We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place for rest day on Queen Charlotte Track.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Portage Resort Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for rest day on Queen Charlotte Track.”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Like many we arrived after the longest part of the Queen Charlotte Track walk and had a rest day staying two nights. A swim in the pool and a drink on our private balcony overlooking the Sound were very welcome. Our balcony room (No.23) was bright and fresh with probably one of the best views of the Sound. We had two breakfasts and dinners and one lunch during our stay. All were good and the service prompt and friendly (Europeans on working holidays). The atmosphere on the restaurant/snack bar balcony was very special. We also took packed lunches with us for the final leg of our walk (we ordered some special things but got the standard roll with ham, salad and lots of mayonnaise - not so good). We went kayaking on our rest day which was well worth while, both for the exercise and scenery (close up of the shore line/marine life plus a muscle farm). Highly recommended.
Thank you.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room and not one with a courtyard or at round level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    112
    71
    61
    33
See reviews for
49
166
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Our family wedding was in December at Portage - what a wonderful occasion it was! We cannot speak highly enough of Kaye and the staff - they were endlessly helpful and courteous and helped make the day the success it was. And the food was superb! Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneWayte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We arrived at The Portage after a long day's walk on The Queen Charlotte Track. The hotel was very welcoming with jugs of chilled water at the ready for tired walkers as they arrived. Reception was friendly and efficient. Our room was a duplex and had 2 sun decks giving amazing views over The Sound. It was more than spacious enough for 3 adults. The bathroom was immaculate. The main hotel provided stunning views from the bar and restaurant. Our meal was good quality and the service friendly. The hotel will minibus walkers up to the Queen Charlotte Track in the morning - which is useful - because it is a long walk to the end of the track and the water taxi back to Picton.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elljay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
246 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We were very disappointed with this hotel They charge disproportionate prices for mediocrity. If you are doing the Queen Charlotte walk then this is the major option for a nights stay.

The room was sparse and fairly clean and definitely not value for money. We paid around $220 for one night for 2 rooms with a bathroom in the backpackers lodge. The walls are thin and the place is noisy. The cooking facilities are basic and we found them not to be “too clean”

The "shop" closes at 5 pm sharp so if you miss this then you have no choice but to use the restaurant. Dinner was awful - the food unappetising and helpings small. We ordered a cheese platter and the cheese had mould on it. The staff are helpful and pleasant. Breakfast is proficient if you take the continental buffet.

They offered to drive us to the start of the walk. This never happened the bus had a flat tyre and the hotel did not have the correct equipment to change it. A mediocre ending to a mediocre stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EricJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Picton hotels

Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2012

My family and i stayed two nights at Portage resort. It was clean, very spacious, Friendly staff (except for one disgruntled bar waiter). All and all a great safe , children friendly relaxing place to stay.
4 star

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
7.8 km away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
4.6 km away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
10.4 km away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
9.8 km away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
12.4 km away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portage Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portage Resort Hotel

Property: The Portage Resort Hotel
Address: 2923 Kenepuru Road | Picton, Picton, New Zealand (Formerly Peppers Portage)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Picton
#7 Luxury Hotel in Picton
Price range (per night): $138 - $207
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portage Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Base yourself at THE PORTAGE and experience the best Marlborough has to offer. We are an ideal 2 or 3 night stay so that you can enjoy winery tours in and around Blenheim and Picton, cruising the Marlborough Sounds, walking New Zealand's famous Queen Charlotte Track, wildlife eco tours, or sea kayaking , fishing and sailing on Kenepuru Sound. Let us know your favourite adventure activity when you book and we'll arrange it for you. Food options range from quality restaurant dining featuring seafood to a cafe overlooking the spectacular Sounds view. Located 10 minutes walk from the acclaimed Queen Charlotte Track, THE PORTAGE offers a selection of accommodation from our premium Kowhai suites to two story villas and hillside sea view rooms as well as a few budget rooms. THE PORTAGE RESORT HOTEL's central location in Marlborough makes it easy to reach from all over New Zealand. Access is easy - its only 15 minutes from Picton by boat or 1.25 hours by road. Blenheim Airport has multiple flights from the major cities of Auckland, Wellington or Christchurch, every day. THE PORTAGE is your Marlborough accommodation base to explore the magic of the Marlborough Sounds on the south island of New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Portage Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portage Hotel Picton
Portage Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing