We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Feel Pampered!”
Review of Kippilaw House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kippilaw House
Ranked #2 of 22 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I Feel Pampered!”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

If you're in need of a treat and want to feel a bit pampered then I can't think of anywhere better than Margaret and Bill's B&B. We spent Christmas Day here and were looked after so well, ate such amazing food and drank such lovely local wine we completely forgot to feel homesick and miss our families! Kippilaw is super convenient for the Picton ferry (if you're lucky, you might even be met at the port) and the rooms are spacious, uncluttered (contrary to someone else's review) and comfortable. A big thanks to Margaret and Bill for making our Christmas so special and for feeding us up before we went off on our adventures in the Abel Tasman and Kaikoura.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kippilaw, Owner at Kippilaw House, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
It made our Christmas having fun bubbly guests enjoying our home, partaking in Christmas and all its fare.Being a caterer all our guests are suitable feed and go on their away with a couple of goodies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
83
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We are from the netherlands and enjoyed our xmas 2011 at the kippilaw house with Margaret and Bill. We had a fantastic xmas diner and had loads of fun and were treated very nicely. We had a downstairs room with open doors to the garden which allowed us to have breakfast in the garden. Service was great, food was lovely and the hosts ossom.
If you neer a good, relaxing and nice place to stay, go to the Kippilaw House!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anouk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

This little gem in Picton is not to be missed!

We were a family of six so we were able to book the entire place. It felt like we were living in the most charming little cottage that was just an easy 10 minute walk to the town centre. The bedrooms and bathrooms and beautifully done, the living room was spacious, and the view from the Master's bedroom would make anyone's heart melt.

Margaret and Bill were the most wonderful hosts who made us incredible breakfasts (her homemade croissants are to die for) and gave us all the best tips to explore Marlborough. I don't think you'll find anything of this quality at such an affordable price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Kippilaw House, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Thank you for your possitive comments it is always a pleasure hosting visitors who love to travel, enjoy meeting and staying with local folk and experiencing what they have to offer.

I did appreciate you sharing some of your countries popular recipes with us . Happy days
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2011

This is a bed and breakfast but Margaret does cooking classes also for guests and other parties interested. Her depth of experience in the hospitality/food industry shines through along with entertaining tales of life and working with well known celebraties. The classes can be taylor made to suit whatever your interests are, from how to fillet a rabbit for terrine to scrumptious desserts to compliment a four course meal. Our small group immensely enjoyed the many cooking tips passed on how to make life easier/smarter in the kitchen and we also sampled the various wares as they came hot out of the oven!! It was a very worthwhile and entertaining morning and would recommend anyone wanting a fun experience with memories that stay with you long after to contact Margaret.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thwaitress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Kippilaw House, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Yes we did have fun, cooking can be taken too seriously.

I am delighted you enjoyed your time at the cooking school and went away with loads of suggestions and ideas that can make your lives more pleasuarable in the kitchen.

Cooking and eating is a necssity in life, it is vital for your well being that you enjoy preparing, experimenting and eating the goodiess you have prepared.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Generally when travelling on my own on business I choose to stay in a hotel, on this occasion I stumbled upon Kippilaw House. I had all the privacy I needed with my own bathroom and beautiful bedroom. So many surprises.... I thought it was an old house but it is new and beatuifuly appointed. Margaret the owner was just lovely and her husband Bill was a great host. I had dinner with them and breakfast again before I left in the morning. (Food was yummy!!) Unlike staying in a hotel I felt like I had been away for the night with friends!! I will certainly be returning to stay the next time I am anywhere near Picton.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwitvlr55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.8 km away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.7 km away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
248 reviews
0.8 km away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
ASURE Jasmine Court Motel
1.7 km away
Historic Sennen House Boutique Accommodation
1.1 km away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#3 of 16 in Picton
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kippilaw House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kippilaw House

Property: Kippilaw House
Address: 98 Waikawa Road, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price range (per night): $213 - $293
Hotel Class:4 star — Kippilaw House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel relaxed, warm and comfortable at Kippilaw House our guests often mention that they have walked in as guests and left us as friends. We are just a few minutes stroll to the waters edge of the Marlborough Sounds, cafes and various activities. Margaret is a professional chef/caterer of many years standing and loves sharing her recipes and experience in food. Bill is excellent passing on knowledge of the region things to do and see. Originally from the borders of Scotland he spent all his school holidays at Kippilaw Estate where his grandfather was the groom. We also operate a very well stocked deli Trailer at the Marlborough Farmers Market in Blenheim on Sundays where guests are most welcome to enjoy their breakfasts if staying Saturday night with us. We pride ourselves on good southern hospitality and place equal importance on the breakfast and the comfortable beds. Our point of difference is providing freshly sourced food with menus changing daily. Complementary afternoon tea is served at 3pm if you have not arrived this is left covered in your room. We make tasty interesting packed breakfasts for early travellers to take away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Priceline, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kippilaw House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing