We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 5:30 pm
Save
  
Ways to Experience National Postal Museum
from USD 39.00
More Info
from USD 13.50
More Info
from USD 69.00
More Info
from USD 49.00
More Info
Reviews (1,009)
Filter reviews
1,009 results
Traveller rating
635
310
56
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
635
310
56
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pony express union station stamp collection stage coach free postcards across the street collect stamps post office building train car interactive exhibits scavenger hunt hands on activities on display information desk great for kids gift shop couple of hours
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 1,009 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This was our last stop of the day of sightseeing. It ended up being the favorite. It was right next to Union Station if you need to kill some time before your train. The bathrooms were very clean & it was the least crowded. The stamp collection on the first floor was great & allowed you to pull open and explore at your own pace. They had magnifying glasses for you to pick up and use. The rare stamps were delightful. I loved the one from the moon & the John Hancock one from July 4.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank amy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan T, Visitor Services Assistant at National Postal Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Thanks so much for the 5 star review, Amy! Our "Gems of American Philately" exhibit is quite special, so we're glad to hear you discovered some favorites within it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

It's sad when the architecture of the building is more interesting than what's inside it. Each room of the exhibit is bigger than my house, and yet in each room there are only a few actual artifacts--the rooms are just giant showplaces full of fiberboard story boards. Topping that off, half of the "artifacts" you think you're looking at are labeled as replicas. It's a good place to kill an hour or two walking around in big empty spaces, but not worth a special trip.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank MissSherlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan T, Visitor Services Assistant at National Postal Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thanks so much for visiting and taking the time to share your feedback! We apologize that your time here did not meet your expectations. Please let us know if you're ever interested in returning - we'd love the opportunity to arrange a special tour with one of our curators or the director of the museum!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

This museum is not as central or as well advertised as the other Smithsonian Museums, but it was absolutely worth going a little out of the way. It’s less busy than the other more well known museums and just as interesting!

Tip- they have free postcards that are a great souvenir!

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Melinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan T, Visitor Services Assistant at National Postal Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Melinda - Love seeing your fun pictures! Thanks for the great review and we're glad you found your visit worthwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

This museum is a must see!! We spent over 3 hours there and could have easily spent longer. Exhibits were very fascinating and interactive. Housed in a large beautiful building. No coat room but we found small lockers downstairs.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank walton127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan T, Visitor Services Assistant at National Postal Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

It's wonderful to hear that you had such a great experience! We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

ok, I traveled quite far to go to their "special exhibit", "In Her Words: Women's Duty and Service in World War I". The "exhibit" was 3 uniforms and a couple letters with each. I would not consider that an exhibit. It was very disappointing. As a whole, the entire museum can be seen in an hour and wasn't particularly enlightening to me. For kids, it might be interesting. Don't go out of your way...if you get off a bus at Union Station, maybe stop here.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank ruthrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan T, Visitor Services Assistant at National Postal Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Ruth - thank you so much for taking the time to come visit as well as share this important feedback. We're so sorry to hear that you were disappointed. The Franklin Foyer cases are a new addition and to be honest, we're still evaluating how best to incorporate them within the museum. "In Her Words..." was intended to be a complementary facet of the "My Fellow Soldiers: Letters from World War I" exhibition (located within the military "Mail Call" gallery), but we unfortunately missed the mark in providing a fulfilling experience for you. Please know that we have made your comments a part of our internal discussions as we continue to refine our exhibition planning, design and execution. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews