We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
72
19
8
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
19
8
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tonga hut van park amazing views swimming with dolphins great facilities view of the bay a great place to stay akaroa harbour two nights stargazer huts walks toilets sheep kitchen dorm campervan
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Super friendly staff, great facilities, plenty of space. Great views in the morning and a sustainable approach to their business. Happy to pay for what they have to offer and would recommend this hostel to anybody almost as a destination. We camped and hired one of the cabins.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank markj231288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

We spent 2 days/nights in the camper van/caravan park and we were not disappointed ! The view was amazing, the staff very gentle and helpful, and the facilities (kitchen/shower/toilets) super clean !
The walks from the hostel were amazing too, with a wonderful point of view at the top of the Ridge Walk !
I recommend !!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 908romaneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

This is a really special place. When you first arrive the surroundings speak for themselves, it’s more like a retreat than a farm hostel. After talking to the people there you will quickly realise that so many of them have been there multiple times and that they love it there. The lodge has its own walking tracks, dolphin swimming and kayaking. You can stay in these epic stargazer huts if you have a little more cash otherwise the van park has a tremendous panoramic view of Akaroa harbour. I suggest staying there a few nights, the place is so serene that it will rub off on even the most introverted traveller. It’s the kind of place where if you meet someone that smiles at you in that good kind of way you will think this is it. The staff there complete their jobs like clockwork. I can speak of the current set of staff there that they are a lovely group of people, in many ways a perfect extension of what the hostel represents.

As much as I’ve tried what I’ve written doesn’t even do the place justice though. It has that special something where it is more than the sum of its parts. That something you can’t put your finger on but everyone there can feel. Don’t just take my word for it however, go and see for yourself. I hope that like me you will feel lucky to have found the place.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
3  Thank CoachTayshaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

Huge thanks to Onuku Farm Hostel for a lovely stay and wonderful time swimming with the dolphins. And they had all sorts of superfriendly animals - chickens and sheeps that you can cuddle! We stayed there in our campervan on a grassy area with picnic tables and a stunning view of the bay!Campervan site had its' own facilities - 3 showers and 2 toilets (one was with the shower) and a kitchen. 15nzd per person. They offer swimming with dolphins for 110$ and kayaking for 40$ both at 7AM. Very small small group (8p.max)! So, if you think of visiting Akaroa, this is a great place to stay!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank RutaMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

I actually found the reviews here to not have always accurately assessed what is actually on offer here, or how nice it is to stay here.

AFAIK there are 3 options staying here: campsite, hostel, and star gazer sleeper pods which you can watch the stars from. We stayed inside the hostel

"Great facilities, kitchen," really? Actually the kitchen space is very small and crowded--not enough room for all guests to cook something, let alone cook comfortably.

It was clean, and it's nice and quiet at night, but very cold in the common area and bedroom. But the dorm beds are pretty comfortable for a budget backpackers.

By the way, the road to here is not good. It takes a long time to get here, and I wouldn't recommend it for large campers or old cars.

It seems like there's a lot of backpackers working here, or mingling with the ones who are. The atmosphere is Very laid back. This can be good or bad. If you need assistance, it's hard to get someone to help you, even for something small. It's hard to even know who is actually working or if anyone is in charge. The staff seemed friendly in way the talk to you, but I wouldn't say customer service is really even an idea worth entertaining to the point where you just won't be helped.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Winter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews