We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Escape to Paradise”
Review of Escape to Picton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Escape to Picton
Ranked #5 of 22 Picton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Escape to Paradise”
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I don't think i can lavish enough praise about what an amazing experience my wife and i recently had at Escape to Picton, whilst traveling on our honeymoon trip in New Zealand's South Island.
When i called to book the hotel, i was greeted with charm and friendliness and a level of hospitality that was top notch. The room reminded us of a Parisian Palace with a fantastic bed and a bath tub that we could only dream about beforehand. The attention to detail throughout the hotel left us constantly amazed from the furniture in the room to the presentation of the food. Each of our meals which were served up with gorgeous flowers as a garnish were delicious to look at and eat. The owner who is a delight to talk to, could not have made us feel more welcome but when we found out she was also the head chef, we were completely blown away.
We cannot wait to come back to New Zealand and have another stay at escape to picton, which we think could easily be called escape to paradise! Thank you Julianna!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked amazing and you can't make a wrong choice but for the ultimate experience i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matthew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    16
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
10
113
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2011

What a little gem! We travelled all around New Zealand recently on our honeymoon and following the World Cup. We spent a couple of nights in Picton and stayed in this charming boutique hotel. My husband had told the owner in advance it was our honeymoon and she pulled out all the stops. Our stunning room had a large bunch of lillies and a bottle of champagne waiting for us when we arrived. Our chocolate covered fruit and cake arrived shortly after we checked in. This was one of the most luxurious places in the south Island and with all the personal touches which made it a firm favourite with us. Staff were so friendly and ensured that our stay was lacking nothing. We also dined in the restaurant and the food was exceptional. Unbelievable that the chef is also the owner. I had the soup, my husband the chowder and we both had the steak for mains. Delicious. Even if you are only passing through Picton its worth calling in to dine. The Eggs Benedict in the morning also superb. Overall a fantastic experience and we throughly enjoyed our little bit of luxury!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We found this place through the info centre in town, and we almost booked somewhere else but their brochure caught my eye. Thank God we didn't!!!

We got an amazing deal when we stayed which included dinner in their restaurant and accommodation in the Formal Suite. It really was AMAZING, the suite was beautifully appointed and so spacious it was almost larger than my apartment at home. Juliearna and the girls were so lovely, and they were super helpful. Juliearna is owner and, surprisingly, the chef too! The building itself is a stunning refurbished bank, and JJ has done an brilliant job at turning it into a gorgeous B&B. Perfect for romantic weekend away on the Marlborough Sounds.

Top marks on the rooms, food, people!! Loved, would definitely be back.

Room Tip: Formal Suite was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ef1979syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Our interest was piqued by the beautiful refurbishment of the building that we noticed when passing through Picton recently. I thought it would make for a perfect "weekend" getaway, and we were not disappointed. Would thoroughly recommend dining in, as the food was to-die-for. The breakfast pastries the next morning were also mouth-watering, and included in our room tarriff which was good value for money in the off-peak. We were also delighted by the easy proximity to Marlborough's wineries, which also made for a special day.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neuromantik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Second stay here in the Beautiful "Escape to Picton", Have stayed in both the Formal and Modern Suite. Both are lavishly designed with the highest quality furnishings whilst creating a very home feeling to the place. The formal is a stunning french chic inspired room, whilst the modern room creating an astute modern boutique feel.

If your looking at absolute service ,we have been astounded by the smaller touches including the room being prepped whilst your eating your dinner or breakfast at the decadent and refined tasting restaurant. These small touches really make the place and gives a real custom and individual service that is not seen in larger complexes.

In terms of price the owner is more than approachable, with door prices varying greatly stated tariffs. Juliearna, the owner really makes the visit your own, so communicating any small requests you would like is always openly available.

It is a hard place to describe how beautifully well rounded the package is, it is categorized into the "you have to see to really understand" kind of places. We will be back again in summer to relax and leave behind the stresses of daily life.

Thank-you Juliearna and Staff for offering such an experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joelsteens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.1 km away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
3.6 km away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 km away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.1 km away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.8 km away
Kippilaw House
Kippilaw House
#2 of 22 in Picton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escape to Picton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escape to Picton

Property: Escape to Picton
Address: 33 Wellington Street, Picton 8170, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price range (per night): $220 - $322
Hotel Class:5 star — Escape to Picton 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and Evoline ltd so you can book your Escape to Picton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing