We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Fremantle
from USD 44.08
More Info
from USD 21.86
More Info
from USD 65.93
More Info
from USD 79.78
More Info
Reviews (3,649)
Filter reviews
3,649 results
Traveller rating
2,434
1,026
156
25
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,434
1,026
156
25
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tunnel tour night tour great escapes great tour torch light tour world heritage site exercise yards solitary confinement informative tour sense of humour great insight visiting fremantle well worth the visit interesting place western australia tours gallows
Filter
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 3,649 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We used a day in freo to explore the prison, and ended up doing the joint tours....the great escape and doing time!

Our tour guide was called Steve who was an ex-guard of when the prison was in operation and was full of info and dry humour!

Not sure if some of the Americans on the tour got his humour or hanging.....but anyway....

I would recommend this as a must do if visiting freo

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank 437PaulB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Good to visit the heritage place such as Fremantle Prison. Enjoying the tour while the tour guide explored and explained the history. I remember my dad as he’s worked at the prison in my country. They offer the night tour as well. Maybe will try someday. You can reach Fremantle by flight to Perth. As for the budget traveler take Airasia is the right decision. You will earn the point when you fly with them. Collect the point then you may enjoy free flight either by redeem the point or no. It depends on the promotion.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Rose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Our driver/courier gave us a very informative and fascinating account of prison life and how it was ran in former times and provided us with a background history including the penal colony period.
The visit also inside gave an excellent insight into the tough life the inmates endured.
Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank lovetrav_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

If you not the fittest it’s probarbly not the best for you. We had an absolute ball. Your strapped in to harnesses and climb down 30 meters then crawl through the tunnels and end up canoeing through the tunnels. Would highly recommend! takes around 2 hours.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank shady2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Have had numerous visits to Fremantle Prison, largely down to people coming to visit, and up until now had done the day tour numerous times and the tunnel tour once....so decided to have the night tour this time. Took a group of Swedes, Dutch and Spanish on the trip and have to say that it was pretty good. Lots of atmosphere, a guide that obviously enjoyed his work and a few jump-scares thrown in for the fun of it. I think the only criticism I could level at the tour was that the ambience was a little hurt when we ended up encountering another group - but all in all, it was definitely worth doing and was nice to see the prison at night. Not suitable for young children, but internet-hardened teens should be fine.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank sonerbekir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews