We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
164
49
20
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
49
20
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbalcony doornespresso coffee makernewly developed areaihg propertya free shuttle buspotomac rivermike duncanstocked refrigeratorfront deskwelcome giftusb outletsuber driverspacious showerfire pitsmall balconyrooftop poolmakeup mirror
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

This is a new hotel, very modern. The whole wharf area is new, appr. 6 months. No cab knew how to get there because of that. Area very nice, even with a fire pit close by and many restaurants. We were given a room on the 11th floor, very quiet. The first surprise was the size of the minuscule closet (we were 3 people). Room for one person's clothes. No hangars, called for them and were brought one hangar. had to call again. Second surprise: no drawers anywhere. Had to leave small items, underwear, etc. in the suitcase. Third surprise: no table or chair in the room. If one asks for room service it has to be eaten standing up or sitting on the bed. Fourth surprise: bathroom shower curtain is about 5 inches away from the shower and 5 inches too short, so that we lived with a constant wet bathroom floor after showering. Shower water comes in sequences of burning hot going to cold and again to hot. At night the closet inside light doesn't turn off, even when door is closed so that we had to sleep with it shining in our eyes. We decided to have breakfast at the hotel and even though there were many empty tables, we were told to wait 30 minutes. Other people were told one hour, so they left. Service was not coordinated, bread came at the end, (at the next table the guest never got her bagel for her lox even though she complained twice). The hostess was unfriendly, especially when I asked twice about the reason of having empty tables.We know that new hotels have their problems but this is a well known chain with lots of experience. whoever designed the rooms didn't think practicality. The lobby staff was nice, Greg was very apologetic, others just listened, knowing that they cannot do anything about the ridiculous designs .Mattress and pillows were very good.We liked the area, would go back but will definitely try another hotel. We were staying 3 more days, left after 3, and the front desk attendant canceling our stay never inquired the reason why or try to make us stay.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cristina1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonAntoine_GM, General Manager at InterContinental Washington D.C. - The Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear cristina1943,

Thank you for your review. The InterContinental brand is well known for its reputation of providing unique service in distinctive buildings. We missed that opportunity during your stay. Please send an email to alexandria.june@ihg.com, as its important to address your experience with us. Looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Thank you,

Simon Antoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Beautiful hotel. Location is wonderful! Free shuttle was a definite plus. Took us within walking distance of all our points of interest. The best feature of the hotel was their staff!! Customer service at its finest! From the moment we arrived, to the time of our departure every staff member was knowledgeable, professional and helpful. Room is modern and spotless. Would highly recommend this as a 5-Star location! Specifically, Ashley’s courteous and attentive service made our stay very memorable!! Michael (concierge) was so pleasant in providing us with the best way to reach our destinations. Overall if we could give it 10 stars we would!!!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nowwertalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonAntoine_GM, General Manager at InterContinental Washington D.C. - The Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear nowwertalking,

Thank you for your five star review. The revitalized water front destination of The Wharf is truly exciting with savory restaurants, shopping, and live music featuring local and mainstream artists. Our colleagues are dedicated to providing high levels of service that our guests expect from InterContinental. We truly appreciate your recommendation and during your next visit to Washington D.C., we look forward to seeing you.

Thank you,

Simon Antoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Room was awesome, it had a great view of the Potomac. Very clean, quiet and comfortable. Staff was very friendly and attentive. The food was delicious and didn't take long to get once the order was placed. There was a strong and reliable WiFi signal. Definitely a full service hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ericbE3995QN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonAntoine_GM, General Manager at InterContinental Washington D.C. - The Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear ericbE3995QN,

Thank you for your five star review. Our team is pleased to know you had such a memorable experience during your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,

Simon Antoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We spent five nights at this hotel and really enjoyed our visit. The hotel is new and they are trying very hard to get things right. With any new location, things don't always go perfectly but whenever we had the slightest problem, it was immediately addressed by the management, at times, beyond what was necessary.

The location is in a new and expanding location that is sure to become trendy with new restaurants, coffee shops, a beautiful pier (including one with swings and a bonfire), and another major hotel. Cabbies and Ubers were often confused how to find the hotel and we were sometimes dropped about a block away which was perfectly fine and no fault of the hotel. It is less than a mile to almost any major D.C. attraction and an easy 20 minute walk up 7th Avenue to the Washington Mall which we did several times.

The room was modern, roomy, and bright with a comfortable bed and a large shower and separate bathtub. One of the best things about the room was having both a plug and dual usb ports on both sides of the bed so you don't have to charge your phone across the room or across the bed.There is not much drawer space and guessing because most people come for short stays or business travel. There is only one small, bottom drawer under the tv due to the fridge, snack bar, and safe and then you only have your night table drawer. The tv is large, mounted and tilted which is really nice.

There were formal affairs there two nights in a row and the lobby was crowded at those times but not problematic. The hotel floors were actually so quiet, we never heard in our room a voice in the hallway or even a door close and the hotel was completely sold out!

The staff was friendly and helpful at the front desk, the housekeeping, the concierge, and the restaurant. Breakfast was included in our stay and we could tell immediately that they had a French pastry chef because the baked goods basket with croissants was as good as Paris...they were the highlight of the food experience along with the incredibly airy omelettes and pancakes. We were disappointed in the dinner menu options. Our favorite staff people included Kadisha at the front desk, Walter Renee in the restaurant, Mark Du Bois (the concierge), and the restaurant general manager who regularly checked in with us for feedback (she was terrific!).

The hotel is a solid 4 (need to work out the kinks) and we would definitely stay there again. (Recommend the early booking with breakfast deal, breakfast is worth it!).

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ceoceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonAntoine_GM, General Manager at InterContinental Washington D.C. - The Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear ceoceo,

Thank you for your review. We're delighted you enjoyed the design of the hotel, as well as the location. Our team has a genuine commitment to ensuring our guests have memorable experiences. As a revitalized area, we're working within the community and outside to engage local transportation agencies. This new waterfront destination is all about new experiences with exciting attractions and events for guests. We truly appreciate your recommendation of the hotel and look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,

Simon Antoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Not sure how old this hotel is but it seemed almost brand new. It is a little awkward to get to given the way 'The Wharf' is designed but it is yards away from several restaurants and overlooks the river. Staff were great. AT&T cell service absolutely sucks in this location (not the hotel's fault.) Additional services (breakfast etc) are VERY expensive and I found the restaurant menu pretty limited. This whole area is being redeveloped and in a year or so it will be a fantastic part of DC; right now it is a bit limited.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonAntoine_GM, General Manager at InterContinental Washington D.C. - The Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Adrian K,

Thank you for your review. The property opened October 12, 2017 and you are right the hotel is brand new. The Wharf area is a redeveloped area and is the new waterfront destination in Southwest D.C. Our focus is always ensuring our guests have a memorable and pleasant experience. It's a pleasure to know you enjoyed and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Thank you,

Simon Antoine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews