We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful flowers”

National Cherry Blossom Festival
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 54.00*
and up
Half Day DC Cherry Blossom Tour
Ranked #47 of 437 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: While cherry blossom festivals are held in many US cities throughout the springtime, the DC National Cherry Blossom Festival is by far the grandest. Symbolic of international friendship, the 1,700 cherry blossom trees that line the Tidal Basin were a gift from Japan to the United States. In March or April (forecasts are generally released in early March), these trees burst into bloom in delicate pinks and whites. When they do, a festival is held for almost two weeks to celebrate, with daily events that highlight traditional and contemporary Japanese arts and culture. Fun and engaging for people of all ages, most events are free and open to the public. They include the Pink Tie fundraising party, family day at the National Building Museum, an opening concert, a kite festival, fireworks, a parade, drum and dance workshops, cosplay day, and much more.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We lucked out that the blossoms were in bloom at the time of our planned spring break trip. It was a little disappointing to see litter around the mall area. Since the dates fluctuate due to the weather, for those of us that are flying in from across the country, I would time your trip so that hopefully you can see the blossoms but realize that it may change and you may not see them.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank JWWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"peak bloom"
in 11 reviews
"full bloom"
in 11 reviews
"tidal basin"
in 37 reviews
"kite festival"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful trees"
in 5 reviews
"bucket list item"
in 3 reviews
"pink flowers"
in 2 reviews
"porta potties"
in 2 reviews
"visit dc"
in 3 reviews
"jefferson memorial"
in 5 reviews
"tour buses"
in 2 reviews
"sunny day"
in 2 reviews
"take photos"
in 2 reviews
"dc area"
in 2 reviews
"parade"
in 8 reviews
"metro"
in 12 reviews
"predictions"
in 2 reviews
Filter

24 - 28 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

We tired twice in previous years. Once too soon and once too late to catch the blooms. This year we caught it just right on April 1st! Oh! They were so beautiful and worth the drive from PA to D.C. It was very busy. Lots of foot traffic and car traffic. I suspect less busy on a weekday with the people walking to see the blooms.
Even though we didn't go on the actual Festival day, we enjoy seeing these special Cherry Trees.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank dextersadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Great narrative about how President Taft’s wife, other US activists, and Japanese business leaders, came together resulting in Japan gifting the first 3,000 trees to US. These are on display in Tidal Basin area. Pink now but lily white at peak (this year about April 8th). Other species bloom later but all are in DC area.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Serviceprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

There were tourists climbing on trees, picking daffodils and we watched one gal RIP a branch off and damage a tree. We went to the Rangers and two were watching and did NOTHING!!

I'll bet if I went and climbed a Shinto Shrine what kind of trouble would I get into? What if I climbed the Coliseum what would happen?

Lack of respect and dignity by the visitors and LOCALs were overwhelming.

The dog's pooping and their owners NOT PICKING UP after them! UGH, it was gross. Parents were pulling their kids away from the piles. Truly disgusting!

We cut short our daytrip. It was truly depressing how our Nation's Capital was being dirtied and abused. It looked like a stadium after a Ravens game! GROSS!!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank atasteofcreole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Was just in DC 3/31. The flowers are not in full bloom yet. If you check their website they did move the dates to April. It was still beautiful to see all the trees though. It was very crowded! Parking is hard (already hard to park in DC even without the festival). And traffic is really heavy. Mostly caused by all the people walking and crossing the streets. There are long lines in popular eateries. Except for the expensive one! So I’d say go there next week, take a tour around DC and bring your own food and do a picnic in the park!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank mpia0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Cherry Blossom Festival also viewed

 

Been to National Cherry Blossom Festival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos