We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful mansion with a stunning collection of Russian antiques ”

Hillwood Estate, Museum & Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 59.00*
and up
Washington DC Explorer Pass
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Hillwood, the grand estate of Post Cereal heiress Marjorie Merriweather Post, sits on 25 acres overlooking Rock Creek Park in northwest Washington DC. Along with a world renowned collection of Russian and French decorative arts, Hillwood also features extensive gardens and special exhibitions.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This mansion/museum should have the name “Smithsonian “ in it. The collection is as unique and extensive as any that are on display at the Smithsonian museums. Most everything is the same as it would have been during the time that ms Post lives here. Well worth the price of admission and the high rating here on trip advisor. No crowds even during Easter break.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"marjorie merriweather post"
in 155 reviews
"faberge eggs"
in 98 reviews
"russian art"
in 93 reviews
"japanese garden"
in 87 reviews
"decorative arts"
in 43 reviews
"post cereal"
in 25 reviews
"gardens are beautiful"
in 26 reviews
"van ness"
in 21 reviews
"pet cemetery"
in 21 reviews
"garden tour"
in 28 reviews
"french furniture"
in 11 reviews
"jewelry exhibit"
in 11 reviews
"rose garden"
in 27 reviews
"audio tour"
in 47 reviews
"rock creek park"
in 28 reviews
"suggested donation"
in 14 reviews
"full bloom"
in 16 reviews
Filter

75 - 79 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Located in a suburban part of DC north of the Washington zoo, this museum and garden complex was the home of Marjorie Merriweather Post. She accumulated a treasure trove of mostly Russian and French decorative arts. One can tour the entire house on a fairly intimate hour long docent tour. The furnishings are quite spectacular and include acquisitions from her postings in Russia and France. Particularly noteworthy is the collection of painted porcelain. Also impressive are the chandeliers and sconces throughout the house. Fun also to see the kitchens and closets. Outside, one is free to tour the gardens, paths, follies, and greenhouses specializing in orchids. March was a bit early in the season to gain a full appreciation of nature’s offerings, but one could get a sense of how spectacular and private these gardens could be in the spring/summer season. The suburban location is a bit odd and tricky to find (our Uber driver had to turn around once or twice even with GPS). There is also a charming boutique/shop on the premises, as well as a modest cafe (though I might suggest bringing a picnic in finer weather and sitting at one of the tables dotted throughout the property). Tip: when you are ready to leave, call for an Uber about 10 minutes in advance. It will take them a while to get there.

Date of experience: March 2018
5  Thank antiques223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Love the insight into history that it gave us. It is also a very human scaled house and although the environment is opulent, it seems very comfortable. This is post also seems to have been a genuinely nice person which makes looking at her environment and thinking about work that it took to keep it up all the more pleasing. She treated her staff well and as partners not as servants. She did not entertain at her own past 11 p.m. so that her staff didn't have to stay up until 2 or 3 AM. She also had a balcony built into theater area for the staff could watch the movie with everyone else.

I was not a fan of orchids. Then the person I was with said coming to the greenhouse It looks interesting. And absolutely blew me out of my socks. I am in love with orcas now. It is just intoxicating. I also got to talk to a volunteer who has a master's in Horticulture and he told me some very interesting background tidbits and how nice that the current Museum staff is to their volunteers. He has been there 20 years.

The surface in the cafe and the food were both so good that we had a hard time leaving to continue with the tour.

They have an absolutely incredible free app for your phone. It was so well-written that I had a hard time initially using it because I was expecting it to be dumb. Then I quickly realized that I could tap on a spot in a room and here a description of what I was looking at. It is also to find items on a numbered list in the app. You can pick or choose which items to look at or read about or hear a description of. You can Bounce Around in any order. It's easy to pick up where you were. The gift shop was also fantastic.

Date of experience: April 2018
3  Thank johnste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

With the orchids at their best, cherry blossoms in the Japanese Garden, and amazing Russian treasures, this is a great time to visit the house and gardens. A nice getaway from the DC crowds. Take a stroll, enjoy a bit to eat, and enjoy a true national treasure.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank leannes927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We visited because of high rating. We had no trouble finding the place following google maps. Compared to our afternoon another museum visiting, hillwood is spectacular , not too crowded, easy parking, so much items/collections and details for 1-3 hours easily. Highly recommend to families especially those with girls.

A suggestion for them : put the audio guide number on the roomtag on the wall so visitors don't have to check the map to find the room / audio number mapping.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank judywang2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hillwood Estate, Museum & Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Hillwood Estate, Museum & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing