We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Jefferson Memorial
from USD 65.00
More Info
from USD 13.50
More Info
from USD 29.40
More Info
from USD 43.00
More Info
Reviews (6,049)
Filter reviews
6,049 results
Traveller rating
4,167
1,616
242
18
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,167
1,616
242
18
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tidal basin founding fathers cherry blossoms beautiful monument declaration of independence his words great man national mall beautiful at night potomac river white house my favorite worth the trip awe inspiring gift shop statue memorial
Filter
Updating list...
419 - 424 of 6,049 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Try and coincide your visit with cherry blossom festival time. Monument looks fab up close and from water if you hire a paddle boat! As impressive as Lincoln memorial though less busy. DC Circulator stops just behind it if you want to get there for $1 from the mall area or Washington monument

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank EmmaB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

It’s hard to write a meaningful review of these memorials seen over and over again, but I must say that no matter how many times I see it, I am always left in awe.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank MelissaH572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Thoroughly enjoyable to see, but a long cold walk around the Tidal Basin was worth it, but leaving was pure hell. Plan accordingly.

Date of experience: April 2018
3  Thank Zucc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We were here over Easter weekend, it was really crowded with tons of tour groups. We walked down from National Mall, it’s not a bad walk, just very crowded. The view from the bridge of the monument over the tidal basin is beautiful with the trees on the verge of blooming. We walked up the steps and there were a lot of people standing in front of the statue of Thomas Jefferson, so we went to the bench on the back side. It was nice to sit there to take the time to read the 4 quotes around the statue, Jefferson was a very intelligent man. The view from the top of the stairs to the Washington monument is amazing.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank dclmom34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

What is going on with our National monuments? Lincoln Memorial has spider webs in all the nooks and crannies and Jefferson’s memorial has got some crud growing on top of it that the smartest people in the world (talking to you DC elite) can’t figure out how to clean off without “damaging the integrity of the building material “ or something like that. C’mon people! This is our nation’s capital and those marble, limestone, granite, whatever things should be spic and span and clean and shining and reflecting so much sunlight that birds are falling from the sky because the sun has been magnified in such a way that crows are catching on fire mid flight. The path to Jefferson Memorial that I took was so poorly maintained that I had to duck UNDER branches, step OVER branches, walk around a large mud puddle, and walk through a shallow mud puddle just to see old Jeff. Crazy I say. The grass around the building is sparse in places, weedy in others, dirt is impacted around or washing away from the foundation, leaving things exposed that shouldn’t be exposed. Seriously it looks like it is falling into a state of disrepair. T.J. deserves better.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank JeffersonDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews