We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
157
84
31
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
84
31
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews separate bedroom great location grassed area giant chess board outdoor games easy walk to restaurants sea birds water front waters edge spacious unit fresh milk the kitchen the ground floor queen bed coffee plunger water pressure living area
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

This was a lovely motel - modern, spotless and very comfortable - and as the title says, right on the waterfront! The staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed 2 nights and were so happy here, it was hard to make ourselves move on! The bed was so comfy and the amenities generous. Hopefully we will be back someday.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Owner at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Dear Clare, thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad you enjoyed our friendly and helpful staff, and you liked the bed (we upgraded some of them in the past year) We always recommend to stay more than 1 night but we should probably say more than 2 or 3 nights now :) We are looking forward to seeing you next time. Best Regards. the AWM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

This was the last stop before leaving New Zealand. The Motel right on the waterfront was very clean and comfortable with rooms serviced everyday. They have kayaks for hire direct on their own slipway. The motel was quiet but had atmosphere and we would stay there again .

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Degs7015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Owner at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Dear Degs7015,
Thank you for your great review, We hope you had a safe journey home. We are happy you had a "wonderful stay" with us and you enjoyed the nice atmosphere. The $5/hour kayak hire is a little bonus for our guests, and launching from our boat ramp, makes it very easy. We are looking forward your next visit. Kind regards The AWM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Stayed here with friends. Good units, clean, well serviced and free use of BBQ.
Handy to shops etc and good outside seating
Wi-fi free which was being repaired while we were there.
Great spot to relax and enjoy

Room tip: Unit 1 which can sleep 6 (we had 4) has harbour views
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

What a great place to stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful , the room was very clean and tidy and the location was superb. Just a couple of minuites walk to town so we hardly used our car at all while we were there.
We will definitely come back and stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IanG47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

My husband and I chose this accommodation for the last two nights of our 4 week NZ holiday as we wanted something nice and most of the reviews were so good ... and we were not disappointed, loved it from the moment we arrived.
Our 1 bedroom apartment (an actual separate bedroom with a nice firm mattress and lots of mirrors - something missing in many accommodation places) was on the ground floor with gorgeous views over the bay and had everything that we could need for our stay.
Very spacious, open, wonderful and bright with a separate meals area to the lounge area and a good size kitchenette, all with lovely comfy furniture. Outside table and chairs to enjoy the afternoon sunset with a glass of wine.
Great location within walking distance to everything in Akaroa including all the wonderful restaurants, shops and the must see Giants House. It was also very quiet ... did not hear neighbours at all.
Happy and helpful welcoming at reception was nice too.
A wonderful way to finish our New Zealand holiday - so glad we chose Akaroa Waterfront Motel.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Turtle035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews