We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for visitors and hobbyists!”

National Postal Museum
Ranked #41 of 488 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Located near the Union station, the postal museum offers glimpse of many rare stamps as well as modern day releases. The exhibits do not cease to amaze the visitors. Philatelists can add the attraction to their bucket list when visiting DC.

Thank csserious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan T, Visitor Services Assistant at National Postal Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the great feedback! We hope you'll find time to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"pony express"
in 76 reviews
"union station"
in 264 reviews
"stamp collection"
in 46 reviews
"across the street"
in 63 reviews
"stage coach"
in 18 reviews
"interactive exhibits"
in 37 reviews
"free postcards"
in 11 reviews
"collect stamps"
in 11 reviews
"post office building"
in 9 reviews
"train car"
in 16 reviews
"information desk"
in 12 reviews
"gift shop"
in 32 reviews
"scavenger hunt"
in 13 reviews
"hands on activities"
in 18 reviews
"on display"
in 32 reviews
"great for kids"
in 15 reviews
"all ages"
in 29 reviews
Filter

56 - 60 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

This was our last stop of the day of sightseeing. It ended up being the favorite. It was right next to Union Station if you need to kill some time before your train. The bathrooms were very clean & it was the least crowded. The stamp collection on the first floor was great & allowed you to pull open and explore at your own pace. They had magnifying glasses for you to pick up and use. The rare stamps were delightful. I loved the one from the moon & the John Hancock one from July 4.

1  Thank amy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan T, Visitor Services Assistant at National Postal Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for the 5 star review, Amy! Our "Gems of American Philately" exhibit is quite special, so we're glad to hear you discovered some favorites within it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

It's sad when the architecture of the building is more interesting than what's inside it. Each room of the exhibit is bigger than my house, and yet in each room there are only a few actual artifacts--the rooms are just giant showplaces full of fiberboard story boards. Topping that off, half of the "artifacts" you think you're looking at are labeled as replicas. It's a good place to kill an hour or two walking around in big empty spaces, but not worth a special trip.

Thank MissSherlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan T, Visitor Services Assistant at National Postal Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much for visiting and taking the time to share your feedback! We apologize that your time here did not meet your expectations. Please let us know if you're ever interested in returning - we'd love the opportunity to arrange a special tour with one of our curators or the director of the museum!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

This museum is not as central or as well advertised as the other Smithsonian Museums, but it was absolutely worth going a little out of the way. It’s less busy than the other more well known museums and just as interesting!

Tip- they have free postcards that are a great souvenir!

1  Thank Melinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan T, Visitor Services Assistant at National Postal Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Melinda - Love seeing your fun pictures! Thanks for the great review and we're glad you found your visit worthwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

This museum is a must see!! We spent over 3 hours there and could have easily spent longer. Exhibits were very fascinating and interactive. Housed in a large beautiful building. No coat room but we found small lockers downstairs.

Thank walton127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan T, Visitor Services Assistant at National Postal Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

It's wonderful to hear that you had such a great experience! We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Postal Museum also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to National Postal Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing