We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel I have ever stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tombstone Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Best hostel I have ever stayed at”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I booked a double private room with shared facilities. It had a great vista over the ferry terminal. A garden,hot tub, and provate porch in front of my room. Very quiet at night. Laundry and wifi available for a fee. Communal kitchen with fridge and cooking facilities. Excercise machine. TV room and lots of seating. Continental breakfast included in the price(bread, jam, cereal, milk). Dart board and pool table. Everything is spotless clean. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBirdSpokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    37
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
113
105
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Great place, lynne is wonderfull. The day we arrived she helped us so much so we won't miss the coat we ordered, she made phone calls and tools us there with her car so we won't need to find parking.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikoWakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This place is amazing! Lynne is fantastic and will go out of her way to make your stay a good one. The rooms are clean, tidy and have awesome views over picton. Meet some great people while staying here and would return in an instant!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is the first backpackers I've stayed in, not travelled on my own, I picked because of the reviews. It if more than the reviews. It is fantastic, friendly, spotless, kitchen is huge, AND Lynne bakes cheese scones every morning. She takes an interest in everybody, and everybody comes back. I did the Queen Charlotte way, and thought I could leave my stuff in my room, you know like a hotel, when I came back she gently told me that you don't do that in a hostel, and she'd packed up my stuff and left it for me!! And then just to add insult to injury I used her private washing machine as opposed to the guest laundry for which you have to pay...
STAY THERE

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glamgran56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I have been meaning to write to recommend this hostel since I stayed in Feb 2011 and it is only now that I am about to book again for this Feb that I have got around to it.

As with all of the other reviews I found nothing to fault in the service, cleanliness, location or facilities at this awesome Hostel.

I have traveled extensively throughout the world and have not found anything to match the Tombstone.

Lynne and Gordon have created a great home away from home either before or after days tramping the area.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Queen ensuite room for $75 a night - Great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyMacD666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
4.2 km away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.8 km away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
0.5 km away
The Villa Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Fat Cod Backpackers
The Fat Cod Backpackers
#11 of 26 in Picton
57 reviews
0.8 km away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.6 km away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#5 of 26 in Picton
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tombstone Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tombstone Backpackers

Property: Tombstone Backpackers
Address: 16 Gravesend Place, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price range (per night): $45 - $79
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Tombstone Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing