We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
South Beach Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 21 Fremantle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I stayed in the May room for three nights in December for an early xmas family visit.
I had never stayed in a B&B before but had to as everywhere in Fremantle was booked out- and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised.
I booked on the Internet and received phone confirmation and access/parking details from the owner as I flew in on the red eye.
The room was spacious with a huge comfy bed and a great breakfast was served in a lovely court yard. The service was discrete and unobtrusive -and the room and cleaned beautifully each day.
A big bonus is that a free city bus stops over the road and a gorgeous swimming beach is at the bottom of the street.
Fabulous!

Room Tip: May room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    16
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
60
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed in Samson room for one night , thought for the quality of what was offered it was expensive , but then that seems to be the way in Western Australia- it was actually the only accommodation we could find in the Perth/ Freo area for that night. It was strange , having run a B&B myself , that we never met a single person ie the owners during our stay. Let ourselves in after ringing the owner as per the sign on the door , found our room , made our way to bkfst in the morning , then checked out as already paid , all without sighting anyone - so much for the personal touch of staying in a B&B. The room was small but very pleasant , nice big comfortable bed, coffee facilties and fridge tucked away in small cupboard, TV didn't work properly but didn't matter, but the bathroom facilites dated and shabby , tap coming loose , discoloured mirror , towels that had seen better days and the most tacky of all a plastic shampoo and soap dispenser attached to the wall beside the shower. They obviously don't worry about the 'finer touches ' when running their B&B. A bit far out of the main fremantle town but the Cat bus was very good.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwimacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed in the Porter Room, which was nicely furnished in a tasteful period style, without being overly chintzy or Ye Olde Worlde. The bed was basically two singles pushed together, which leaves a prominent central spine down the middle of the bed - not ideal for romantics. The bathroom was very sub-optimal - a tiny little annex wedged into the corner, with an utterly impractically situated sink that (due to the positioning of a few other things) can't really be used. We mentioned this to the caretaker but she demonstrated a very low care factor. Apparently the owners know but are not interested in doing the relatively minimal work required to move one glass shelf (which would make the sink more accessible).

Location was OK - close to the beach for a swim (which we did, despite it being winter) and opposite a bus stop to Fremantle proper (which is about 15 mins brisk walk away). No parking, but some (free) parking is available in the side-street. Breakfast was fairly generous, though its a "serve yourself" buffet affair (i.e. no cooked breakfast).

We were generally reasonably pleased with this place, though we'd not stay in the Porter Room again. For the price it did most of what was required. Free WiFi access was a nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We were very happy with the communication from the owner prior to our stay but unfortunately very disappointed with the facilities provided when we checked in. Our room was very well furnished but very small & the bathroom area very dimly lit & tiny.
Our main concern was that there was no sitting room & as we were staying with another couple we had to all squeeze into one bedroom if we wanted to be together.
There was a dining room but this was set up for breakfast & not accessible any other time.
It is the first B&B we have stayed in where there is not a sitting room.
However on the positive side the staff were very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elainejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anywhere in the world
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

A small, well run and very nicely decorated B&B. Our room was quite small, but beautifully decorated and had everything we needed.

One slight drawback is its location, it is a bit of a walk into the centre of Fremantle. No issue during the daytime, you can just hop on the free CAT buses which stop very close by. But if you stay for dinner in Freo, after the CAT buses stop, then it's a fair walk back (or a $10 taxi ride).

There were various options for breakfast, which is taken in a very pleasant and airy room.

That said, everything else was perfect so I would still highly recommend this cute little B&B. The staff were friendly, remained inobtrusive, yet still very happy to help out on anything when needed.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank An0nym0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
1.5 km away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
1.7 km away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
1.4 km away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#4 of 8 in Fremantle
419 reviews
1.8 km away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 8 in Fremantle
197 reviews
1.3 km away
Arundels Boutique Bed & Breakfast Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Fremantle

Been to South Beach Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Bed and Breakfast

Property: South Beach Bed and Breakfast
Address: 273 South Tce, Fremantle, Western Australia 6162, Australia (Formerly Heritage Cottage Bed and Breakfast)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Fremantle
Price range (per night): $121 - $174
Hotel Class:4 star — South Beach Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC and Agoda so you can book your South Beach Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing