We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding hospitality!”
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Lovely comfortable accomodation, well appointed and right in the heart of Picton. Couldn't ask for better.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

820 - 824 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

We were staying in Picton for just 1 night on our way to a tour of the South Island. We did a quick Google and found the Gateway Motel which was reasonably priced and seemed quite close to where the boat docked so we booked online.

Chris who is the new owner (or was back in Feb when we visited) was really helpful over emails and gave us his number and said to give him a call when he arrived and he'd pick us up. Fantastic!

This was even more important as when we arrived there was torrential rain and no taxis. We gave him a call and he was there within 5 mins and at no charge.

We got free wifi which was a little slow but he was actually finishing the renovation when we were there.

The rooms were sizeable and a lot better value for money than some places we'd stayed on the north island.

We got to Picton late and left early but this was a perfect place to get your head down for the night. Oh and he also gave us a lift to the train the next morning. It's a 5 min walk but we'd packed some quite heavy bags so he did us a favour on that front!

Room Tip: We slept downstairs and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank na5e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

very nice place right in the centre of picton, close to everything.hoasts are very nice people and go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. the rooms are value for money.will definately use again. thanks again for everything, cheers will.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank will937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Very warm welcome from the owner and his daughter during our arrival. At beginning, we had the problem with the reservation and the owner has been very patient to explain to us, he gave us a special promotional price to accommodate 7 of us afterwards. Rooms are equipped with a mini kitchenette, and many things are new, clean and organized. We had a very nice stay there, though just for a night, the owner has been very friendly to us. He even brought us to try the best fish and chips in town. We will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wennitiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Warm welcome and a stunning refurbished room. What a change from the old Americano ! Chris and Kerri went out of there way to make you feel at home and even "Molly" the dog gave a friendly welcome bark. The Gateway Motel was so central to cafes and the ferry to Wellington. I look forward to going and staying again.

Room Tip: all good rooms I think, mind you I like a king size bed and room one has a super king bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernieNapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.2 km away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
256 reviews
3.7 km away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 km away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#13 of 16 in Picton
93 reviews
0.2 km away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.3 km away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#2 of 16 in Picton
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Address: 32 High Street | Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Picton
Price Range: $82 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Gateway Motel and our Off-site Luxury Waterfront Apartments are nestled in the heart of Picton. Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travelers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. Our accommodation will provide you with the quality, low cost solution you need to stay in Picton! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing