We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 31
Booking.com
View Deal
Book now, pay at stay
USD 42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Villa La Roca(Holguin)
Book now, pay at stay
USD 42
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Villa Flori(Holguin)
Free cancellation until 27/07
USD 47
Booking.com
View Deal
USD 54
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 47
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Pernik(Holguin)
USD 53
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 28/07
USD 107
USD 100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (5,723)
Filter reviews
5,723 results
Traveller rating
4,112
1,081
375
109
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,112
1,081
375
109
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal serviceel patiooutdoor showershow tablethe mediterranean restaurantjunior suitebeach restaurantjean marcbutler servicers beachrs restauranta la carte restaurantsroyal sectionmain beachlobby barprivate beachhour room service
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 5,723 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Just returned from a 2 week trip to this Hotel, we stayed in a Royal Service Cabana located below the RS main area.
The Cabana was kept immaculate by Gladys the house keeper and the turn down service changed our beach towels and towels etc of an evening. We was the only occupied Cabana most of the time, during our stay, so it felt as though we had our own Gardener as well. The mini bar and our choice of spirits and iced champagne was keep healthy supplied by David and the Butlers with an ice bucket at our requested time. Our Butlers were always just a call away or in the RS foyer to assist us and even pre-empted our needs. All of the bar and wait staff were happy and a joy to be around. The short walk to the beach from our accommodation was a pleasure and the RS beach, bar and food service was very professional and we was never left wanting by the attentive staff. The beach and sea was spotless so we hardly ventured up the top to the use the RS pool but enjoyed the time we did spend there. The sea is very clear for Snorkelling and Cat day trips actually anchor off the reef opposite the resort spa.
During the day it was an easy stroll into the main areas through the hotel grounds and botanical garden, watching the various birds, hummingbirds, lizards, curly tailed lizards, a cute little tree dwelling creature, butterflies and the flora was a ‘blooming’ bonus that we didn’t expect. The grounds contain a lot of artwork, even sculptured hand rails.
Because we choose to be in a more secluded area, when we wanted to get to anywhere else within the Hotels we used the Buggies, the drivers are kind / such a laugh and made part of our holiday enjoyment.
We took full advantage of the RS package and were completely spoilt by the staff and we enjoyed it so much that time started to speed by too fast, so we mainly used the RS restaurant, RS beach service and the room service on our balcony, just to savoir every minute.
We used the facilities of the main part of the hotel, including the swim up bar, and would not hesitate to book a holiday there in the future.
We found that we was treated just a well by the staff when we was not in the RS section, but we are friendly and do interact.
There was no problem at the main Buffet with food cooked to order or the restaurants that we visited and we enjoyed them all, the Japanese show table was very entertaining and a must if given the chance. As with all Cuba, if you want your own snacks take your own, but the main foyer shop sells an array of alternatives.
This hotel is ideally located to visit the local market and swimming with Dolphins with ease.
The Cabana was advertised as a junior suite with Ocean view by Thomas Cook and you had to pay extra for the Sea view. The view of the sea was through trees and you could hear the sea which we found hilarious with the staff who knew.
The Cabana we stayed in was so good and secluded with a tree lined cliff behind and it was just a minute walk to the RS beach so we didn’t want to highlight the lack of view with the Hotel (we will contact TC).

Room Tip: Cabana below the cliff for the beach
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DfDLaindonWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear DfDLaindonWest,
Your review is a real treasure of information and we are sincerely grateful to you for sharing all the wonderful impressions of your stay at our resort with other travelers.
We are particularly impressed by the details you offer about the service provided by our employees, the surroundings and what the nature has granted our resort with, your enjoyment of the two sections of the hotel and their facilities as well as the restaurants and your satisfaction of the food served.
We thank you for your very nice comments that will certainly make a difference for many future guests who gather the most informative elements possible before travelling.
It would be a real privilege for us to know that you will definitely consider coming back to visit us in a near future.
With our kindest regards,
Jean-Marc Rousseau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Believe the 5 star reviews. The fact that people like us, go back year after year speaks volumes on the quality of service provided by the hard working staff of this hotel. Their aim throughout your stay is to make it as enjoyable as they can. When you consider that not only do they have to endure the aftermath each year of horrendous hurricanes, that affect the locals way of living, let alone the physical impact it must also have on the hotel. Each year upon our return the enthusiasm of the staff and the quality remains. Yes we notice changes, but changes are good in that they reflect the suggestions of visitors’ recommendations. An example being the pool restaurant being open 24 hrs. Late arrivals can easily and happily be accommodated by the ever obliging teams of staff offering late refreshments to start your holiday off on a positive. Having said that, it does sadden me that a few customers do sometimes tend to forget the restrictions of the trade embargos placed on this beautiful country and do not adjust their expectations to meet such. To complain that there is no champagne for breakfast does make me smile a little. I find a please and thank you wherever you go in the world is always appreciated even though I have witnessed people tending to forget. We all like to receive respect. Take a little time out of your holiday to get to know the staff and it will make your stay ever more enjoyable as they always have a happy smile and a cheerful word, even more so if you try a please and thank you in espan~ol. Arrive as guests and leave as friends.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank Zebbington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Zebbington,
Your review is a true jewel for us and we cherish every single word that you have written as we are sincerely grateful for your beautiful comments and for showing such a high level of appreciation to our employees and the way they make every effort to please all our guests with a genuine attitude of friendliness and care.
Thank you for your wonderful notes and for being so loyal to our resort and part of our Paradisus family.
We can only wish to continue to host you for many more years to come and to offer you some very special moments for your holiday.
With our warmest regards,
Jean-Marc Rousseau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This year my wife and I returned to this resort to enjoy the beautiful natural setting of the Paradisus Rio de Oro. It has a long beach surrounded by rock formations, many palm trees, and various local trees, great set of connected pools with a bar in the middle of the pool, beautiful open reception hall and a huge bar with a great selection of beverages as well as many tables and sofas to sit and enjoy the breeze that is present most of the time.The rooms are very spacious and scattered all over the property in groups of two storey buildings surrounded by well-manicured lawns and trees. The rooms are very clean and many of the bathrooms have been updated.
It is an adults-only all-inclusive resort and the food is excellent at the main restaurant buffet which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. In addition, you can also reserve four dinners at their speciality restaurants. We truly enjoyed the weather during the week that we stayed there; with temperatures between 26 to 30 centigrades during the day. My wife has been there twice before and it was my second time. The hotel invited us to special appreciation dinner the night before departure for returning guests and it was great to see that some couples have been at this resorts nine times already.The entertainment was also great. Highly recommended, I am sure that you will enjoy as much as we did.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid the stairs you can request a ground floor unit
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank Vincent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Vincent B,
It is with great pleasure that we learn that you have been coming back to visit us again and we are truly thankful for your loyalty to our resort.
We sincerely value your beautiful comments about the layout of our hotel, the surroundings, the quality of the food you have appreciated as well as the entertainment.
You are now part of our Paradisus family and we truly look forward to continuing to welcome you and to host you for many years to come.
With our kindest regards,
Jean-Marc Rousseau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We came as a couple with a single friend occupancy as well. Upon arrival we requested to upgrade to Royal Service. Our request could not be accommodated until the next day. It was 100% worth it! Although it took a few days to actually start receiving the royal service we paid for, the room upgrade was mind blowing. Best rooms in the Caribbean hands down. After we brought a few issues to the Royal service manager Lina all of our issues were corrected. The spa is absolutely relaxing and one of the best we have been to service wise even tho it’s does need a bit of updating. For the most part the staff is amazing and dedicated. But like most trips there are a few that will upset. Taking a walk down to the most beautiful beach in Cuba will make the whole trip worth it. I can’t express how scrumptious the food is. Best food we have ever had down south and people are shocked when we tell them Cuba. And we say that is because Paradisus Rio de Oro knows how to do it right! One major downfall being that many people come back to this resort as return guest. That does speak volumes of the resort but the guest that come back seem to see themselves as privileged. I had one of the most heart thumping moments when some return guest told us we couldn’t sit in a certain spot around 1pm due to the fact that was their normal shaded spot. After trying to reason with them I was told to “ leave before things get messy” and I was only trying to understand their request and why they were so aggressive about it. The staff and management saw the whole thing and addressed the situation professionally. Now for a shout out to Carlos at concierge: what a gentleman and kind person. That you Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort and Spa for chalking this trip up to the best one yet!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank CPRoyHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear CPRoyHill,
We are very grateful to you for your kind comments and for taking the time to share with other travelers.your views of what your experience at our resort was.
It is very satisfying for us to learn how much you have appreciated the services offered and the level of quality of food we serve, trying to please as many people as possible, within the certain limitations we encounter from time to time on the island.
Your notes about our employees are sincerely welcome and we can only look forward to having the great privilege of welcoming you back soon again to our beautiful piece of heaven.
With our kindest regards,
Jean-Marc Rousseau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Nice resort in a wonderful beach. Swimming pool and overall facilities are great with very tasty food and a great range of options in terms of restaurants.
Rooms are ok but maybe need to be refurbished as they look a bit old. It seems odd to me that they do not provide free wifi in a 5 star hotel - not a particular issue just here but everywhere in Cuba. Also, toiletries are not provided every day.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
4  Thank u30262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear u30262,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your impressions about your recent stay at our resort.
We are grateful for your comments and are also taking good note of your remarks, in order to make some improvements where possible.
it will be a pleasure to host you again whenever you decide to visit our beautiful island in the future.
Kindest regards,
Jean-Marc Rousseau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews