We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Washington DC
from USD 56.00
More Info
from USD 42.00
More Info
from USD 56.00
More Info
from USD 13.50
More Info
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
123
61
18
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
61
18
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews reading room current exhibit romeo and juliet style theater english literature supreme court balcony seats exhibition hall open to the public docent led tour his passion main exhibit great gift shop on display capitol hill small group my favorite
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2018

The Folger Library and theater is always a wonderful stop when we are in Washington. The manuscripts on display in the museum area never fail to fascinate me. On this visit we really enjoyed an excellent production of “The Winter’sTale” in the theater. I often find this play to be difficult, but the superb and lively cast overcame the plays inherent problems.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank dangerFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Take a guided tour of the building which includes the founders’ room, the research library, the exhibition hall and a peek at the Elizabethan style theater. Then take an in-depth guided tour of the exhibition room, currently “Beyond Words, the Book Illustrations in the Age of Shakespeare.” In the evening go to a period play or concert but don’t forget to join a pre-show lecture and discussion if available. Hungry? For lunch, walk a block or two to the Capital Café in the U. S. Capital building—check open times. For dinner my favorite is Montmartre—a bit of a hike (one mile) but worth it.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Harriet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Whst a fabulous place. The building is fascinsting and tours (11:00,1:00,3:00) include the Founder's Room and Theater (first Elizabethan theater in the USA), and a glimpse into the Reading Room, one of the most beautiful rooms in Washington. Great gift shop. Great exhibitions, and near good good on Pennsylvania Ave.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Definitely worth a visit! There is so much history in this place. The theater is beautiful. The architecture alone is worth a look.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Lusie0520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

I knew of the theater but had no idea you could tour the library's reading room until my sister got us reservations. I love any kind of library and this private toru did not disappoint. We had 2 docents educate us on the contents, scholars, research options and founder's history. The library itself is impressive but the passion and enthusiasm of the docents make it a lasting experience. Highly recommend that if you can reserve a time, go visit.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank SmallWonder B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews