We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your traditional B&B in Picton” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gables

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Gables
Ranked #10 of 23 Picton B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
129 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Your traditional B&B in Picton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

Ian and Paula welcome you into their home and that is a good thing! This traditional home, period decorated is just three blocks from the waterfront or the main street of Picton. The common area is large and comfortable. Our Pictonian room was traditionally decorated with a 3/4 bath. The decor, bed, linens, towels and amenities were very good and most pleasant. We enjoyed a terrific breakfast each day with the varied guests that were also enjoying thier stay in Picton at the Gables. We were entertained by Ian's tour of his beautiful handmade wooden boats and the tales of travels in wooden craft. We had access to complementary internet. We enjoyed the recommendations for places to dine in Picton, learning a good New Zealand lesson- always buy fish and chips from take away restaurants that wrap your food in newspaper!. A pleasant, relaxing stay- you bet!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnacoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
40
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights - before and after walking the Queen Charlotte track. This is the perfect b&b for Picton. It's a short walk (3 mins) to the harbour and has a lovely ambience. In an beautiful old house, surrounded by pretty gardens, it is quiet and comfortable. The guest lounge and dining room are excellent with a collection of interesting art and artifacts collected by the hosts during their travels. The hosts, Ian and Paula, could not have been kinder or more welcoming. The breakfast is fantastic - just what I needed before and after my 4 day walk. A great place to stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentFlyer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

My partner and I stayed here for two nights over the summer and found this B&B to be a great choice in Picton. The owners were very nice and cared greatly about our overall holiday experience, which was nice, and the room itself (the Mariner) had an interesting nautical twist. Though the price is higher than some others in Picton, the location was really good and our experience of staying there very positive.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2010

Great little half-cottage behind the main house. Easy walk from the ferry and close to cafes and wharf. Would totally recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brrrrodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.1 km away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 17 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.1 km away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
0.1 km away
Escape to Picton
Escape to Picton
#4 of 23 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.2 km away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 17 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.2 km away
Glengary Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables

Property: The Gables
Address: 20 Waikawa Road, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price range (per night): $143 - $210
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing