We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location.”
other travellers have booked this property
Close metro ride to the National Mall @ Nation's Capitol
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Close metro ride to the National Mall @ Nation's Capitol
Front of House Side front
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
Close metro ride to the National Mall @ Nation's Capitol
Front of House
Side front
Master Bedroom - King Bed
Master Bedroom - King Bed - Red Accent
Master Bedroom - King Bed - Bathroom Door
Living Room
Living Room TV
Living Room Bar
Dining Room Kitchen
Dining Room
Kitchen to front door
Kitchen to back door
Keruig Coffee Maker
Hall Bath
Large Hall Bath
2nd King Bedroom
King Bedroom Side view
Small Bedroom - Full sized bed
Patio Off Master Bedroom
Master Bath
Porch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Washington DC, District of Columbia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JaneOManc...
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great location.”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

What I find most surprising about this property is that there are only two reviews before mine. There is a visitors' book filled with very positive comments from the many guests who have stayed there previously . This is really gratifying for the owner but doesn't help people when trying to decide whether or not to book this property and have only the information on the web to help them.

We stayed in October 2015 and were extremely fortunate with the weather; in fact it was really hot with beautiful blue skies. Colin our host had thoughtfully left a whole stack of bottled water for us; very welcome indeed.

We had spent several days in NY prior to arriving in Washington and arrived into the main railway station. The house is a fairly short cab ride away and is situated on a pleasant tree-lined avenue. Inside there is absolutely everything you need; a well-equipped kitchen to enable you to stay in and make meals should you so wish (augmented by a BBQ outside on the porch), washing/drying facilities and fast free wifi.

The house was scrupulously clean, the beds very comfortable and there was a plentiful supply of high quality towels in a cupboard on the landing upstairs. Bathrooms were very well appointed with good flow rate to the showers. (We have stayed in some hotels where you are lucky if you get a trickle of water from the showers!).

On our first day we walked into Washington and along the monuments walk. It is walkable - depending on your level of mobility. After that we used the metro as it saved time. The nearest metro is at Shaw-Howard U on the green or yellow lines and NOT Rhode Island Avenue on the red line. The system is very easy to use. You buy an initial card/ticket which comes loaded with around $8 of travel. When you exit the system take a note from the readout how much is left on the card as you may need to top up via the machines for that purpose (like the Oyster card in London).

If you turn left when leaving the house there are loads of restaurants to choose from on U Street a short walk away; a real multi-cultural, multi-ethnic eating experience is available. You can have a taste of virtually any type of cuisine from anywhere on the planet. For those coming next year or later there will be even more to choose from as this area is very much "up and coming" and more chefs and restaurants are choosing to site themselves here. One of the venues - Ben's Chili Bowl - is famous not only because it has been there since 1958 but has hosted the current President.

The whole area is vibrant, exciting and safe. I had no qualms about exploring it on my own when we elected to split up. I would not hesitate to recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and amenities within easy walking distance
Liked least: There was nothing we disliked.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2017
Thanks for the review and make sure you bring comfortable shoes for all the walking you'll be doing.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Alis...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So central..so comfortable”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The property was easy to find and very comfortable. You can actually walk into central Washington, a bit of a challenge, but possible! Lots of useful advice left to help with local transport and places to eat. Well equipped kitchen, so really easy to eat in, or go out. Rooms very comfortable and well appointed. Plenty of clean towels and a very efficient home laundry system. The only drawback being the lack of a third proper bathroom, only a toilet and washbasin. We really enjoyed our stay. Thank you.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Please be prepared to do lots of walking in DC. The metro which is used by most of the residents is a short 5 minute walk. You can walk to the DC Convention Center in about 15 minutes but be advised that the summers here are brutal so I recommend using UBER or taking a regular taxi.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarika J
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I wanted to stay for another week!!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The home was very clean, comfortable and had great amenities like WiFi, washer/ dryer combo, full kitchen, dishwasher, cable tv, and clean linens, just as advertised. Very comfortable accommodations, Great for families with children. Nice neighborhood, very close to metro and local bus stops which bring you close to all the national museums and monuments. The owner was very hospitable and accommodating. I was so comfortable there, I wanted to stay for another week!! I would definitely stay there again on my next trip back to D.C..

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Spacious, modern, and clean
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2014
Thanks for staying with us....your family have been a delight!!!! Please remember to let your friends, family and colleagues know if they're traveling to Washington DC inquire about having them all stay together verse separate hotel rooms.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing