We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Waivino Wine Tours tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Waiheke Island
from USD 99.72
More Info
from USD 99.03
More Info
from USD 81.84
More Info
from USD 123.79
More Info
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
62
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tour went the extra mile look no further arriving late local guide went above and beyond fun experience passage rock personalized tour delicious lunch awesome tour onetangi beach great guide food pairings visiting waiheke peacock sky small group
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Our Air BnB host highly recommended grants waivino tours. Grant picked us up from our accomodation which was great. Grant was an amazing tour guide who had so much knowledge about waiheke and it was obvious he loved his job! He picked great wineries to show us, the last winery peacock sky was awesome with the food pairings with wine tastings. He also took us to different areas/wineries further out on the island which a lot of tours don’t do. Highly recommend the tour for anyone wanting a fun experience on waiheke.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank coova582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant K, Owner at Waivino Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Nice, thanks guys. It was truly a pleasure. You are doing a great job for the country and I really appreciate your kindness. Cheers, Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

An excellent day from start to finish, the wineries, commentry and scenery was amazing. We even had time to stop at several view points for photos and some history of the island! The wineries and our host took the time to explain everything and went out of their way to make the day amazing! Thank you!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Seaside549811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant K, Owner at Waivino Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you very much for your beautiful review. Waiheke Island is beautiful in a different way every day. I have been living here full time for over 7 years and I still love it. All I need is to spend one day in the city (the Matrix) to really appreciate the blessing I experience when on this amazing island. There are some great spots for stunning photos, especially for enthusiasts with an actual camera. The history of the island goes back 155 million years so there is a lot to draw from. All the very best for the rest of the year and beyond. Hope to see you again soon. Cheers, Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We had a great day!! I feel it’s important to start this way as we by no means had a terrible experience.

The vinyards were fantastic and the wine and lunch fabulous...but (and here comes the inevitable but). The day took on a frenetic energy, from the minute we were collected to the moment we were deposited back at our accommodation.

Screeching to a halt when collecting guests, (no matter the reason for the lateness )and ignoring introductions, then hurtling across the island to the next stop wasn’t the greatest start.

Unfortunately the sentiment was carried by other guests, with one guest being overheard suggesting that we had been rushed and asking to please slow down.

Perhaps one less stop if restricted to the allocated time, or perhaps extending the length of the tour would help reduce the rush?

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Claire_Beyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant K, Owner at Waivino Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Thank you so much. Yes perhaps the busiest day of the season. We didn't assign enough time to pick you up at your accommodation on the far side of the island before the tour. We had to move efficiently but safely and once we had successfully picked up the rest of the guests at the ferry terminal, all was as it should have been time wise as per the rest of the group's excellent review. Waivino Tours' tours are relaxed and spontaneous and we go out of our way to make sure our guests have a lovely time as you can see from 99% of our reviews. Thanks, Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

It is hard to imagine how a Waiheke tour could be better really. Grant is a knowledgeable and passionate guide and it is always so good to be shown around by a resident who really knows and cares about the place. He is proud of the fact that his tours go to the eastern part of the island as well - something that the other tours don’t do. I feel I have a better idea of the island as a result. The route and choice of wineries were great and I must make comment about the standard of the wine and the wine commentary at each of the wineries. I particularly enjoyed the tiny food and wine pairing idea at the last one where we also had a delicious lunch. It really was a magnificent day and a special thanks for taking me on at the last minute! Waivino tours - highly recommended. Look no further.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank FionaWPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant K, Owner at Waivino Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Hi Fiona. So often things fall into place beautifully out here. I am so glad that you got on the tour. I am so happy to receive this review from you. It means a great deal. You are very kind. All the best with your life out there on the edge of the earth. I hope to get over there sometime. Cheers, Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

Had a fantastic day out on Waiheke Island on the Waivino winery tour with Grant. It was like having a good friend take you around. The wineries were beautiful and well worth the trip out. Grant was considerate of what we wanted to do, informative and helpful.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Julie_S_Ahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant K, Owner at Waivino Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Oh wow, thank you so much Julie. It was truly a pleasure. Hope to see you again. Cheers, Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews