We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton George Hotel
Ranked #19 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 December 2017

This hotel is very close to Union Station, close to a Metro Station and very close to the Circulator stop. We paid a little extra for a larger room and it was definitely worth it. The room was a good size with two queen beds and a queen pull out couch. The bathroom was large with a tub and a large shower. A couple of times we asked for extra towels, etc and they were delivered very quickly. All of the employees were friendly and and our room was spotless and updated. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peppermint50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joon C, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Hi peppermint50,

Thank you for staying with us at the Kimpton George Hotel and taking the time to provide us with a review! Thanks for highlighting our central location! It is extremely convenient having Union Station, Capitol, Smithsonian, and like you mentioned, the Circulator stop, all so close by. Also, thank you for your feedback regarding the room and the friendliness of our staff! It's nearly impossible seeing all the attractions in one trip, so we definitely hope you stay with us again next time you visit Washington, DC, peppermint50!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 2,218 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2017

We stayed three night over the Thanksgiving weekend. Staff was very friendly and answered all our questions. Our Deluxe King room was clean and nicely appointed with a desk with chair, large leather chair and an ottoman. The bath had a tub, separate shower, sink and toilet with nice amenities. My only complaints are the toilet is far too low for seniors and the tissue was scratchy. The hotel is close to the Capitol and Union Station and in walking distance to the Mall. We really enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joon C, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Hi Ron C,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Kimpton George Hotel and spending your Thanksgiving weekend with us! The city gets pretty quiet during that time, so I hope you had an opportunity to visit a lot of the attractions! Great to hear you enjoyed the amenities in the room and our staff was able to answer all of your questions. That's what we are here for! Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review and we hope you stay with us again next time you visit the nation's capital, Ron C!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Wow where do I start with our stay at the George Hotel? Easy booking, pictures are actually what you get in the room and not staged. We had a bit of an issue with an email we received about a possible upgrade however it was sold out. When we contacted the manager Joon he was able to accommodate us with a no fee upgrade to a BEAUTIFUL room. Solimon and Abiy our valet were so nice and accommodating as well. I can say enough about the service. The room was beautifully decorated and matched the theme of the hotel and DC perfectly, however has their own quirky aesthetic. It was so close to union station and all the stops. I can not wait to come back and stay with the Kimpton George Hotel.

P.S the restaurant they had on site is beyond delicious.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joon C, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Hi Monique Z,

Thank you for staying with us at the Kimpton George Hotel and taking the time to write us such a wonderful review! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the room and the ambiance of the hotel! It was our pleasure assisting you and making sure that your stay with us is nothing short of what you would expect from a Kimpton hotel. I will definitely pass on your kind feedback to Solomon and Abiy. I'm sure they will be excited! We hope to have you stay with us again next time you are in town, Monique Z!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

We took the train to DC and stayed at this hotel which is 5 min walk from Union Station. It was a perfect place from which to visit the mall and the museums, an easy walk to everything. We’ve done it twice now, the weekend before Thanksgiving in 2016 and 2017.
Last year was perfect. This year we ran into a snag which maybe we just didn’t pick up on last year. There was a charge on our bill for $21 plus $3.11 tax, per night. When I inquired I was told it was an extra fee for services like higher than normal internet speed, etc. Nothing really. They said it was listed in fine print on the reservation but I didn’t find it. However...If you join their loyalty program at no cost this fee is not charged. Of course we joined and the manager dropped the charge.

Make sure you join the Kimpton Karma awards program!!!

Because the hotel is lovely and clean and convenient and very pleasant. And the in hotel restaurant (Bistro Bar) is highly rated and very good.

I feel it’s a bit of a ripoff to stick it in there and wait for complaints before deducting it, but at least it can be removed at no cost. I would rate it a 5 if not for this.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joon C, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Hi Jane B,

Thanks for staying with us at the Kimpton George Hotel during your trip to Washington, DC! Looks like it is for the second year in a row! Sorry to hear about the small hiccup you ran into regarding the hotel fee. It is listed on the website when booking and confirmation page upon booking the reservation. However, you are part of our loyalty program now, so that shouldn't affect you any longer. Hope you got the chance to visit all the attractions on your checklist! Thanks for writing us a review and we hope to see you again next year, Jane B!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

The Hotel George is a three-minute walk to Union Station and not much more to Capitol Hill. That makes it a great place for visitors focused on the Hill, the Smithsonian, Georgetown Law School, and the burgeoning Shaw neighborhood. The comfortable, quiet rooms, super-considerate desk staff, and very pleasant restaurant made it that much more appealing to me. I've stayed in Kimptons with widely varying levels of staff attentiveness; this one tops the charts.

On what may seem a minute level, I especially appreciated the very simple alarm clock (see photo) in my well-appointed room. It was a refreshing change from the pricey, high-tech clock radios that so often leave technologically challenged people like me baffled and irritated.

Breakfast in the restaurant was great. No buffet option, but what was on the menu (egg white omelet in my case) came promptly and well-prepared.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joon C, Front Office Manager at Kimpton George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Hi Philip W,

Thank you for staying with us at the Kimpton George Hotel and taking the time to provide us with a review! Thanks for the awesome feedback regarding our staff and their level of attentiveness. Their sincerity and genuine care for our guests is really second to none! Thanks for also highlighting our central location! Our proximity to all the locations you mentioned makes it extremely convenient! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you are in Washington, DC, Philip W!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,386 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
3,279 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Phoenix Park Hotel
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
398 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#98 of 141 in Washington DC
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton George Hotel

Address: 15 E Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-1501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $218 - $616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton George Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capitol Hill near Union Station, The Kimpton George Hotel stands out as one of the most stylish boutique hotels in Washington DC. This luxury hotel offers celebrity appeal, impeccable service and extraordinary value in an ideal location. The Kimpton George Hotel, at the nucleus of Capitol Hill's business district, is steps from Union Station and the U.S. Capitol Building and a short walk from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate Office Buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel George Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing