We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience White House
from USD 125.00
More Info
from USD 46.95
More Info
from USD 43.00
More Info
from USD 79.00
More Info
Reviews (7,532)
Filter reviews
7,532 results
Traveller rating
3,406
2,347
1,420
252
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,406
2,347
1,420
252
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviews secret service months in advance east room south lawn state dining room green room self guided tour china room iconic building take pictures answer questions pennsylvania avenue bucket list security check visitor center both sides across the street
Filter
Updating list...
561 - 566 of 7,532 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We didn't have scheduled tour,since they require many months in advance to be scheduled.If you go from I St it will be a nice view from the front for a better view.
We saw it from 2 sides, but from far.
Good experience !

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Vlaho B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We planned ahead, contacted our Congressman, and were approved to visit the White House on our trip to DC. We are so glad that we went. Regardless of your political leanings, this is the PEOPLE’S house, and it belongs to YOU. You should make the effort to come and see it if you can. There are some things that you cannot put into perspective until you have walked through these halls.

My kids really liked seeing the various paintings of past presidents (including the famous Shikler portrait of Kennedy). The Secret Service agents were very friendly and polite. They are a wealth of knowledge, just ask them your questions, they will likely know the answer!

TIPS:
* The rules on bags and cameras seemed to be erratically applied. On our group we had someone allowed in with a DSLR and a small lens, but I didn’t want to chance it, so I left mine in the car. Also, I had my wife check her purse at a local hotel as they are also supposed to be forbidden, SO BEWARE YOU MAY NOT BE ALLOWED IN IF THE SECRET SERVICE DECIDES TO BE MORE STRICT IN THEIR SECURITY PROTOCOLS

* You will go through 4 different security checks, including x-ray and a full body scan. Plan accordingly.

* The entire tour is self-paced, so you might want to brush up on your White House history ahead of time to maximize your experience (War of 1812, etc). You will only be visiting the East Wing, so that will limit how much you will need to research.

* There is a small gift shop where you can buy items unique to the White House, some are quite pricey. I bought some WH Cuff Links for $75 that were quite nice.

* There is a great chance for a selfie at the WH as you leave the building, so be on the lookout for that. You will exit the building on the opposite side from which you enter, just to help you get your bearings.

Date of experience: March 2018
6  Thank BondVagaBond007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

It was exciting idea to go to White House - president’s house and all. First, you have to request from your representative to get you a tour for the White House. They ask for your SSS and DOB. They release tour dates within 3 weeks or your arrival.
To get to the tour, you need to line up outside so dress appropriately. Then you go to a lot of security screenings to get inside. It’s a self guided tour of the east side. The house is pretty and spacious but I think the US Capitol has better paintings and structure. I was thinking it’ll be grand and impressive but I’ve seen Hearst Castle and houses in Galveston which are more grand and impressive. There are better information and displays in the White House Visitor Center.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 466jenniferd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We went to the 2018 Easter Egg Roll on the South lawn. It was a great experience for everyone. The weather wasn't the greatest, damp and chilly, but it didn't put a damper on the happy faces of the kids. Things to do were the traditional egg roll, bowling, egg dying, book reading and characters walking around for photo ops. You can do everything in about 2 hours easy.

If come about an hour into your entrance time frame you won't have to wait long to get in.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Eastcoast1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Was very nice to be able to walk around the fenced area and take it all in. Thought the FDR house was a more impressive building from out side. Nice area to walk. If you want tour contact your congressman long before so you as a taxpayer may get to go in to the people’s house, cause it’s the only way in!, (same with capital and printing and engraving). Typical Washington bureaucracy, oh it’s the “people’s house” all around but don’t let you in! All lip service, an no substance! Sorry for rant but don’t know if be back, would have been nice to see.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank ejcen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews