We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home for the holidays!”
other travellers have booked this property
Metro 3 blks. away in  the heart of our Arts District: 5 short stops to downtown
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Metro 3 blks. away in  the heart of our Arts District: 5 short stops to downtown
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Metro 3 blks. away in  the heart of our Arts District: 5 short stops to downtown
Big bright master bedroom at the MONROE HOUSE.
Detached fully renovated house with driveway, great outdoor space.
King bedroom can be set up as twins.
Dining Room
Bright kitchen with breakfast nook.
Breakfast nook off kitchen.
Dining room looking into kitchen.
Living room, front door
Looking into sunroom from living room.
Living room with 42' TV.
Living room with big L couch.
Upper deck seating area.
Covered front porch.
Upstairs Bathroom.
Italian tile and euro towel warmer.
Spices, oil, vinegar, paper towels, and more at the ready in Kitchen.
Powder room on main floor includes sink, towels ant toilet paper.
Office in the sun room with House Guide and neighborhood and city info.
Sunny front bedroom with big screen TV.
Upstairs hall: Oak floors through out both floors.
MONROE HOUSE is surrounded by a lush garden.
Organic Market in the neighborhood.
Large back yard.
Big lower deck with lounge chairs.
Lower yard, 4th out door seating area.
garden by the driveway
gardens off herbs and vegetables in season
Large two-bedroom detached house.
Art in Brookland
The Franciscan Monastery is 2 blks away
Free Public Gardens 2 blocks away
Cool walking archways in the garden
Garden extends over acres, built in early 1900s
Great for walking
A neighborhood with lots of history, restaurants & easy access to tourist sights.
Welcome to an historic neighborhood in the heart of the city, close to Smithsonian Mall.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Washington DC, District of Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tammy C
1 review
“Home for the holidays!”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015

The Monroe House felt like we came 'home for the holidays' during our Thanksgiving vacation to DC. This was our family's 1st time ever trip to DC and 1st ever Thanksgiving away from home and the house was so warm an cozy and inviting that we really felt like we were home. The wood floors and personal touch with the decor added to the cozy, home feeling. The backyard was inviting as well and even enough room to toss the football and chill on the back deck. We never took the Metro, used Uber and Lift instead which was the most convenient way to travel for a family of 4. We loved to come home to the Monroe House at the end of every busy day! My favorite room of the house was the kitchen because it was so warm, cozy and a great place to relax and enjoy the stereo while fixing dinner or breakfast. The Monroe House made our holiday vacation just perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Monroe house was excellent for all our needs the location was great easy to get to the Metro.
Rosie and Donald greeted us at the house and gave us an instructive tour so we understood the house and what it had to offer. The garden was a bonus and the surrounding environment.
Local restaurants were good especially Brooklands Finess which we used for dinner the atmosphere was cool.
The location for trips to Washington was good and we saw all the sites of interest.
My wife adult son and myself would have no hesitation in recommending this house to anyone who visits Washington DC.
Val Ken & Ross Miles
Perth Western Australia

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa W
Harrison, Arkansas
1 review
“Excellent place to stay! Much, much better than staying in hotel.”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our family of four stayed a week here while on vacation in D.C. We wanted a place to stay that was clean, had a kitchen, free parking, had a washer and dryer, could comfortably accommodate four people and was safe.

The Monroe House met all of our needs. It was clean, spacious with a living room, dining room, office area with computer/printer that you can use, a fully functional kitchen with utensil, dishes, etc. that you can use and a half bath downstairs. Upstairs, it provides two bedrooms, a master bedroom and a bedroom with twin beds (the twin beds could also be pushed together to make one if preferred) and a full bath. You can find the washer and dryer in the basement area. This was a little compact and we felt like we needed to scrunch down a bit as to not hit our head but it served its purpose well. The house also has a front porch facing the street with plants/flowers in the yard that kind of hides the front part of the house. It has a beautiful back yard with a deck, patio, vegetable/flower garden and sitting area. We actually picked some peppers from the garden to eat. It also has a gas grill that you can use.

The house has a driveway so we were able to park our car in the driveway instead of on the street. This was perfect since we definitely knew we did not want to drive in D.C. after our drive in. It's madness. We did drive to an organic store a couple of times that was nearby and easy to get to, which worked out great for the way we eat.

The Metro is just two or three blocks away and Rosie (owner of house) provides Metor cards that you can add funds to and use. We drove to the Metro to check it out before using it. However, we decided to use Uber instead. I just wasn't comfortable enough to walk to the Metro, even though we seen people walking all the time. We also didn't want to have to park our car there to catch the Metro. I found that Uber was comparably priced to the Metro for a family of four and possibly cheaper many times. This worked out great for us. And..sooo much better than using a taxi. You set up your account and download the app to your Smartphone and your good to go. This is a great service. The drivers go through background checks, safety training and are friendly and the vehicles are clean. When you are ready to go somewhere you arrange the pickup in your phone. You stand where they can see you and they pull up right to the front of the house. You don't have the hassle of exchanging money since it bills to whatever form of payment that you setup in your account. When we were ready to go home we just arranged for a pickup wherever we were. The application pinpoints your location so that the driver that accepted your request would know where you were. There were times that the driver did call to verify our location, but not a big deal. When arranging your pickup you can see how many drivers are in the area on the map...it shows little cars moving around. It will also tell you how many minutes away they are and keeps you updated as to how close they are getting. We use this service for everything, including going to the Arlington Cemetery and the National Cathedral. The cost was never over $20 and most of our trips were during rush hour which cost a little more but I think was still cheaper than the Metro, since it too costs more during rush hour. Uber charges a $1 for what they refer to as "Safe Rides Fee" which is to help cover background checks, driver safety education, vehicle checks, app improvements, etc. Awesome service.

We didn't get to meet Rosie, the owner, since she was on a trip as well during our stay but Rosie already provided information on our stay prior to her departure. There is also a binder full of information on the city along with detailed information on the house. In addition, Rosie has a separate website on the house that provides tons of info and pictures.

Rosie had a caretaker of the house in her absence which was wonderful. We actually arrived after midnight and were extremely tired. The keys to the door got laid down on a table while unloading the vehicle and the door got shut. We apparently had locked ourselves out and didn't know what were going to do. I tried to call the caretaker and she was asleep in bed like most people at that hour. At last resort I called the number Rosie gave us for emergencies and Rosie was very kind and helpful and actually apologized for our inconvenience that we caused. Rosie was able to get a hold of the caretaker. She was fairly close so we drove to her place and picked up a spare key. She was very friendly and kind, even after being work up at 2 in the morning. So, this shows they go above and beyond to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

I would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great place”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a week in DC this April. Renting Rosie's house was one of the smartest things we ever did. We drove from New England to DC. Parking is at a premium in DC, so the parking spot was ideal for us. The house was clean, nicely decorated, with a lovely back yard and garden. The two rooms were perfect for a family of four. My teenage sons took the bedroom with the twin beds and my husband and I took the master bedroom. We were able to take the Metro to just about everywhere; we just filled up the Passcards Rosie provided and went. There is a CVS (pharmacy) and a Yes! Organic Market about two blocks away. There is a Giant Supermarket a short drive down 13th street. We ate in, which saved us money as well. My son was thrilled with the foot massager (actually, we all took advantage of that perk!) My husband and I spent some time on the porch relaxing, which was very nice. It felt really nice to have a home to return to after touring DC. thank you so much for sharing your house with us Rosie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMPTWick
Durham, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay at the Monroe House with our children; close to Metro”
Reviewed 3 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second year we’ve stayed at the Monroe House, and again we had a great time. The Metro is super convenient, the neighborhood has many restaurants and CVS is right around the corner for necessities. The house itself is provides plenty of room for us and our children, giving us room to relax after busy days. And the yard gives the kids some room to play when they still have energy to burn. We’d hope to stay here again any time we have the occasion to return to D.C. for a few days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing