We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,041)
Filter reviews
1,041 results
Traveller rating
727
249
49
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
727
249
49
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews picnic room staubbach falls breakfast room train station coffee and tea waterfall view attic room yogurt breakfast was delicious watch tv incredible views hard boiled eggs cold cuts wonderful hotel swiss alps enjoy the view perfect stay
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 1,041 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel with very good hot breakfast and location. View from the room is beautiful. Room is small but clean.
There was a small lift.
Staying in Lauterbrunnen is convenient to go to other small towns and Interlaken.
Waterfall is in walking distance. Lovely surroundings.
Very nice service and support from staffs especially Mariya.
I almost give only 4/5 because of the beds. It was not comfortable.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tinynan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

The hotel is located about a 10-12 minute walk up the main street from the train station. We were a little early to check in but they will hold you baggage while you start to explore the area. Once we were able to get into our room I will admit I was slightly disappointed. The room was clean with incredible view up the valley and the falls but in need of an update. We were unable to control a satisfactory temperature in the room due to no air conditioning and when its too hot it make it difficult to sleep. The only way we could get it cool enough was to open the door to the patio but that is less than desirable as it is a shared balcony with all the rooms on that floor and emergency escape ladder down to the ground right outside our room. A TV would have been nice to have when its too hot to sleep. Wifi was good!
If it was not for the great people working at the hotel who were so helpful and awesome view I may have rated this property lower. An investment to upgrade the rooms and common areas would be recommended to bring the Staubbach out of the 70's and easily be the best in the area.

Room Tip: Fall's view is worth paying extra.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank swoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We travelled to Lauterbrunnen by train. The walk to the hotel is not far from the station but considering the steep walk up the road could be strenuous(Especially with luggage)! It's very near the Staubbach waterfall.

The check in process was very smooth and the staff was very courteous. The lady was very helpful with all the information on possible outing in the Lauterbrunnen area(including the weather forecast for the next couple of days).

The room was pretty spacious(Though with a proportionately small bathroom) with a good view of the village close by. There was a common balcony outside the room where you could get a good view of the waterfall(Though there are some premium rooms in the hotel which face that side). It was neat and clean.

The shortfall was no mini refrigerator in the room. The hotel provide a room what they called as the 'picnic room' which was common to all residents at the hotel. It had a 'common' refrigerator where you could stock up any perishable eatables. The room also had a microwave and utensils. This could enable you to heat and eat ready to eat(This is important considering that the restaurants in the area close by 8:30PM).

The breakfast was excellent and the view from the dining area(of the waterfall) was awesome!

Overall a good experience in the hotel....and recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms on the waterfall side is better as it has a private balcony facing the mountains.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Surmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

This hotel is rustic. And I mean this in a great way. Staff were fantastic. The hotel was charming. You are right in the middle of everything you would want to see. The valley gorgeous. The mountains stunning. Waterfalls, cows, beautiful meadows, woods, etc. etc. I could go on and on. Such a scenic place. The hotel is rustic, as I have said. Functional and tight, but fits right in. Beds are cozy so go with someone you love!

Room Tip: I believe all the views are great.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SixAces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We could not be more happy with staying at the hotel Staubbach. I would recommend it to anyone. It has the most amazing location and although it is rated as a two star hotel, I would give it a five star rating, for location and for the exceptional staff that works there. We stayed in a budget room, but we looked right out on one of the 72 waterfalls in the region. At night, all we could hear was the cow bells and the waterfall and it felt magical. The staff were so friendly and always greeted us whenever we left and came back. They were so helpful with suggestions for dinner and hikes. Thank you so much for making our honeymoon so special! If we came back to Lauderbrennen, we have no doubt we would stay there.

Room Tip: Even the budget room was small but had great views of the waterfall!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miriamhoffmannogier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews