We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Staff and Great View”
Review of The Local

The Local
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

I'll start off with this... I had the best burger I have ever had here. It also has the best view I have ever had eating a burger!

The Local is situated on Waiheke Islands main town of Oneroa. If you are on a tour of the island this is the place to stop and grab some lunch or dinner before heading back.

It does not have a main entrance on the high street, you have to go down some steps next to Four Square.We went down as a gamble, and boy did it pay off. It also has stunning views.

The pricing I thought was very reasonable. I have attached a picture of the full menu). A cheeseburger with amazing meat and slot of cheese in a Waiheke island baked roll was $12, and a bag of chips (the fed two people) was $4. Yes it's a premium burger, but it's 100% worth it.

We surveyed the menus up and down the main string of resteraunts and this was Tge Local was the cheapest by a fair bit. For example, the Italian across the roads margarita pizza was $25ish.

In terms of drinks they served both fizzy drinks and alcohol. We went for a New Zealand Phoenix Cola and a lemonade. Delicious!

The staff were very friendly and also shared their knowledge on the other islands that the resteraunt looked out at.

Overall, amazing burger, great value, breathtaking views, and lovely staff.

I would recommend going back up the stairs and take a left the cross the road for an ice cream from Island Gelatos Company.

Thank himynameisiain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thel0calwaiheke2016, Guest Relations Manager at The Local, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Hi himynameisiain, thank you so much for your amazing feedback :)

We are glad you loved the views and the burger! And thanks for the kind comments about our staff. We do our best to keep our customers happy.

Take care, and hopefully see you again soon,

The Team @ The Local :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2016

We stopped in for fish chips and a burger, as it looked like a lovely spot. However, the staff were unbelievably rude.
The food was average and because of the lack of customer service, we will never eat here again

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fayzell12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thel0calwaiheke2016, Guest Relations Manager at The Local, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Hi Fayzell12, we are sorry you felt like you had a bad experience at our establishment. We do our best to please our customers, but obviously we missed the mark with you.

Take care and thanks for giving us a try. If you decide to come back, hopefully we can accommodate your needs better,

Thanks,

The Team @ The Local :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Stopped to pick up fish and chips for dinner and found we could sit and take in the view along with a beer to wash down our takeaways wrapped in newsprint paper. Great way to enjoy an otherwise casual meal. A bit pricy for a takeaway meal as the charge the same to eat in or take away. $42 for 2 beers, 2 pieces fish (husband had the Hoki as he thought the snapper was too expensive) plus chips.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thel0calwaiheke2016, Guest Relations Manager at The Local, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Hi Robyn D, thanks for posting a review :)

We always appreciate hearing feedback from our customers which can help us better our service for future patrons.

Thanks for visiting The Local. We hope to see you back sometime soon!

The Team @ The Local :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Morgan at the local is so fantastic, he keeps us coming back just to hang out with him! He is a true asset to this place, as a bonus the food is fantastic too!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vanessaaC3036EG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thel0calwaiheke2016, Guest Relations Manager at The Local, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Yes! We love our Morgan!

Thanks so much for posting such positive feedback. We are so lucky to have customers like you! We look forward to seeing you again!

The Team @ The Local :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Went here with friends and was served by Morgan - his service was incredible even offering me his jacket when we sat outside as it was windy.

On top of this, the fish and chips were some of the best I've ever had! Definitely recommend!!

Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thel0calwaiheke2016, Guest Relations Manager at The Local, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Wow! Best fish and chips you've every had...now that's saying something!!!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your positive experience at The Local!

We look forward to having you back next time!

The Team @ The Local :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Local also viewed

 
Waiheke Island, Auckland
Waiheke Island, Auckland
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland
Oneroa, Waiheke Island
 

Been to The Local? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing