We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay, we loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fremantle Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 22 Fremantle B&B and Inns
Erina, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay, we loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

The Fremantle B & B is a stunning Bavarian style building in the west end of Fremantle. The location is quiet and within walking distance of most things in Fremantle like the museums and cafes. There is a free shuttle bus stop about 300m away for those who don't like to walk.

We originally stayed in the Tarantella Suite, which is on the top floor. You have to walk up a few flights of steep stairs to reach it, and as Peter the owner says on the website, it is not recommended for people who struggle with stairs, there are other suites more suitable.

We had a week in Busselton and then returned here for another night and stayed in the Basement Suite.

Both suites were very comfortable, spacious and clean and we really enjoyed the king sized beds, TV, and showers.

A continental breakfast is supplied and was all we needed to start our day off.

Peter the owner, was extremely helpful and gave extra value to our stay with his advice and manner. He even drove us to pick up our rental car - how's that for service.
Thanks for everything Peter.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone, and we will definitely stay here when we next visit WA.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HakkaChrissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heritagecottage, Owner at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 August 2011
My apologies for not responding sooner. Thank you so much for your comments.
Kind regards

Peter Donovan
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    46
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
21
62
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Excellent atmosphere, decor and very romantic in the Tarantella Room.
Very close to all facilities. Great Port, and little extras. We will definitely spread the word about this one.
Sharyn and Ray

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank PeppyX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

If you are looking for a 24 hour restaurant or bar, forget this place. If you are hunting for a 200-person ballroom plus parking for 100 guests - this is not the place for you. But if you want some privacy coupled with good hospitality from someone who is proud of his home (owner does not live in there), this is the place for you. It's almost smack in the middle of the many buildings that are occupied by the University of Notre Dame. About 50 metres to the free CAT bus stop and another 500 metres to the main railway station. And in a very quiet and safe part of Fremantle where you can enjoy an evening sitting down for a quiet chat or time to read. Four rooms with two large bathrooms on the first floor and a much larger room with its own bathroom on the second floor. Lots of stairs to climb in this building with double height ceilings. Fridge with coffee/tea available. A shared microwave plus laundry-dryer access would make it ideal. Clean towels changed and housekeeping available daily. Laptop and printer to print those low-cost carrier boarding passes provided. Free wireless Internet and a TV-DVD combo available in the rooms. No phone facilities (who doesn't travel with a mobile these days?) and continental breakfast included. If you can overlook the size of the room and go for comfort, privacy and hospitality - pick this place. And the Airport Shuttle pick up point too.

Room Tip: Prices of the rooms reflect the size you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoSixFiveOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heritagecottage, Owner at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 August 2011
I appreciate and value your comments.

Kind regards
Peter Donovan
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aus
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at Fremantle B&B for a friend's wedding. We found it to be very cosy and quite comfortable. It was one of the cheapest accomms in Fremantle so I didn't expect much but was pleasantly surprised.
The building is beautiful and the rooms were clean. Breakfast was continental with a few special treats. Don't forget to look in the fridge.
I found this most convenient because I didn't speak to anyone. The door code was emailed to me and the key was in the door. This may seem impersonal to some but I thought it was great. Nice and private. The enterance and shared area was so nice the bride considered having some photos there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2000bluemirage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heritagecottage, Owner at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 August 2011
Having just attended a small business tourism seminar, I have been made aware of the wonderful attributes of Trip Advisor. Therefore, my apologies for not replying sooner.

Your comments are very much appreciated.

Kind regards

Peter Donovan
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
384 reviews
270 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

THe Fremantle B&B is beautifully situated with easy access to the pleasures of the town. The owner is friendly, hospitable and he was kind enough to give us a lift to the station when we left. The B&B is pleasantly decorated, the shared bathrooms are excellent. Unfortunately our bedroom was so small we couldn't function at all in it. We did know 'the Dudley Room' was on the small size but I couldn't imagine that a single bedroom would be dressed up as a double. There was no room to swing a mouse, nevermind the cat. Breakfast was disappointing; it was white and brown packaged Sunblest sliced bread from a supermarket and tinned fruit along with some cereals. Overall it was not worth the money

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heritagecottage, Owner at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 August 2011
Thank you for your comments. I appreciate your candour.
We are a class 1A heritage listed building and our renovations were done under the strict control of the Fremantle City Council heritage architect.
Our twin share "Dudley Room" is advertised as "compact twin share" and I am completely up-front about this. It does sleep 2 guests in very comfortable twin beds but, if you have more than 2 bags, it does become quite squeezy. The size of the room is reflected in the price and is perhaps more suited to 1 guest.
Yes, we do offer 3 types of packaged bread for toast and do have canned peached etc but, again, this is reflected in our price. Our rasberries, blueberries and yogurt are all fresh.
Kind regards
Peter Donovan Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.4 km away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
0.8 km away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
2.9 km away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#3 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#4 of 7 in Fremantle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.3 km away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 22 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.8 km away
Arundels Boutique Bed & Breakfast Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fremantle Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fremantle Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fremantle Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5 Mouat St | Fremantle 6160 WA, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Fremantle
Price range (per night): $123 - $153
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fremantle Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Heritage listed building that was built over 110 years ago as the Bavarian Consulate for West Australia. This is the most photographed building in Fremantle! Our Bed and Breakfast offers the traveller a choice of options from a ''Romantic Honeymoon Suite''Tarantella Suite, to an open plan Apartment for the Guests that like their space ''The Down Under Suite '', along with 4 other original rooms to choose from, we are sure to have what suits you best. Sorry but we do not have parking on our premises. Free overnight parking upon availability just around the corner on High Street from 5pm to 9am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fremantle Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing