We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Overall”
Review of Celia's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Celia's Place
Ranked #27 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Lovely home with wonderful style. With books, artwork, and framed photography at every corner, along with the house's natural historic charm, it is definitely a peaceful and creative space. The bed and couch in sitting room are extremely comfortable!

I'm not a big breakfast person, but there was a large spread for me to choose from.

It's also around the corner from just about everything. When all closes in DC around 11p, there are a string of bars that are open with full delicious menus.

I only stayed in DC for a couple days, so I didn't get to see everything. But when I return, I'll definitely be giving Celia a call. She was courteous, sweet, funny, and very helpful!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2012

Celia's Place is one of the most unusual and interesting B&Bs we have ever stayed in: the house is full of books, photographs and fascinating items connected to Celia's life. Her recommendation on places to see and things to do in Washington were much appreciated and we learnt a lot just from talking to her. All the 'normal' B&B aspects (food, location as advertised, cleanliness, Wifi, general comfort and welcome) were more than met. We hope she will continue to open her house for many more decades, as we'd certainly like to return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IH10004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Celia's Place is an ideal place to stay. Warm, welcoming with the hostess' lifetime of collection of books and art adding to the charm. Walking distance to subway, Eastern Market as well as the Mall. Would definitely recommend especially for the single female traveler!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank l0ngh0rnm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Celia's Place is an unexpected and fabulous surprise nested just behind The Capitol and the Library of Congress. We so loved our time there that we were sad to leave!! Celia graciously opens her home and treats you as a house guest who's come for a visit. She served us breakfast and coffee when it was convenient for us. The bedroom overlooks 2 lovely courtyards and when we were there in August, the blooms were gorgeous. For us, it was such fun to experience living inside one of those pretty historic row houses, and Celia's Place is beautifully appointed. She displays her lovely art work and photographs throughout her home, and in our private sitting room, we had shelves of wonderful books to peruse. The location is ideal in DC and if you are interested in using the Spot Cycle bike system, there is a location just a few blocks away from her home. We used the bikes throughout town and while you need to be careful with traffic, it was a great way to explore DC. Also, the Mexican restaurant around the corner that she recommends is some of the best food we ate and super-inexpensive.
We miss Celia's Place and hope to return someday soon - !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

A stay at Celia's was warm and welcoming! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, found the location convenient for our travels and needs while in Washington, D.C. Celia's home is lovely- take the time from your busy schedule to sit down and visit with Celia - and the paintings and images on the walls come alive with colorful and interesting stories. Celia was extraordinarily gracious, helping secure a permit for our car within minutes of our arrival and making arrangements for us to keep our bikes in the back patio area. We felt very fortunate and privileged to be invited into her home and to begin to know her. For those who enjoy the adventures and insights associated with staying at a bed and breakfast - as opposed to a steril hotel/motel - my wife and I highly recommend Celia's. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
3,323 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,658 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#97 of 141 in Washington DC
710 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#82 of 141 in Washington DC
2,634 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celia's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celia's Place

Address: 3rd and C St. SE, Washington DC, DC 20003
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range: $152 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celia’s Place offers the closest access to the National Mall, the Smithsonian and the Monuments. Located at 3rd and Independence Ave SE, for tourists or researchers the home is literally across the street from the Library of Congress. Visitors can walk there or to the U.S. Capitol, Supreme Court, Folger Shakespeare Library and Theatre, the National Gallery of Art, Botanic Gardens, Air and Space Museum and the new American Indian Museum. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing