We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs an update”
Review of Bon Accord

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bon Accord
Ranked #20 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed one night in a double without bathroom for 69 dollars. Centrally located. Big room, bit musty smelling.
Bathroom and toilet could do with renovating - paint peeling off wall, tired looking shower.
Smallish kitchen, cooking dinner at the same time as other people could be cramped.
Staff didn't tell us anything about the town (first time someone hasn't in the eight hostels we've stayed in so far)
Probably would have stayed at Chez La Mer across the road if they had had a similar priced room as it seemed friendlier and busier.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocMarkL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Bon Accord
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed in mid April, which co-incided with the end of season town party. Good timing as lovely autumn harvest fete. Bad timing as the party came from the marquee back to the hostel at midnight, and continued until 4.30am, despite several requests from several other people staying in the hostel for the party goers to stop and be quiet and have some respect for the other guests.
Paper thin walls did not help, neither did the general attitude the next day when the manager returned.
Tiny kitchen, tiny dirty bathroom.
Even making allowances for the end of season bash, I was very disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaJW_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

What a wonderful, magical backpacker this is! Situated right in the heart of beautiful Akaroa, it is warm and comfortable, staffed by an incredibly friendly crew, frequented by all sorts of travelers from around the world, filled with extra amenities, and priced very well. My daughter came through here several months ago and highly recommended it, and she was spot on. Special kudos to Frazier, who was very helpful in assisting me on the next leg of my travels. When I look back at my trip to New Zealand, I will firstly remember Akaroa and Bon Accord.

Room Tip: If available, the cottages in the back are definitely worth it.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daved G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Centrally located but garden cottage was dirty with sub standard kitchen and bathroom areas. Dodgy electrical wiring and broken oil heater. Do not book without inspection first!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maungawhau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We had booked ourselves into Purple Peak hostel, but unfortunately they suffered a generator blowout causing a power disruption. We only found out after arriving in Akaroa and was recommended Bon Accord. At NZ 69 per night we found ourselves a lovely room with a garden area and very homely feeling. There were two kitchens and no rush or crowding around for space. Bon Accord is quiet and pleasant, great place to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.8 km away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
112 reviews
0.9 km away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.1 km away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
1.1 km away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
0.2 km away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#4 of 24 in Akaroa
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Akaroa

Been to Bon Accord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Accord

Address: 57 Rue Lavaud, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range: $28 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home from home, quality budget accommodation. Doubles, twins, triple and dorm style rooms. All linen and towels supplied. Situated in the centre of Akaroa, streamside setting. One night is never enough in this beautiful seaside town. Resident dog and cat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Bon Accord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing