We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How bad could it be? BAD!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
District Hotel Washington
Ranked #132 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Walnut Creek, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“How bad could it be? BAD!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

My family stayed here over Spring Break. The prices were reasonable, but you definitely get what you pay for. The rooms were adequate, but the paperthin walls, plus adjoining doors to other rooms made every single word spoken in the next room audible.

Things were broken. Like the elevator! And no attempt to fix them. When the light switch broke to the closet light, nobody was ever sent nor was it repaired during the day.

They had at least 100 8th grade students for their spring break trip, which meant the "complimentary breakfast" was gone by 7:30am. And with seating for only 8, it was rarely possible to even try and sit. We ended up getting breakfast out every day. Knowing they were jampacked, they made no effort to order enough breakfast.

Location was not good. 10 minute walk from the nearest metro, meant you were already halfway to places like the WhiteHouse. Made it pointless to take the Metro.

If we hadn't pre-paid (big mistake), we would have left after the first night. I was tempted to anyway. There was absolutely no reason to be here except to sleep. At least we didn't have bedbugs (though I see others posting here did). Ugh.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    93
    140
    103
    193
See reviews for
65
165
95
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
boston
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

all that needs to be said is...how is this hotel still open and not condemmed.

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdiste4108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We chose this place because of its location but came to regret it. The BED BUGS were disgusting and I picked up a case of head lice, also. It's been hell trying to clear all that up now that we're home. I should report them to the health dept. Don't make the mistake of staying there.

Room Tip: Ask for a health department inspection clearance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 414nanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

This hotel has reasonable rates and is in a great location, walking distance to the White House, which is what I needed when I had a last minute opportunity to take my grandson to the White House Easter Egg Roll. The facade is interesting & historical, the lobby small but nice and the carpeted hallway is soft and soothing to tired feet. The beauty and comfort end there. I do not know about any other rooms, but room 110 is a closet. It is smaller than any room I have ever had in Europe. It was so cramped and tiny that we spent as much time away from the room as we could, preferring to walk on sore feet, or sit in a park. The room was clean enough, and the linens were very clean, but old carpet, cracked sink, chipped tile with crumbling grout, and shoddy repairs make it seem rundown and a little seedy. The wi-fi was unreliable, worked great the first night, terrible the next and just okay the third. Hot water for showers was plentiful no matter what time, and that is important to me. Housekeeping was stingy with the soap, we had only one that we had to switch between the shower and the sink. The breakfast is served in the lobby and unless you beat the European tour groups to the punch, you will be waiting a long time to get a freshly cooked waffle. The waffle irons are great and we enjoyed the hot breakfast option but with limited seating, plastic forks and no knives, eating the waffles was challenging. Coffe was good and they kept it coming. Finally, we saw absolutely NO bugs, no bedbugs, nothing. Our bed and towels were clean and fresh every day. This hotel is well-served by Alex at the front desk. He was unfailingly cheerful, friendly, positive and helpful. I appreciated his commitment to service, even when he was juggling phone calls and multiple customers at the desk. Thank you Alex, you are an excellent employee and I hope they pay you what you are worth
If you are on a tight budget and don't mind a tiny, tiny room, but need a clean bed and hot shower, you could do far worse than District Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moreta57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEATTLE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We booked this hotel BEFORE we read the reviews. Our bad.
Since we were already committed, we gave it a shot.
The price was great and the location was really good. (Logan's Circle) Near DuPont Circle.
Like was mentioned in other reviews, they DO HAVE BED BUGS.
We changed our room.
Alex on the front desk is very rude, as has been mentioned on another review.
Other front desk people were nice.
The elevator is still out. Has been for over a year. I doubt they will ever fix it.
The continental breakfast is OK, but go to Whole Foods a block away. For less than a restaurant bill you can have a wonderful breakfast and eat it upstairs in the market's dining area.

The whole place is shabby. The room floor was uneven. It took a good 5 minutes before you got hot water in the sink or tub. And by the way, the tub plunger doesn't work, so if you want to take a bath, you need to stuff a wash cloth in the drain so the tub fills up.

We booked the room the week we were in DC, but we only lasted about 3 1/2 days. We checked out, got the rest of our money back, and went down the street to a clean Holiday Inn.

When we travel, we only care about sleeping and washing in our hotel room. But this place was too disgusting to even stay for that.

I know the price is tempting, BUT IT'S NOT WORTH IT!

Room Tip: If you must stay here, try a room at the end of the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BARRY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#129 of 140 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#126 of 140 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#116 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Baron Hotel
The Baron Hotel
#128 of 140 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#124 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#120 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to District Hotel Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about District Hotel Washington

Property: District Hotel Washington
Address: 1440 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price range (per night): $135 - $1,136
Hotel Class:2 star — District Hotel Washington 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your District Hotel Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
District Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing