We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”
Review of Whisper Wine Bar

Whisper Wine Bar
Ranked #33 of 339 Restaurants in Fremantle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 7 - USD 17
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: In the heart of Essex Street in Fremantle, The Whisper Wine Bar is the perfect place to enjoy a romantic evening or a few glasses of finely chosen wines. We focus on Australian wines but offer a fine selection of French, South African, New Zelander and Italian wines. While you sip your wine, make sure you try some of our French tapas (charcuterie, cheeses, terrine, rillettes, freshly baked baguette...).We are by far the best place to end your evenings (closing at 12am on weekends).Opening days: Wednesday to Sunday
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

There should be more of these nice, relaxed bars around Perth, loved having a glass of wine outside - we'll definitely be back!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank JandL1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    39
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Parisian Atmosphere in Freo”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We visited the wine bar earlier this year (March 2011) prior to our European trip - having now spent some time in Paris and sampled many of the smaller cafes in this city I can truly appreciate that the Wisper Wine Bar reflects a realistic French ambience. The service is very friendly with a relaxed feel. The menu is not extensive but the tasting plates are well worth the experience - the savoury platter of colds meats and the cheese selection = simple but great quality. We'll try the duck next time! There are a wonderful range of wines to choose from which can be purchased by the glass or full bottle. We will be revisiting very soon - especially as the weather warms.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FreoOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I loved this wine bar - great service, delicious food and amazing wine. We sat upstairs, only problem was there's no table service upstairs, and after a couple of glasses of wine the stairs are a bit hard!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawson_station
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A touch of Paris in Fremantle”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

My husband and I often visit Fremantle, I was raised there. We love the eclectic vibe of the place. When there we almost always drop in to Wisper Wine Bar. It's a little bar in Essex Street right next dor to Port Mill B & B, another place we love but that's a whole different review.
The wine bar is run by a French couple. They serve French and local wine as well as some beer. The food consists of platters of meats, cheeses , terines, olives, french sticks etc. plus assorted rolls. There is a small bar and some bar tables and stools inside plus a lovely room upstairs with a balcony. There are also high bench tables and chairs outside on the sidewalk where you can sit and watch the world go by. The staff are friendly and the atmosphere is very relaxed.
We've been there in the sunshine and also in the rain, in the afternoon and in the evening and each time have left with smiles on our faces.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Winelover57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whisper Wine Bar also viewed

Fremantle, Greater Perth
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 

Been to Whisper Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing