We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast
Ranked #109 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Solid hotel experience”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The hotel was very busy - especially breakfast but we were always able to get to the food and there was always plenty of it. The woman overseeing breakfast was so friendly and efficient. We were on the first floor across from the stairway and the door was so loud it often disturbed our sleep. The pool was also closed Sunday night for 3 hours for a private party. The location was good though and the room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    109
    47
    22
    11
See reviews for
116
74
18
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

This is a good value hotel, clean and comfortable.

I had no car on Washington, and the hotel is not really near the metro. However, they run a very good (and free shuttle service) that runs into Union Station once and hour in the morning and every 30 minutes in the evening until 10.45 (I think). This is a really useful servcie.

The area around the hotel is a bit desolate with no food shops or restaurants other then garage shops and burger/pizza/taco places.

My only criticism is that breakfast can be bit of a scrum as there are a limited number of tables. Good choice of food though.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
typical south Indian
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Good hotel with spacious rooms and courteous front desk. Big plus is the shuttle service provided by the hotel to the convention centre and Union station. They also drop guests to a few other locations. Minus point is the very uninteresting breakfast and lack of choice for dinner. We stayed for nearly a week on official business and the experience was good and will deserve recommendations to future prospective guests
HBO pamphlet is prominently left on table but no channel.
Local people advised not to venture out alone during the night though the surroundings are quite not lonely

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppr67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

6 IHG hotels in 6 weeks and this is, by far, the WORST in customer service.

First, we tried to check in at 2pm. Which is earlier than 3, yes, but we also are priority club members AND we called the morning of to make sure there would be a room available, after being told there would be a room available we packed up our luggage and headed over.

They turned us away in the rain to wait an hour. No apology, no class, just a curt "Nope, we don't have any rooms. Come back at 3." (Yes, that's verbatim)

ANY customer service request we had (toilet paper, shuttle requests) was met with zero courtesy and ridiculous delays for even a busy lobby (which it was not at the time we stayed during off-season).

On top of that, the staff entered our room while we had a do not disturb sign on the door. I was LIVID to say the least.

Not only did management not even offer an apology for the violation of company policy, they were very cold and blew it off.

Also, we found a dirty headband under our bed, which is just a disgusting thought.

I normally LOVE Holiday Inn, the staff is usually friendly, the amenities are GREAT for the price, they're usually in great locations, but this site is BEYOND AWFUL!

The only redeeming factor is that the hotel seems to be either brand new or recently renovated - the rooms are gorgeous.

But if you need any kind of staff service while you're staying, tough luck.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel on the beltway or across the way in Alexandria, VA (cheaper taxes there, and ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jlnotary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

When we arrived at 3p.m. our room was not ready. We had asked for a room facing the rear as told by TA. At the front desk they told us that was not neccesary because " there was nothing going on outside so it would be quiet" We waited an hour and went back the room still was not ready,We finally got a room at the front of the hotel! The traffic kept us awake at night. It was very busy at the front desk all the time. Too few people for all the guests.That said, the room was large, two beds, a mini kithchen with sink and microwave, bathroom with all the extra's. A couch and two t.v.'s Outside a MC donalds, KFC, dunkin dounuts and gas stations to buy stuff. We walked outside and were not worried at all. We reserved the shuttle every day and went to Union Station and were picked up there.Breakfast was great, with hot and cold foods, juice and milk and fruit. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annede99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington DC
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washingto...
#114 of 141 in Washington DC
186 reviews
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#82 of 141 in Washington DC
137 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US ...
#76 of 141 in Washington DC
923 reviews
Quality Inn & Suites New York Av...
#130 of 141 in Washington DC
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast
Address: 1917 Bladensburg Rd NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-1811
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price range (per night): $257 - $452
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Northeast Washington is near many top attractions. Visitors enjoy a full American breakfast buffet included in the rate, on site parking at a reasonable cost. Union Station and Metro are within 2 miles, giving travelers easy access to our hotel. Our complimentary shuttle will take you at pre-set times to Union Station, from there you can see all the major attractions, museums and get to your meeting quickly too. Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA)is less than 10 miles away. Visitors can immerse themselves in history while visiting the 19 museums of the Smithsonian Institute or popular, downtown Washington, DC memorials. In addition, our 900 square feet of meeting space and a 24-hour business center can help you host a conference during your stay. Our hotel rooms overlooking DC offer entertainment for the whole family with free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access in every room. Unwind anytime in the 24-hour fitness center, indoor heated pool or whirlpool. For a complimentary hot breakfast and a convenient stay, choose this Washington, DC hotel. The close proximity of our Washington, DC hotel to the US Capitol, local businesses and government offices makes the commute easy for business travelers. You'll find the Washington Times, the FBI and both Georgetown and George Washington universities within just five miles of our hotel in Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Washington Dc-Northeast
Holiday Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing