We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
97
36
10
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
36
10
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews common areas family room fremantle prison private ensuite amazing history interesting experience bunk beds youth hostel common kitchen cell doors rottnest island perfect hostel free wifi great kitchen weekend market fremantle markets great facilities
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2017

A very different feel for staying in a place that held some of the states worst offenders. Walking the corridors makes you wonder who walked here before you, and why? What happened within these walls?

The way the accommodation that is set up has been done well. From staying in a former cell to a small room with on suite, very comfortable indeed. The facilities have been done up due to regulations, but tge feel is still there.

No food or bar facilities are available, but town is a 5 minute walk away, with everything.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

This is one of those way too cool for school YHA's. Outstanding envelope, right on part of the grounds of the old prison and using some old cells as individual (share toilet) rooms, as well as private ensuite rooms in new outbuildings.

The premise is very clean and well managed with friendly staff, a very well appointed common kitchen. The private rooms are very comfy and clean, only down side is the price is pushing towards hotel.

Two negatives: the parking isn't included (though it suggests so on the website) and the wifi is only in the common room (again website suggests it's in the rooms).

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank chefcrsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

Now after staying at Fremantle Prison YHa I can conclude that I ever stayed in a prison. Well, it's really an ex prison.

Staff are friendly. Room is clean and new.
Common areas are really good .

I enjoy staying here.. thanks YHA

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

We chose a private room with an ensuite bathroom. It was quite large and spotlessly clean. Very happy. The shared facilities were clean and orderly. Kitchen was large and well equipped with heaps of fridge space Communal lounge was large and comfortable. Loved that there were so many outdoor areas where we could relax in the sun

Security was good. Swipe in to complex do no randoms could wander in off the street. Location was fantastic. Walking distance to everything. Very close to the markets

The only minor hiccup was when we came to check out. The guy behind the counter had some sports game blaring on the computer and shouted at me over the commentary. I thought that was quite rude but is was minor.

This is a great place to stay whether you are single, a couple or travelling as a group

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DebHnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

The hostel is very nice and its pretty cool to stay in an old prison. Stayed in a family room beds were comfy and had a tv too. The tv is in a weird place but thats not a complaint! The bathroom had a great shower and everything was clean! The only down side was the guy that checked us in just seemed so uninterested in our custom and came across as he really couldn't be bothered. He was only nice at 22pm banging down our door waking us up because he had undercharged us and he was panicking. Thanks for that!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Terri1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews