We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle(Fremantle)(Great Value!)
USD 140
USD 121
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fremantle Bed and Breakfast(Fremantle)(Great Value!)
USD 126
USD 88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sundancer Backpackers Resort(Fremantle)(Great Value!)
USD 45
USD 17
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Be. Fremantle(Fremantle)(Great Value!)
USD 140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel(Fremantle)(Great Value!)
USD 141
USD 118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Terrace Central B&B Hotel(Fremantle)(Great Value!)
USD 80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port Mill B&B(Fremantle)(Great Value!)
USD 119
USD 112
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 82
USD 76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
30 Arundel(Fremantle)(Great Value!)
USD 110
USD 104
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,792)
Filter reviews
1,792 results
Traveller rating
536
768
337
105
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
536
768
337
105
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkinggreat locationbuffet breakfastpillow menua park view roomvalet servicegood sizeacross the roadlittle creatures brewerylate checkpleasant stayan upgradespa bathmini barfishing boat harbourcappuccino stripcar park
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 1,792 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We stayed for 2 nights over the Easter weekend. Hotel is in an excellent location, close to the main coffee strip, and plenty of interesting cafes and bars in the surrounding side streets. Little Creatures Brewery is just across the park, as are various water front restaurants. There are a couple of restaurants and a pub in the complex which we did not try on this stay.

The annual Street Art Festival was on, so there was a wonderful vibe around Freo and the weather was spectacular.

Room was a good size, but a fair way from the lifts (there only seems to be 2 lifts to service the 4 floors). We overlooked a small pool area which looked pleasant enough.

Only downside is parking (which is probably the same for all of Fremantle). Valet parking is $29/night. All parking in the surrounding streets is metered 9am-1am. We got a ticket which we are currently disputing!

Overall a good stay, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brizsuz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, duty Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel.
I am happy to read you got to stay here over the Easter weekend and experience the Street Arts Festival. There is definitely a great vibe throughout Fremantle whilst that is on.
Unfortunately you are right, there is no free parking throughout the city of Fremantle, so the hotel offers a competitive valet price.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Sarah Begbie
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Fremantle, between the beach and the main street, surrounded by amazing restaurants, bars and opposite a great park for families too. The breakfast in particular is definitely worth getting included and is a great buffet. Jasmine who looked after us during the week was so friendly, helpful and professional, remembered our name from day one - a great asset. Food in the restaurant was excellent and the bar also great. 2 pools, fab for kids plus they put on great Easter Sunday entertainment with facepainting, dancing and games for 3 hours - amazing! We had to leave early due to a family emergency back home and the mngt could not have been more helpful and understanding - thank you Sarah! Rooms are fine, clean and functional and we had little balconies as well which was great for an evening drink overlooking the pool. Great for families, couples looking to explore or business - excellent all rounder in a gorgeous colonial style building.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JodieWaterhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Duty Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Jodie,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel.
I am so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us!
I will be sure to pass on the positive feedback about Jasmine to our F&B Manager, you are right she is definitely an asset to the hotel!
I'm happy I could assist with your early departure, sometimes these things just cannot be avoided!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Sarah Begbie
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at the Esplanade, loved the historic front, off street pool area and extensive conference facilities. Comfortable rooms with everything we needed. Also had breakfast in the atrium, very nice. Dinner in Harbour Master, loved the Wine Room, steak and Oysters. Drinks in the ball and chain and the extensive selection of Whiskey and Bourbon is too be celebrated!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank BarterTrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Duty Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel.
I am so pleased to read you enjoyed all of your food and beverage experiences with us, I will be sure to pass this on to the appropriate management :)
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Sarah begbie
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We had a stay of 4 nights after arrival on a cruise from New Zealand. More than happy with the room we occupied - plenty of space and a large outside verandah area. Staff at time of our early arrival were helpful with baggage. However, later we found that not all staff were fully aware of the house rules and we were given mixed messages about a late checkout charge, as our flight did not leave till 11.25pm. We also found a general lack of signage about location of pool facilities and when the pool and associated bar would be open. On checking out, we found that our room service breakfast also involved a $5 tray charge - not something we had seen elsewhere and not mentioned in their room information pack. We also found that airport shuttle service which they had suggested did not operate at the hours required and we therefore needed a taxi at a much higher cost. Finally the hotel is well situated for the many attractions in the area but perhaps they should upgrade the signage and room information booklet to cover some of the matters raised.

Room Tip: The older rooms on the 1st floor are large and away from the service areas of the hotel so are usually much quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retep42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Public Relations Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
I am pleased to read you were happy with the room you stayed in during your stay.
I apologise you were unaware of the tray charge cost with room service, it is stated on the bottom of the breakfast order sheet.
The hotel is definitely located in a great spot in Fremantle!
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Sincerely,

Abby McDowell
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Check-in took quite long as there were quite a few guests checking in and out at the same time and only 2 members of staff on the desk. The valet parking and luggage storing staff were excellent - timely, helpful, friendly and professional. Room was spacious and very clean. Was woken up after midnight with a very loud continuous noise in my bedroom. Eventually called reception and was very impressed with the speed of the staff to check out the problem. The staff member told me that, due to the loudness of the noise, if they could not remedy it I would be moved immediately to another room. He then investigated the noise and it turned out to be the room above me had left the shower on full blast and the noise was terrible. The staff rectified the problem immediately. I was woken up with the same thing on another occasion and was not overly impressed as it is definitely a fault needing to be rectified. Overall the stay was very enjoyable and I would stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade_Hotel_Freo, Duty Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel.
I am sorry to hear you had issues during your stay, however very pleased to read our staff were able to rectify the issue immediately.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Sarah Begbie
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews