We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If there's nothing else available....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Ranked #62 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If there's nothing else available....”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Highlights are friendly staff and the Starbucks that is located right off the lobby. Unfortunately, the lobby smells of mildew and with my allergies, my first night was tough, the room was musty. I had a room with double beds, the first bed I tried to sleep on had no springs (old), fortunately the second bed wasn't as used. I think the hotel is supposed to be renovated, I would wait until the renovation before staying there again. Bathrooms are small and I hope they put in new tubs. Location is very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billionmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear billionmiles,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Despite the challenges you faced I was pleased to note that you appreciated the location of our hotel, an aspect of our hotel that is preferred by many of our guests. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    833
    258
    92
    60
See reviews for
424
518
97
631
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Lovely location overlooking Macpherson Square. Close to D.C. visitor attactions and good shopping and dinning. Hotel is in good condition. Suite I received was very clean and well appointed. Lounge area was nice with good items in the evening and a reasonable continental breakfast. Staff were all agreeable and professional.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012 via mobile

This was a really nice hotel and we liked being close to everything near the downtown. Why, thought do they cheap it on the wifi? I just don't get why expensive hotels don't do free wifi when a Best Western can do that. Even the lobby was a fee and they make Starbucks charge too. Just silly.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank vdmadmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
215 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Wonderful location in Washington, however, the park across the street just teems with the homeless. Only one block to Metrorail and several restaurants nearby, but since it's right downtown, not noisy at night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdeanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The hotel is in a convenient location fairly close to the white house and other major attractions like the convention center. Staff are very helpful.

Everything about the hotel is old. When I checked in they mentioned they wll be going through a remodel soon. I really wouldn't recommend staying here until it happens. the only reason they got a 3 vs. a 2 is the staff is really helpful and the hotel was super clean.

Rooms and bathroom are small. Everything but the TV seems old and a little worn.

You can hear things from the hallway and despite being on the 10th floor you could hear lots of outside noise including many police sirons. There was definitely a lot of police activity in the area as well as ladies of the evening and homeless people very close to the hotel but that is the same for many hotels in DC.

What I like about the place. The staff are help helpful, Do not get Pizza at hotel bar. rally bad.

I usually have to stay at this hotel because of a work conference if you are looking for a simplier alternative there is a Hilton Garden Inn right down the street. You ca often get several other hilton properties for the same price as the crown plaze (just not during a large conference).

There is a great build your own breakfast, lunch noodle place right next door. really good food, very reasonable price. Hotel has a shoe shine guy at the back side of the hotel. he does a really good job and there is a Starbucks onsite

Room Tip: Nice people but stay at another hotel until rennovations happen
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P4620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sholeh K, General Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington, DC, greater thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback here on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to read that you were pleased with our staff service levels and the location of our property was ideal for your last trip, and that the location of our property was ideal for your visit to the city.

As you mentioned, we are preparing our hotel to undergo a soft, aesthetic remodeling that will enhance the look and feel of our guest rooms. Our management staff and designers have carefully prepared a plan to make sure all the items mentioned in your feedback are addressed. We also have a proactive plan that each guest staying with us will not be affected by the soft changes and the enhancement to our Historical property.

Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we have the pleasure and the opportunity to welcome you once more on your next visit to Washington, DC.

At your service,
Sholeh K. Kia
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#53 of 141 in Washington DC
820 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,610 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel

Property: Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Address: 1001 14th St NW, 14th and K Street, Washington DC, DC 20005-3402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price range (per night): $165 - $691
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored 1920's architectural gem, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel offers refined accommodations and modern meeting facilities in the heart of the nation's capitol. Gracing the corner of 14th & K Streets, NW, this Washington, DC hotel places you in the ideal location whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Just 5 blocks from the White House, 7 blocks to the Washington, DC Convention Center, 1 block to the McPherson Square Metro Station, minutes from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and local dining and entertainment, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel is perfectly situated to make your visit a productive and memorable experience. The Hamilton's own 14K Restaurant and Lounge offers a contemporary American dining experience to guests and local DC residents alike. Perfect for people watching, entertaining, or unwinding after a day of meetings, 14K Restaurant and Lounge is the choice for casual meals or private gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, IHG, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamilton
Crowne Plaza Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing