We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,803)
Filter reviews
5,803 results
Traveller rating
4,172
1,093
380
111
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,172
1,093
380
111
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal serviceel patiooutdoor showershow tablejunior suitethe mediterranean restaurantbeach restaurantjean marcbutler servicers beachrs restauranta la carte restaurantsroyal sectionmain beachprivate beachlobby barhour room service
Filter
Updating list...
381 - 386 of 5,803 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2017

just returned from cuba, we stayed in a junior suite, the room was big, clean and comfy, the air con worked well, on arrival we were greeted by wonderful staff and a glass of bubbly, check in was swift .
once unpacked we headed out to explore the grounds, this place is set amongst beautiful grounds , it is spotless.
we ate in the buffet restaurant the first evening ,there is plenty of choice , we enjoyed the prawns and crab claws...
the following morning we booked our al a carte restaurants, our favourite was the japanese book the show table its an experience... el patio is also good, our biggest disappointment was the mediterean 4 course meal in and out within 45 mins... avoid this place if I'm honest there was no atmosphere the food was terrible, we both opted for the lobster medallions , they were terrible. the next day day this restaurant was the talk of the pool and it was not positive!
for lunch we preferred the food at the pool the pizza was a hit with my husband , however on friday there was a hog roast down at the beach bar... this was incredible the pig was carved and served with salad , rice and veg .. don't miss it its fantastic... and get your coconut with rum to wash it down.
the beach is lovely although its quite rocky to get out to sea , so take sea shoes. you will always get a sun lounger there is plenty , the beach and pool was spotless .
this resort is fantastic l have to thank Karilyn our wonderful maid , our room was spotless and anything we needed she was on hand to help , and alien he comes around the bars in the evening with premium rums and cigars with the most loveliest smile, all the staff at this resort really welcome you , its like 1 huge family . the entertainment really surprised us , the singers were incredible , the dancers were good to watch and watch out for the moving /dancing statues....
you can change your own money at the hotel so don't bother at the airport as we heard u can get ripped off!
a tip for returning to the airport is very basic so opt for the vip lounge it will cost 30 cuc each, don't expect luxury but its air conditioned with comfy chairs... they then escort u down to the check in for boarding and skip the long que .
I've read a few comments on TA... and don't forget you are visiting cuba so if u are wanting ultimate luxury visit Dubai! but if u want real , then this place is full of history , engage with the locals see how they travel in there fantastic vintage cars, take a horse and cart ride to the local market, visit the beach at guadalvaca and start drinking rum , we loved this place and from the bottom of our hearts the staff were truly an inspiration to the hotel ... we will return thank you

Room Tip: book the japanese restaurant ( show table) get a horse and cart ride
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Sarah H,
Thank you so much for your very nice review and for bringing so many details about your stay to the attention of other readers of this important site.
We appreciate your feedback on the food, the beach, the pool and the entertainment as well as your recognition made to our employees who you consider such an inspiration to the hotel.
It will be a true honor for us to welcome you back whenever you decide to return to visit us for another wonderful holiday.
With our kindest regards,
Jean-Marc Rousseau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

We have become regular guests at this resort, now having traveled there six-seven times. Every year we recognize more and more guests, as the Royal Service area has such a loyal clientele. This review is written more for their benefit, but I hope helps answer specific questions new guests may ask.
We arrived at the resort on a special Royal Service coach (the Sunwing transfer) with just eight passengers. When we left we went by a taxi arranged by Sunwing, as we were the only ones from Royal Service on the returning flight. Great way to start/end the trip!
The September hurricane resulted in very little damage to the resort. Some of the trees are a little bare, but that is all. All restaurants are open. The staff agrees that there seem to be more mosquitoes than usual, but I really didn't notice (and they were fogging for them nightly). The wedding gazebo that hung over the edge of the ocean is GONE, but I'm not really sure if that was a result of the hurricane or not. I hope it is rebuilt, as a private dinner there is a really beautiful, romantic setting.
There was entertainment in the Royal Service lobby some nights and very appreciated. We missed our dinner reservation because we were enjoying ourselves so much! The band in the main resort stage was excellent as well.
The Royal Service area is always well maintained - they were installing new sidewalk lamps the week we were there. The gardens are well maintained. They have removed the cement railing between the pool area and the lounge area of the lobby (near the washrooms), which has really opened that part of the lobby up and made the infinity pool view even nicer to enjoy. The waterfall from the pool to behind the lower oceanview suites only ran once during the week, however.
We were offered, upon arrival, the option to upgrade to the oceanview suites for a about $240 dollars CDN (using a supplied coupon) for four days of our stay. We don't spend a lot of time in the room so we passed, but were grateful for the option. The only difference between the Royal Service suites and the premium suites is the oceanview option. I suggest you request an upper floor of the oceanview suites, in the upper area of the resort near the lobby, if you are booking your vacation and want the best views available - the upgrade option may not be available when you arrive, since the Royal Service is very popular. The regular rooms are terrific anyways - outdoor shower and indoor jacuzzi tub, big room with king bed (and great AC), and always a large balcony. No room issues at all, all week.
We enjoy the spa at the resort and spent two days there. The staff are terrific. This spa allows you to stay all day - even leave for lunch and return, or order room service if you are with Royal Service. There is a private beach with some reefs to explore right there as well as a salt water pool and the jacuzzi tubs. Massages are given in small cabins right at the edge of the ocean. Unfortunately, the steam room was not working, but the sauna etc. were. I would like to see the spa area brought back to its setup from several years ago when both sides were used as separate mens/womens areas - I'm always on edge that I'm going to run into someone changing as it is set up now on one side only. Having two functioning steam rooms might also allow at least one of them to be working all the time - can you tell I miss the steam room?
Best restaurant? Hard to judge, but we always enjoy having a drink in the lobby of the Mediteranean restaurant and enjoying the atmosphere, and getting a show table at the Japanese restaurant is a great way to meet people (best if you can get a reservation near the start of your trip!) The best meal we had was the roast suckling pig at the International. I would like to see the return of the lobster dinner at the Henachos restaurant - there are lobsters being cooked many days at lunch at the beach restaurant, so why not? We enjoyed the weekly managers dinner (be sure to ask about it if you are a returning guest - there are so many repeat guests there is not always room!) Royal service can get reservations at all the a la carte restaurants, but they are not all open every day - best to have a seat with your butler and book them all up front, first day.
Be sure to visit the little cigar store behind the Mediteranean restaurant during the day to get one or two cigars and really enjoy the atmosphere and experience of smoking a Cuban off the main lobby in the afternoon or after dinner.
We met many nice people for the first time this trip, renewed friendships with some other terrific guests, and were very happy to meet up with a very happy and content staff that have been there for many years - looking forward to our return next year!

Room Tip: Near the lobby, and request an upper floor if you don't have mobility issues (all stairs)
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear joecontrol,
Your review and description at length of all the good things that you have to say about your stay at our resort, is a true gem and we sincerely appreciate your support in promoting what you consider to be now your home away from home during the time of your vacation.
We feel truly honored by all the beautiful details that you are granting us with and would like to thank you for mentioning so many different parts of what makes our resort a special place for so many returning guests.
Yes the wedding gazebo disappeared during the path of the hurricane but it will soon be rebuilt to its original image.
Thank you for your description of your room, of the pool and beach areas, of what you enjoy so much at our restaurants, of the entertainment offered, and tips for new guests who would like to get as much information as possible.
We love having you as part of our Paradisus family and sincerely look forward to welcoming you again next year.
With our warmest regards,
Jean-Marc Rousseau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

Just returned and we had the most wonderful holiday ever. We had royal service but all of the resort is beautiful. Highly recommend upgrading to royal service, the attentive staff are all superb.
The beach bar staff serve you drinks on the beach and are so kind, we even had our lunch delivered one day there and they got us "whatever we fancied"!! ( steak and chips and a prawn sandwich and chips!).
We used the one hour long Wi-Fi cards (they give you as many as you need) to i-call home in our rooms every day, so easy and had good connection. Buggy cars can transport you around the resort, handy for when when it rained, they just pick you up wherever you are. And the plants! Just incredible, stunning cacti and wonderful wildlife to see. The birds and butterflies are a wonder.
Thankyou to all the staff, one of the best holidays we ever had.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 492nicd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear 492nicd,
We are grateful to you for taking the time to write a review on this site, as a result of your recent stay at our resort.
It is always a pleasure for us to see that we could meet your expectations and that you enjoyed every minute of your visit at Paradisus Rio de Oro.
We would love to know that you will soon be considering another holiday at our hotel and sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to our little piece of paradise.
With our kindest regards,
Jean-Marc Rousseau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

This place is amazing staff cannot do enough for you, always smiling, and friendly, the rooms are spacious which made going back to your room a joy.
Pool is fantastic.
The choice of restaurants makes eating a adventure, we only managed to try 3 and loved them.
We will most certainly be back

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Michelle R,
We thank you for your kindness in writing a review and for letting other readers know what your opinions about our resort are and how much you enjoyed your stay.
It will be a real honor for us to welcome you back when you decide to return to visit us.
With our kindest regards,
Jean-Marc Rousseau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Stayed in Oct 2017, the room was very good, clean, large, TV, good sized shower etc. The rest of the resort was disappointing, especially the buffet food, It was sparse, the choice was very limited, it was cheap and lacking in any display style. Basic 2* . One main lobby bar, seemed understaffed and the choice of alcohol was limited. I think this hotel chain must be economising. Would not consider it a 5* as it was advertised. We decided to move hotels.

Stayed: October 2017
5  Thank lilyk_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear ilyk_7,
Thank you for posting a review on this site.
It is very heartbreaking for us to read that the only thing you found not to be disappointing about our resort was your room, when we offer attractive surroundings, a variety of activities and entertainment and many more occupations for our clients, as well as great people offering the most friendly and professional service.
We pride ourselves to offer one of the best cooking available in resorts on the entire island and the many positive reviews of our guests tend to confirm it. Please accept our apologies if we could not live up to your high expectations in terms of food and drinks, as we definitely not try to make some saving on our guests but are sometimes exposed to some shortage of supplies, which we truly regret.
We can only hope that your move of hotel couldreflect your wishes.
Kind regards,
Jean-Marc Rousseau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews