We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bed with a pillow...and a good one” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norfolk Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fremantle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Norfolk Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A bed with a pillow...and a good one”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

My experience here was an emergency. I needed a place to stay, even though I actually lived in Perth.

For those that don't remember the big hail storm on 22 March 2010, let me précis this moment. My house and car were devastated by a massive, freak hail storm. In fact, my house was condemned by the storm. Fortunately for me, the Norfolk Hotel was open and accommodating.

I would have been glad for a bed anywhere, but the Norfolk Hotel had two rooms left and I have to say I was really, really surprised. Sure, it isn't a normal hotel. It is where backpackers and budget travellers would gravitate towards. The rooms were huge and clean, but nothing special, but I really enjoyed being there.

As with many "Hotels" in Western Australia, most know this place as a vibrant and fun place to go for a drink, not to stay. In a British tradition, this would be an "Inn" with a nice bar below.

I would definitely stay here if I had to. Notice the words, "had to". For location and vibe and budget, and for the young at heart and expedition minded, go for it. A good, comfortable stay and, yes, I would stay there again....if I had to.

Room Tip: More back packer than hotel, but with a dash of class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    32
    21
    3
    6
See reviews for
8
26
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I stayed at the Norfolk Hotel last week as I was haveing drinks with friends and didn't want to drive!
I was a little apprehensive when I booked a room with no facilities.
However the room, whilst small, had everything you could require for a short stay. TV, Tea/coffee, plenty of hanging space in the wardrobe and a comfy, clean bed. The shower & toilet were spotless and a couple of metres across the hall.
You leave a $20 deposit for the key which is refunded when you leave.

The location of the hotel couldn't be better. You're right in the heart of things.
This proved a small problem as Friday night became Saturday mornning as the cab rank is close by and it was noisy at times. However if you went during the week this wouldn't be such a problem.
As far as safety for a single woman I don't see that a problem either as there are plenty of security camera's around and getting into the accommodation without a key would be difficult at night.
The room I had only had a ceiling fan.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road on weekends..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boomer020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Stayed early November 2011 between landing in Perth from Broome and leap-frogging over to Rottnest Island. Checked in late afternoon, Queen ensuite room clean, well appointed and inviting. Heater worked, cold day in Perth shocked me from shorts / shirt / thongs from Broome climes, soon back to normal.
Check in staff friendly, bar staff efficient and professional with drinks and dinner, food was high quality and came out FAST...less than 10 minutes for a 4 pax table in a busy pub.
Liked the out of hours access staircase after a night out with friends.
Only difference I could see would relate to noise on weekends, but keeping in mind this is a secondary business above a thriving venue..would be perfect if attending a function / party downstairs and needed a safe, secure and accessible place to stay across the road from the Freo markets...will recommend and return.

Room Tip: Things to note: there are stairs, it is above a pub which serves meals and can be open late at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank craigjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Hi we ate lunch at this place and never again and we are locals! The wine was off and gave me a headache, we got scallops four of them $20 and the prawns had the heads there and only two tails,nothing else when i told the waiter he took the plates away and then came back and said 'i found some more tails' I did not swear at him but wanted to, the total cost $80 RIP off!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fremantle hotels

Wongan Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Room was lovely and clean very modern look but this hotel is not designed for families with only one double bed cots are an additional $30 per person. The room was big enough to take two double bed. Over priced for what it was particularly with the room being over the front bar (was warned to be fair). Couldn't find staff when you needed them and the stairs are a nightmare. There is no particular parking area for guests staying at the hotel I had to park my car and move it several times before getting a parking spot after 10pm when the bar shut. No breakfast included in the price

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamisons_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.3 km away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
0.3 km away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#4 of 7 in Fremantle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.9 km away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
2.0 km away
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.2 km away
Arundels Boutique Bed & Breakfast Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Hotel

Property: Norfolk Hotel
Address: 47 South Tce, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Price range (per night): $90 - $170
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel Fremantle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing