We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very well run B&B in great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of American Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
American Guest House
Ranked #7 of 37 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Very well run B&B in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I was in DC for a full week for business and vacation. American Guest House served my needs very well. Very attentive and friendly staff, outstanding breakfast, and unbeatable location for convenience and in a good neighborhood.

Room Tip: Basement room has floor noise from kitchen above -- you'll be up by 7 if you're a light slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    134
    23
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
172
119
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

A wonderful place to stay in DC. Staff are all very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was outstanding! The room was very clean. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanGuestHouse, Owner at American Guest House, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Kara S,

I just wanted to thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule and write a review about your stay with us at the American Guest House and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We are eager to please our guests and our goal is to improve a bit more each day. We hope to see you again next time you visit Washington DC. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Loved our stay here! Such friendly staff, yummy food, clean, comfortable, beautiful accommodations...Excellent!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginever1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stayed for 4 nights on business, easy access to Dupont Circle subway, great restaurants nearby, walking distance to Georgetown, fabulous breakfast, Jonathan is a wonderful cook, host and guide. Bed and pillows were perfectly comfortable. Rooms are well appointed and clean. I will stay here every time I am in DC. Jonathan and Joseph are both also AMAZING bakers.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripperCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Pines, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

This was a great find and the best stay (unplanned) I've had in DC. I would recommend this without hesitation. The innkeeper was Joseph that evening and he was excellent in giving me the information to enter the house with a late arrival. A wonderful breakfast was an added surprise.

Room Tip: I was just happy to find this place with a last minute plan change!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank opalintherough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Normandy Hotel
#24 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#63 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,032 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Guest House

Property: American Guest House
Address: 2005 Columbia Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan , Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price range (per night): $274 - $767
Hotel Class:3.5 star — American Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American Guest House is a well appointed 12 bedroom with en suite bathrooms Washington DC Bed and Breakfast located in a historic 1893 Venetian Gothic building near the Washington Hilton Hotel. Within a 10 minutes walk to Dupont Circle Metro, and within a 10 to 15 minute walk to Wardman Park and Omni Shoreham Hotels. We are located near Dupont Circle in the historic Kalorama Triangle neighborhood. This DC Bed and breakfast is located near the White House (about 25 minutes by foot), about 1 mile from the National Zoo and 2 miles from the Smithsonian Museums and Monuments. We are located in a trendy, upscale, safe and beautiful neighborhood in the heart of DC. Great area to stroll around and enjoy the beautiful old mansions. Within walking distance you'll also find several of Washington DC's best restaurants, as well as the Phillips Art Gallery, Embassy Row, specialty shops, and even Rock Creek Park with its beautiful cycling and hiking trails. Culture is plentiful in DC with its majestic theaters, shows, ethnically diverse dining options, and beuatiful monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your American Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Guest House Hotel Washington Dc
American Guest House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing