We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight in Freo”
Review of Port Mill B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Port Mill B&B
Ranked #9 of 21 Fremantle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed a night in the King Duyfken Suite which suited our needs very well. The B&B is absolutely charming and excellent from a central location point of view but unfortunately you heard the noise from people out partying well in to the wee hours....
The reception, facilities and all the extra's were great, my only suggestion or recommendation would be the provision of robes / gowns to make the most of the lovely balconies.
Really appreciated the breakfast voucher.
Would stay again because we loved the location.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

Spent 1 night in the King Duyfken suite. Small but immaculately clean room with little outdoor patio. Little extras like chocolates, fruit, cereal, milk selection of teas etc greatly appreciated as arrived late after Freo had shut down for the night. We were met by Marie who had waited for us. She was amazingly friendly and helpful and provided us with lots of info for our ongoing trip to Margaret River. I would recommend this B & B to anyone wanting a homelier feel to their room than the bog standard hotel. Great stay... thanks !

Room Tip: The King Duyfken room is on the top floor... not a great view but quiet with a small enclosed patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This place looks fantastic and is right in the heart of freo, so it's great if you want convenience but not so good for noise at night. Room was immaculate and we loved the heart chocolates. The breakfast was fantastic. They give you vouchers for cafe opposite and you can choose anything off the menu!! The only thing that really let this place down was 'no parking' facilities. I highly recommend this place if you are not driving. If I stay here again I will take the train and a pair of ear plugs.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dmimnagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

My wife and I spent one night in the Port Mill B&B because we had often walked past and wondered what was inside the European-style courtyard. We were not disappointed. The interiors are as charming as the courtyard. We could easily imagine we were spending a night in small French village. Staff were very friendly and all the facilities were very good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Djm489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at Port Mill B&B for two nights for our one year wedding anniversary. We live in Perth, so it wasn't far from home but still felt like we had gone away for the weekend.

The young ladies looked after us very well and we extremely polite and accommodating.

The full breakfast each morning complimentary in the neighbouring cafe was a nice surprise...including great coffee.

It was lovely relaxing in the little old fashioned room and sitting in the sun on the balcony playing cards together and listening to music.

They could consider getting foxtel for an added bonus. We took our laptop with own movies to watch. The free wireless was helpful too.

We unloaded our bags at the door and checked in and then moved our car up the road on Marine Tce - and parked there for free for the whole weekend. It was about a 10/15min stroll back. If you would prefer not to walk you can pay and park closer.

All in all a lovely weekend, relaxing, wandering the markets and dining out at lovely restuarants.

Thanks :)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.2 km away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
0.2 km away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
2.9 km away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#4 of 8 in Fremantle
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
232 reviews
0.2 km away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 8 in Fremantle
208 reviews
0.3 km away
30 Arundel
30 Arundel
#1 of 21 in Fremantle
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Fremantle

Been to Port Mill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Mill B&B

Address: U 3 17 Essex St, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Fremantle
Price Range: $163 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Port Mill B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Fremantle Location! Tucked inside a historic courtyard in the heart of Freo is our 4-Star romantic boutique-inn retreat which offers quiet elegant luxury. Port Mill B&B is heritage listed with modern and sumptuous interiors. Imagine waking up in a European Manor or Grand Tuscan Villa. We boast 4-deluxe suites with private en-suite bathrooms and cozy balconies. Enter through secure gates to a lush garden courtyard with babbling fountain, an ambiance reminiscent of a country cottage, peaceful and harmonious with whitewashed limestone walls, cascading flower window boxes, lovely sea breezes, sun-soaked cobblestone patios and picturesque views of the garden, city and ocean! Each of our 4 suites are accessible via one or two flights of stairs ( no elevator ) and are exquisitely and lavishly furnished. One King suite that can be turned into single beds for two or more nights stay and three queen suites. Remote Air-conditioners and ceiling fans. Flat-screen LCD TV with DVD player. Tea & coffee making facilities. Daily breakfast voucher for the wonderfully quaint Cafe across the road. Mini-fridge. Bath products. FREE Wireless Internet. Use of the in-house computer, scanner, and printer should you need it. Enter the Courtyard become transfixed.... "Eat...Play...Stay" become transformed! Welcome to Port Mill B&B your "Home away from Home" in Paradise! This beautiful property offers privacy, seclusion, peace and quiet whilst in the centre of WA's most vibrant town- Fremantle. Perfectly surrounded by everything from fine dining to food-courts, buses and trains, beaches, weekend markets, pubs, clubs, wine bars and breweries. Port Mill is a stroll away from everything! Enjoy the art, culture and festivals Fremantle has to offer, all right on your doorstep! For the flavor of France, elegance, sophistication and lifestyle, you will not find a better choice!! Book in now for the perfect getaway................ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Port Mill B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing