We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
24
12
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
12
5
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Celia's Place is one of the most unusual and interesting B&Bs we have ever stayed in: the house is full of books, photographs and fascinating items connected to Celia's life. Her recommendation on places to see and things to do in Washington were much appreciated and we learnt a lot just from talking to her. All the 'normal' B&B aspects (food, location as advertised, cleanliness, Wifi, general comfort and welcome) were more than met. We hope she will continue to open her house for many more decades, as we'd certainly like to return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IH10004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Celia's Place is an ideal place to stay. Warm, welcoming with the hostess' lifetime of collection of books and art adding to the charm. Walking distance to subway, Eastern Market as well as the Mall. Would definitely recommend especially for the single female traveler!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank l0ngh0rnm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Celia's Place is an unexpected and fabulous surprise nested just behind The Capitol and the Library of Congress. We so loved our time there that we were sad to leave!! Celia graciously opens her home and treats you as a house guest who's come for a visit. She served us breakfast and coffee when it was convenient for us. The bedroom overlooks 2 lovely courtyards and when we were there in August, the blooms were gorgeous. For us, it was such fun to experience living inside one of those pretty historic row houses, and Celia's Place is beautifully appointed. She displays her lovely art work and photographs throughout her home, and in our private sitting room, we had shelves of wonderful books to peruse. The location is ideal in DC and if you are interested in using the Spot Cycle bike system, there is a location just a few blocks away from her home. We used the bikes throughout town and while you need to be careful with traffic, it was a great way to explore DC. Also, the Mexican restaurant around the corner that she recommends is some of the best food we ate and super-inexpensive.
We miss Celia's Place and hope to return someday soon - !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

A stay at Celia's was warm and welcoming! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, found the location convenient for our travels and needs while in Washington, D.C. Celia's home is lovely- take the time from your busy schedule to sit down and visit with Celia - and the paintings and images on the walls come alive with colorful and interesting stories. Celia was extraordinarily gracious, helping secure a permit for our car within minutes of our arrival and making arrangements for us to keep our bikes in the back patio area. We felt very fortunate and privileged to be invited into her home and to begin to know her. For those who enjoy the adventures and insights associated with staying at a bed and breakfast - as opposed to a steril hotel/motel - my wife and I highly recommend Celia's. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I had high hopes that were quickly dashed. Art is one thing faded glory is another. Towels and bedspread that you are allowed to use (you have to remove the top one because it comes from Belgium) have tattered edges and permanent stains. Breakfast is cold cereal and yogurt and something called tropicana that pretends to be orange juice. Thank heavens for smart phone because wi-fi is only accessible during the hours your "host" is awake- comes on in the am goes off at her bedtime. You are the only "guest" so you cater to your host she does not accommodate you. With 5 minutes notice she dragged a plumber through "my" room before I was dressed and noisy yard work started sunday morning with no notice. Rooms are not cleaned, no beds are made and I had to point out twice in the same day that my hallway bathroom needed toilet paper. There are only face mirrors so you will never know how you look when you walk out the door though you can look at photographs of how many other people look. Unless you get a huge bargain it is not worth what I paid.

Room Tip: There is only one bedroom, sitting room and a bathroom in the hallway you must exit your room to enter
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zanzibar07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bnbaccomDC, Manager at Celia's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

How unfortunate that this guest was not happy during her time at Celia’s place, as so many have been who chose this home for their stay in Washington during the 20+ years she had been a B&B in DC. There are several things to which she objected that should not have been a surprise, much less a disappointment. We advertize this as a small, private home B&B, offering a single guest suite, and specify that the bath is private but in the hall. We also advertize a continental breakfast with several choices of breads, cereals, yoghurt, coffee, tea, juice and seasonal fruit. No one before has criticized Tropicana, brand of orange juice. Wireless internet is not deliberately shut off each night and should be available 24 hours a day. Something may have interfered with the internet, but since the guest did not say anything, the hostess was unaware of the problem.

The welcome letter Celia leaves for her guests concludes with the following sentence: “If you find anything unsatisfactory, please let me know so that I can try to correct it, and if there’s anything you want or need that you don’t see, please tell me.” This guest asked for toilet paper three days after arriving, although two full rolls had been left in her bathroom. Otherwise she said nothing.

The yard work mentioned came from a neighboring property, which is out of the owner’s control, though again, had the guest mentioned it, Celia could have talked to the neighbor. The plumber came to check the connections for the radiator heating system prior to winter. Celia asked if the plumber might look at the radiator in the guest suite—the time necessary was about a minute—and the guest could easily have declined if she felt it an intrusion.

No owner/host is infallible, and we take all well-meaning criticisms seriously. We make adjustments wherever possible and shall continue to do. Finally, we encourage any potential guest with concerns about this review to contact us directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews