We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish & chips to us! ”
Review of Sweet lips

Sweet lips
Ranked #11 of 23 Quick Bites in Fremantle
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed in Fremantle a couple of days and had the opportunity to try Cicerellos, Kailis and Sweetlips. Between the three, we must say that Sweetlips won our hearts! The fish is fresh with a thin and crispy batter that made it so delicious! Extra points for the superb tasting panko prawns and bonus points for the fact that we were just able to order the fish on its own, without chips! This is a definite must-try in the area!

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank See L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 68 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2017

You could smell that horrible/old used over & over again cooking oil smell as you walk in which put me off straight away but we'd been told by a couple out the front it was beautiful.... So we ordered the fish & chip package $19.90 plus $1.90 for tartare sauce plus extra $2.00 to grill the fish. When we got it the hake was just ok but the prawns were battered as were the scallops which one was cold one was warm ?? and oozed with oil. It was disgusting I certainly couldn't eat any of the chips & my hubby covered them in vinegar to help, we left the majority on the table which we barely got up from and were nearly attacked by 5 seagulls ha I just thought they could have it.... I was so unimpressed with this place... My husband said he could taste this lunch all arvo, not nice.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank debrajoy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

We have been a couple of times and have always been very pleased with the fish and chips which don't taste of old oil like so many other restaurants serving the same type of food. The new prawns in panko breadcrumbs were delicious. Great crispy chips. Good choices on the menu. Very good for a casual dinner. Very affordable.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank fundi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

Delicious crunchy fish and chips with a variety of salads fresh seafood oysters, drinks whatever you like nice outdoor views on a beautiful day/night.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Belle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

Went for fish and chips at Sweetlips yesterday. Decided on Sweetlips as they had a discount voucher in the entertainment book (normally go to Kailis), checked and it clearly stated 'valid anytime'. Ordered the extremely expensive family feast and was informed they would not accept the voucher as it was Anzac day. Should of at this point left and gone to Kailis where the family pack is a lot better value and a lot better tasting fish and chips. There was so much oil and grease everywhere the floor was slippery to walk on. Not happy! Will be going back to Kailis.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sweet lips also viewed

South Fremantle, Fremantle
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 
Fremantle, Greater Perth
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 

Been to Sweet lips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing