was really tasty. In the past, we always seemed to get the roasted cauliflower dish (unbelievably good) and the shishito peppers, but we decided to get different items this time. We had the tuna ceviche, shrimp croquettes, tacos with brisket (I forget the name), and Brussels sprouts. Everything was delicious. The Brussels in particular were fantastic. Our waitress, Madya, was friendly and attentive, and helped guide our food selection. This is definitely one of the best restaurants in the busy 14th Street area. Definitely worth a visit!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank bluesea182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

The menu and pictures caught my eye. The restaurant did not disappoint. Very innovative menu without over doing it or making One feel uncomfortable. Guacamole with shaved black olive dust was very good. Tico puts a unique spin on just about everything- ceviche, burgers, mac & cheese etc. The U street corridor of DC is also very cool.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Newspeedwayboogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tico also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Tico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing