We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
USD 205
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
USD 248
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Phoenix Park Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
USD 442
USD 175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 202
USD 175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Georgetown Suites(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
USD 208
USD 151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 320
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
USD 181
USD 133
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The River Inn(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
USD 179
USD 148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 259
USD 247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hamilton Hotel Washington DC(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
USD 155
USD 144
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,128)
Filter reviews
2,128 results
Traveller rating
1,351
464
173
95
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,351
464
173
95
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjefferson memorialtidal basinempress loungemuze restaurantroom servicesteam roomclub leveltrain tracksturn down servicebeautiful hotelluxury hotelnational mallcity viewpotomac riverfour seasonssmithsonian museumslobby bar
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 2,128 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We spent several days with our 10 year old grandkids. The Mandarin was absolutely wonderful. They equally catered to our grandkids as with us. The Club Lounge provided a wonderful place for us to relax.

The staff is amazing. Very friendly and accommodating.

Mandarins never disappoint.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank stewart s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Director of Sales at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear stewart s,

Washington is a very special place for kids to experience and learn about our nation's history. I am glad you selected Mandarin Oriental to host you for a memorable family trip.

Thank you for being a fan!

Kind regards,
Dave Walsh
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Lobby has sewer smell, but thankfully not in the rooms. Booked through American Express, and received a room upgrade with view over Tidal Basin which is very nice. Unfortunately that puts you next to the train tracks which you can hear every hour, and there is a new skyscraper being build right out my window to the north. The restaurant menu and bar menu are the same. Overall a notch below other Mandarins I've stayed at.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike_89519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Director of Sales at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Mike_89519,

Thank you very much for your loyalty to our Hotel Group and for selecting us as the host for your recent visit.

I apologize that we had a issue with drainage during your arrival which made for a somewhat unpleasant experience. It is not typical of our hotel to provide that particular sensory experience. As you have identified yourself as a guest of our other hotels, we will note your reservation to provide you with a room facing east during your next stay. Washington is a big city and our area of Southwest, like many other areas of the capital, is undergoing a marked increase in development. Some guests appreciate the western side of the hotel as it provides a view of the Washington Monument and the Jefferson Memorial and others are sensitive to the construction.

We hope you well enjoy all of your future travels.

Kind regards,
Dave Walsh
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This was my first visit to a Mandarin Oriental hotel and the hotel was impressive. The best part of the hotel was each and every person on their staff from the doormen, to the waitstaff, the housekeepers, the concierge (Lynn) who was excellent to the front desk. Food at the MO was excellent and something was always available. Desserts that still make my mouth water, the coffee was excellent and the view from the Muze is beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bbsmith2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Director of Sales at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear bbsmith2016,

Thank you for recognizing our MO colleagues! We strive to delight all of our guests and, from reading the review you shared with your fellow TripAdvisor members, it would seem we were able to delight you.

We are glad you are a fan. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Kind regards,
Dave Walsh
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Super location as it is close to Smithsonian - a 5-10 minute walk. Excellent staff, great MO benefits, my 6yr was promptly greeted with adorable panda bear stuffed animal. Breakfast is easy, if a bit expensive. They just need a rooftop bar!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TLW3153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Director of Sales at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear TLW3135,

Thank you very much for staying with us at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC during your recent visit to the Nation's Capital! I am glad that you enjoyed your Fans of M.O. benefits and that your 6 year old enjoyed her panda bear.

You are right: a rooftop bar would be awesome. We will add it to our list of items for future consideration to delight our guests.

Kind regards,
Dave Walsh
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I stayed at the Mandarin Oriental for three nights. Booked a water front room, but didn't get one. Was moved upon request to one with partial view, but didn't it was adjacent to the elevator. After a sleepless night because of noise was moved back to the room. price adjusted. the room's air system was poor -- it conveyed smells and was hard to calibrate to the right temperature. There are very few restaurants close by. You either have to use the hotel's restaurant or travel by car/taxi if you want different kinds of food. It's close to the Tidal Basin and the attractions, which was a good thing.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near the elevator. It dings all night
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank newtoposting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOWashingtonDCHotel, Director of Sales at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear newtoposting,

Thank you very much for staying with us during your recent visit. I am sorry that you were not completely delighted by your stay.

I apologize for the confusion at your check-in. I understand that your room was incorrectly assigned to one of a different category during your arrival. I understand that we were able to correct the problem shortly after you arrived in your room and realized the view was not what you had confirmed.

The next time you return, I hope that you will take the time to visit the new District Wharf neighborhood. It's within easy walking distance and offers a great variety of new restaurants from Washington's best local chefs.

I hope that you will enjoy all of your future travels.

Kind regards,
Dave Walsh
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews