We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveller rating
202
109
26
9
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
109
26
9
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private room train station bed dorm shared kitchen no shoes policy modern kitchen clean toilets clean place buy groceries grocery store perfect location luggage storage would definitely stay here again base to explore beautiful view small balcony family room
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 359 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Great hostel in a beautiful town. A few minutes away from the train station, convenience stores, and grocery. You can book activities via the hostel.

The hostel is kept clean. I stayed in a 5-bed dorm for 3 nights. The room has a balcony wherein you can appreciate the beautiful view. Each floor has a bathroom with a sink and a toilet. Showers are located at the basement - which was quite inconvenient since my room was at the 2nd floor. You have to change slippers when you enter the dorm. The hostel has a kitchen equipped with a fridge, microwave and a stove and plenty of utensils for everyone. Since eating out in Switzerland is expensive, everyone cooks! I suggest you have dinner early to avoid the "rush hour" at the kitchen. Or select microwavable meals to avoid the queue in the stove. They have a cozy dining room where travellers can hang out and swap stories.

A very homey place which I definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melodymedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Was only meant to stay a few nights but booked to stay the rest of the week! I needed a holiday from my holiday and this place was the perfect break in the beautiful charming town of Lauterbrunnen. Just 5 minutes from the station, close to supermarket and the gondola to get to Schilthorn peak! The hostel is very clean, the 6 room is spacious and cosy, big windows to admire the mountains and a balcony!! Wifi is great, fast, strong and works in the rooms. The kitchen is large and well equipped! Showers are clean and strong hot water! The staff are super friendly and very welcoming.
Would definitely stay again! :)

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed in a double room for two nights. The room was large, clean and open. A lovely balcony looking out onto the waterfall. Bathrooms were always spotless. No shoes allowed in the room which was strange and can only use their bedding. Great location to the train station and buses. Would definitely recommend and stay again!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kyra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

I booked a room here because it was one of the few options in Lauterbrunnen where you can self cater and I'm glad I did. Lauterbrunnen is a great base for exploring the Jungfrau region. There was a mix of people staying in the hostel (older couples, families etc) so it had a nice vibe and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle_DD15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Overall, this was a well maintained hostel in a beautiful area of Switzerland, and so well worth visiting. The kitchen is decent, and the hostel is near shops (if they are open) and the train station.

However, despite that there were a few things that annoyed me. The dorm rooms were comparatively small, and felt like they had fairly limited space for bags, etc. inside. The "no shoes" rule was draconian, with absolutely no consideration of whether you are going inside for 5 seconds or 5 hours or what state the shoes were in. Instead, you were supposed to wear shared slippers that didn't really fit anyone I talked to and were very uncomfortable. I have never stayed at a hostel with a policy that inflexible or irrational. Finally, I really did not like the gunman that greeted me every time I walked out of the toilets. I believe it was a James Bond cardboard model intended to promote a James Bond related attraction nearby, but it was completely disconcerting when you don't expect anyone else around.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews