We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Nice Service - Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #20 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was clean, well lit and decorated. Bed was comfortable. They also have a place to eat attached to the hotel and there are a couple pubs around the corner. The only drawback was the basic wi-fi - for which I paid - was very slow and often dropped in and out.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank smackie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 2,216 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2017

The Kimpton George is a great location especially if you traveled from New York to Washington by train as we did, I would also suggest to travel this way for another look at the countryside. Very good location and staff very good also. The Hotel is very clean and very well appointed we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCGOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

The staff were so friendly. Check in was a breeze. The room was clean, water was hot and the bed was comfortable. This hotel is conveniently located near Union Station. My family loved that we could get up, grab breakfast at The Corner Bakery, grab dinner or a snack at Union Station. They have a nightly wine tasting but we had kids so we didn't try it. They also have a nice restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lisa60653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

This hotel is very close to Union Station, close to a Metro Station and very close to the Circulator stop. We paid a little extra for a larger room and it was definitely worth it. The room was a good size with two queen beds and a queen pull out couch. The bathroom was large with a tub and a large shower. A couple of times we asked for extra towels, etc and they were delivered very quickly. All of the employees were friendly and and our room was spotless and updated. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peppermint50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joon C, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Hi peppermint50,

Thank you for staying with us at the Kimpton George Hotel and taking the time to provide us with a review! Thanks for highlighting our central location! It is extremely convenient having Union Station, Capitol, Smithsonian, and like you mentioned, the Circulator stop, all so close by. Also, thank you for your feedback regarding the room and the friendliness of our staff! It's nearly impossible seeing all the attractions in one trip, so we definitely hope you stay with us again next time you visit Washington, DC, peppermint50!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

We stayed three night over the Thanksgiving weekend. Staff was very friendly and answered all our questions. Our Deluxe King room was clean and nicely appointed with a desk with chair, large leather chair and an ottoman. The bath had a tub, separate shower, sink and toilet with nice amenities. My only complaints are the toilet is far too low for seniors and the tissue was scratchy. The hotel is close to the Capitol and Union Station and in walking distance to the Mall. We really enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joon C, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Hi Ron C,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Kimpton George Hotel and spending your Thanksgiving weekend with us! The city gets pretty quiet during that time, so I hope you had an opportunity to visit a lot of the attractions! Great to hear you enjoyed the amenities in the room and our staff was able to answer all of your questions. That's what we are here for! Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review and we hope you stay with us again next time you visit the nation's capital, Ron C!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,379 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,273 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
1,708 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
398 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton George Hotel

Address: 15 E Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-1501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $203 - $616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing