We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 am - 6:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Disappointing

We were really excited with what we thought would be a full yachting experience with sails up and... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
dhe58141
via mobile
Broome Starsand hatch cruise

We all had an amazing time aboard th3 Starsand, complementary pickup, glass of bubbly on board... read more

Reviewed 11 July 2018
Glennys B
Read all 62 reviews
  
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
18
14
5
7
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
14
5
7
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunset cruise deck hand catch the ferry day trip few hours broome crew whales moorings freo
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2017

Firstly the positive was we were upgraded from the 2 hour weekday Twilight Cruise to the Weekend Champagne and Seafood Cruise as the one we booked was cancelled three times!!!
The three hour cruise consists of the first hour motoring around the fishing boat harbour.
We then headed out to sea towards Gage Roads.The weather was perfect so there was no excuse to spend an hour looking at other yachts in the harbour.
The canapes as advertised was cheese and biscuits,carrot and celery sticks and cheap Coles dip!
The seafood was one prawn,yes honestly ONE prawn and a bite size piece of microwaved fish finger!!
Desert was a piece of Bounty Bar and a piece of Snikers!!
There was a glass of non- descript Champagne included when we boarded but then wine of questionable quality was $7 a glass. I saw the skipper eat more food than the guests.
At the end of the cruise i overheard other guests organizing to meet at Little Creatures for TAPAS as they were starving!
We came home and cooked dinner!
This is a real Rip -off and incredibly overpriced for what was advertised!
Be prepared for a hugely disappointing experience! We got a reduced rate through Adrenaline but the advertised price of $210 per person is daylight or should i say Twilight Robbery!!!!!!!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank jacksonAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F, General Manager at Starsand Yacht Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Hi Jackson,

My name is Alex and I have recently taken over management of Starsand Yacht Charters.

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience on Starsand’s twilight cruise. We apologise that your tour was cancelled three times. We do from time to time have to reschedule tours because of bad weather. We view our customer’s safety as our number one priority.

For our twilight sails, the route changes depending on the wind and water conditions on the day. Our goal is for everyone to feel safe and comfortable aboard Starsand.

We have made some changes recently to the food and beverages we serve on board. We also have a fully licensed bar in which we have made changes to the prices.

We appreciate your feedback and endeavour to work hard to make the appropriate changes where necessary. If you would like to further discuss your concerns, please give us a call on 0429 939 117.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Myself and my partner were both very disappointed by this day trip. Firstly, we were told the wrong time, so we were there an hour early and received no apology, even though we tried to ring the day before the confirm, with no answer. Other people we also early as they were misinformed.

The staff had no people skills and didn't get people interacting nor did they give us a clear intinery for the day. Originally we were supposed to be doing a yacht sail to rottnest on the saturday and it had to be rescheduled to the following day with no reason.
The journey over took 2 hours with tea/coffee being offered with a $3 surcharge, even though the trip was expensive enough.

When we arrived to rottnest at last we had to wait to jump into a smaller boat and by the time we reached rottnest we had less that 3 hours on land.

Then we arrived back and received a 'light lunch ' which consisted of pasta, salad and cold meat.

Speaking to fellow customer they felt it was over priced, badly organised and wouldn't be rexcomened to friends.

There is so much potential for this yacht and the service that could be provided in the future.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank olivia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F, General Manager at Starsand Yacht Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Hi Olivia,

My name is Alex and I have recently taken over management of Starsand Yacht Charters.

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience on Starsand’s Rottnest cruise. We apologise for the lack of information regarding your tour and can understand why you must have been frustrated.

We have made some changes recently to the food and beverages we serve on board. We also have a fully licensed bar in which we have made changes to the prices.

We appreciate your feedback and endeavour to work hard to make the appropriate changes where necessary. If you would like to further discuss your concerns, please give us a call on 0429 939 117.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

We did a cruise on march the 30th.
First we have been one hour to earlie because simon send us the wrong time. OK, no matters.
The boat and the girls where great. One girl was just laying the whole ride in the back to show off her body, don't know if she was crew or a friend.
Got offered a tea or a coffee, after serving telling us it cost 3$ each!!! OK, no matter.
Arrived at the island jumped on the smaller side boat to drive around the island. 10$ each extra. OK.
Saw a small group of sea lions. That was great. We could a jump in the water but Simon was like: if u don't jump in know we have to leave because we have to go around the island. The whole ride around the island was about 15/20min max. And then we stayed on the boat for two hours and didn't moved. I don't know why I made such a stress.
In these two hours we had dinner. That was OK. The crew was under deck waiting to drive back.
5hours in total.
Nothing special.

I would not recommend this trip.

Simon you can also work on your communication skills with human beings if u wanna make money next season.
The girls did a great job

Date of experience: March 2017
3  Thank TomW089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F, General Manager at Starsand Yacht Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Hi Thomas,

My name is Alex and I have recently taken over management of Starsand Yacht Charters.

Firstly, I apologise for the lack of communication you received regarding your tour. It is important to us that our customers have all the information they need in order to have a relaxed and enjoyable day.

I really appreciate you bringing some of your concerns to our attention. Since I have taken over management of Starsand, Simon has not worked for us. We have made many changes already to the way things may have been done in the past. We do not charge customers for tea and coffee and most certainly not to take customers to the Island in our tender.

I appreciate your feedback and endeavour to work hard to make the appropriate changes where necessary. If you would like to further discuss your concerns, please give us a call on 0429 939 117.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

Dodgy weather not the fault of the company. 300m max off the port, trip into the harbour n back...motor on majority of the time. Nice boat, very very average nibbles, expensive cost for on boat drinks, girls assisting captain were lovely...be nicer if it was a "proper" sail, no motor n out in the ocean with atleast 2 sails (of 3) up n reasonably sailing the breeze rather than the minimal route. Could get MUCH MUCH better n enjoyable getting a ride out of a fremantle yacht club twilight....shame as could have been so good. Did i mentioned cancelled multiple times over last 6 wks since original booking? Would definately try southern cross sailing instead 0410174415.....more reasonably price, personable n enjoyable experience

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Bella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F, General Manager at Starsand Yacht Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Hi Bella,

My name is Alex and I have recently taken over management of Starsand Yacht Charters.

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience on Starsand’s twilight cruise. We apologise that your tour was cancelled numerous times. We do from time to time have to reschedule tours because of bad weather. We view our customer’s safety as our number one priority.

For our twilight sails, the route changes depending on the wind and water conditions on the day. Our goal is for everyone to feel safe and comfortable aboard Starsand.

We are glad to hear your feedback on our yacht and the staff onboard.

We have made some changes recently to the food and beverages we serve on board. We also have a fully licensed bar in which we have made changes to the prices.

We appreciate your feedback and endeavour to work hard to make the appropriate changes where necessary. If you would like to further discuss your concerns, please give us a call on 0429 939 117.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Had a booking , running late due to a traffic breakdown , but couldn't contact the guy at all even though it said on booking confirmation if your running late call him ! We got there and the yacht was sailing off and we tried calling again and no answer ! Another couple were also left on the wharf as they said he told them a later time so they missed it too ! So I go to rebook but have to pay more or less the same price for the cruise to rebook ! Slack communication and Wouldn't bother to rebook .

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F, General Manager at Starsand Yacht Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Hi Sharon,

My name is Alex and I have recently taken over management of Starsand Yacht Charters.

Firstly, I apologise for the lack of communication you received regarding your tour. It is important to us that our customers have all the information they need in order to have a relaxed and enjoyable cruise.

Please feel free to contact us at Starsand on 0429 939 117 and we would be happy to help resolve this issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews