We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 am - 6:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Great experience sailing to Rottnest

This was a birthday present and it was a great experience. Due to the winds, we motored to Rottnest... read more

Reviewed 22 January 2018
Nick J
,
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Beautiful Yacht! Attentive staff! Beautiful views!

Brass & timber yacht. We went out for a birthday and couldn’t fault anything. Champagne on arrival... read more

Reviewed 13 September 2018
Skippyloves
via mobile
Read all 60 reviews
  
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
17
14
5
6
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
14
5
6
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunset cruise deck hand catch the ferry broome crew whales
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We went on the Starsand yesterday and had such a wonderful day! The boat itself it stunning, she is a real beauty with lovely teak and a great size for a fun group. The staff were really great, Bruce our captain was professional and interested in sharing his knowledge with us and Rachel was just a super happy and a joy to have on the trail with us. She prepared a lovely lunch and everyone had more than enough to eat and she managed to do all that and keep us safe with Bruce in some quite bumpy waves on the way back from Rotto. We got so wet sitting on the front and we laughed and laughed and laughed with the other thrill seekers. There is plenty of room at the back should you need a dryer place but I recommend the front of you want to have a really great sailing experience. This trip leaves you 2 hours on the Island. We had plenty of time for a stroll, swim and to eat breakfast as the trip leaves at 7.30am. If you want more time on the island then catch the ferry but for us the highlight was the sailing. We just loved the boat and I would suggest if you don't like adventure it's not for you. But if you have a love for living and fun definitely give it a go and you wont regret it. Thanks again Bruce and Rachel what a great team and for all your hard work. Happy easter all.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank assiminas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F, Manager at Starsand Yacht Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Hi Assimina,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience aboard Starsand. We appreciate your feedback on our crew and will make sure to pass this on.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed our Rottnest sailing adventure. You really captured the essence of what our Rottnest tour is all about.

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Paid for my partner and I to go to Rottnest for his birthday. I thought it would be nice to go for a bit of 'luxury', how wrong was I! Very uncomfortable journey that took 2 hours to get there. Only got 3 hours on land and then was served a very poor lunch. Save your money and get the ferry, at least you know exactly what you're going to get with that!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank nataliejade1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F, Manager at Starsand Yacht Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Hi Natalie,

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience on Starsand’s Rottnest cruise. Our aim is to provide a sailing adventure to Rottnest – much different from the fast ferry ride.

We appreciate your feedback. If you would like to further discuss your concerns, please give us a call on 0429 939 117.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

This was a birthday present and it was a great experience. Due to the winds, we motored to Rottnest and sailed back. We anchored at Thompson Bay, got a launch to the Island and spent a few hours on the beach and snorkelling. The crew were great, don't expect airline service, it's a yacht so getting around and serving drinks isn't easy. We got lunch and there's a bar. It's an easy going experience, well worth it, take all your beach gear and swimming stuff and enjoy the ride.

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F, General Manager at Starsand Yacht Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Hi Nick,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience aboard Starsand. We appreciate your feedback on our crew and are happy to hear you had a lovely day at Rottnest.

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

Firstly the positive was we were upgraded from the 2 hour weekday Twilight Cruise to the Weekend Champagne and Seafood Cruise as the one we booked was cancelled three times!!!
The three hour cruise consists of the first hour motoring around the fishing boat harbour.
We then headed out to sea towards Gage Roads.The weather was perfect so there was no excuse to spend an hour looking at other yachts in the harbour.
The canapes as advertised was cheese and biscuits,carrot and celery sticks and cheap Coles dip!
The seafood was one prawn,yes honestly ONE prawn and a bite size piece of microwaved fish finger!!
Desert was a piece of Bounty Bar and a piece of Snikers!!
There was a glass of non- descript Champagne included when we boarded but then wine of questionable quality was $7 a glass. I saw the skipper eat more food than the guests.
At the end of the cruise i overheard other guests organizing to meet at Little Creatures for TAPAS as they were starving!
We came home and cooked dinner!
This is a real Rip -off and incredibly overpriced for what was advertised!
Be prepared for a hugely disappointing experience! We got a reduced rate through Adrenaline but the advertised price of $210 per person is daylight or should i say Twilight Robbery!!!!!!!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank jacksonAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F, General Manager at Starsand Yacht Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Hi Jackson,

My name is Alex and I have recently taken over management of Starsand Yacht Charters.

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience on Starsand’s twilight cruise. We apologise that your tour was cancelled three times. We do from time to time have to reschedule tours because of bad weather. We view our customer’s safety as our number one priority.

For our twilight sails, the route changes depending on the wind and water conditions on the day. Our goal is for everyone to feel safe and comfortable aboard Starsand.

We have made some changes recently to the food and beverages we serve on board. We also have a fully licensed bar in which we have made changes to the prices.

We appreciate your feedback and endeavour to work hard to make the appropriate changes where necessary. If you would like to further discuss your concerns, please give us a call on 0429 939 117.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Myself and my partner were both very disappointed by this day trip. Firstly, we were told the wrong time, so we were there an hour early and received no apology, even though we tried to ring the day before the confirm, with no answer. Other people we also early as they were misinformed.

The staff had no people skills and didn't get people interacting nor did they give us a clear intinery for the day. Originally we were supposed to be doing a yacht sail to rottnest on the saturday and it had to be rescheduled to the following day with no reason.
The journey over took 2 hours with tea/coffee being offered with a $3 surcharge, even though the trip was expensive enough.

When we arrived to rottnest at last we had to wait to jump into a smaller boat and by the time we reached rottnest we had less that 3 hours on land.

Then we arrived back and received a 'light lunch ' which consisted of pasta, salad and cold meat.

Speaking to fellow customer they felt it was over priced, badly organised and wouldn't be rexcomened to friends.

There is so much potential for this yacht and the service that could be provided in the future.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank olivia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F, General Manager at Starsand Yacht Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Hi Olivia,

My name is Alex and I have recently taken over management of Starsand Yacht Charters.

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience on Starsand’s Rottnest cruise. We apologise for the lack of information regarding your tour and can understand why you must have been frustrated.

We have made some changes recently to the food and beverages we serve on board. We also have a fully licensed bar in which we have made changes to the prices.

We appreciate your feedback and endeavour to work hard to make the appropriate changes where necessary. If you would like to further discuss your concerns, please give us a call on 0429 939 117.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews